We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
114
30
3
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
30
3
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We really recommend to stay at Bunaken Island Resort. A warm welcome, wonderfull lodging, ecofriendly, great Indonesian kitchen and real hostmanship. Frank, Daya and Lucy are fantastic hosts: perfect service, customer made opportunities and humor. We weren't diving and still the place is very pleasant to stay. Especially the snorkelling was such a great experience and were lucky to snorkle with the turtles...a lovely stay surrounded by nature and more than perfect service.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Angelique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I stayed for three nights at BIR in early November 2012, with my Indonesian wife and our 4 month old baby girl.
The room we had was spacious and comfortable, with fantastic ocean views and a great balcony for kicking back and relaxing. The restaurant set in the beautifully maintained gardens, served great home cooking, plentiful and delicious and the fridge was always stocked with a good supply of cold drinks. The resort is great for divers with the dive shop down on the beach, run very efficiently and professionally
I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Bunaken island and would recommend the resort to everyone. The prices in my opinion for the standard of accommodation and service is very reasonable indeed. The staff and owners Frank and his wife Daria are first rate and made us feel very welcome. This is a top place, to do some great diving and just chill out .

Room Tip: The rooms with ocean views are great
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkH294229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent two nights at Bunaken Island Resort and we really had a great time over there. The setup of the resort is small scale which make you feel like you are at home away from home.

The diving and snorkelling facilities are good and we found them not too expensive. The dive guides have a very professional attitude and they pay attention to your needs.

The rooms are great ( we enjoyed one of the bungalows ) and the food is excellent. The prices of the drinks are not too expensive either.

If you plan a diving or snorkelling holiday around Bunaken I can really recommend this place.

Room Tip: If available try to book a bungalow. We had the one next to the dining courtyard ( #4 if I remember correctly ).
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbroek2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

If you're looking for the perfect place to learn to dive - look no further. The reef is amazing, the sea life is incredible and Sven is the perfect person to guide you through the process. Even if you're just looking to snorkel, there is much to be enjoyed here. The reef is about 200m from the beach, and once there its a comprehensive drop off that encircles the island. The boat goes out every morning and afternoon and caters for everyone's abilities.
The weather was perfect every day during September - clear blue skies, warm and sunny.
The beach front villas are well maintained and clean, and the hot showers and working toilets are a blessing in Indonesia.
Be aware that the power if off during the day in the rooms (it is on between about 5pm and 8am each day). But there is power available in the main hut during the day if you need it. There is free wi-fi available.
We enjoyed the food, but this is not the place for you if you don't like seafood (or more specifically tuna, as its on the menu most days).
Having walked the island, there isn't much to be seen elsewhere on the island. And our stay of 11 days was probably too long - 5 to 7 days would be ample.
There remains some issues with bookings, but the staff do their very best to work around the problems encountered and please everyone. It's best to contact the resort directly and confirm your details and requests in an attempt to ensure no confusion.
Finally, you are asked to pay cash, but they are happy for you to change the required money back in Manado at the end of your stay. This would be more convenient than changing more cash than is required (which happened for us) or having to bring many millions of Rupiah.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TGS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

However, for what is offered, apart from the beautiful location and tranquillity (at least most of the time and certainly not when the room is close to the diveshop on the beach), the rates are too high.
Rooms are spacious, but in some rooms maintenance of f.i. window closing should be much better.
Food is average, sometimes good and sometimes less. Also, in between meals there is not much to eat, except fruit. Tea and coffee free, but for other drinks has to be paid. I was dying for things like katjang (something with a little salt) in the afternoon. Of course, if you like to loose some weight, this is all perfect.

Management friendly and cooperative, like the rest of the staff.
At first we did not get the beachbungalow that we booked, but as soon as one was available we could change rooms. And also a refund of what we had paid too much.

Diving and snorkling possibilities: every day the owner of the dive shop (Sven) comes by to check who wants to do what.
My husband did his PADI there and that was really o.k. (and more than that).

Terrible is all the plastic on the beach and in the sea and that there does not seem to be some sort of system for collecting garbage. Why don't the resorts do a little bit more cleaning? Would it not be possible to let some staff of the resorts do some cleaning of the beach?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinaL188611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews