We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good resort, great dive school”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This time i made my rescue diver over her and it was great to do that with Raja Laut. The course was super, a bit stressy, very challenging, very instructive, all in all a great experience. Amedeo is a fantastic dive instructor, well done. Diving was great as well. The bungalows are spacious and the sleeping comfort is very good. The food was always very yummy and athentic. The sercive is friendly. Internet was always working. I can strongly recommend it :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_F_Muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

The sympatic small resort and a familiar atmosphere made Bunaken the perfect place to relax. The dive center was well organized and the guides took us on amazing dives in the wonderful corallgarden of Bunaken. The food was overwhelmingly good.
We would love to visit Raja Laut again!
Curschellas Family

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf_Curschellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This is NOT a five or four or three or even two star resort. It has very basic bungalows, no air conditioning, no refrigerators and dirty bathrooms. They do not allow you to keep milk or wine or anything in their refrigerator so you are forced to buy what they have. The road noise is awful! Motorcycles only three meters away in back of where my kids and I slept. The boat is also unsafe.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bangkokexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto m, General Manager at Raja Laut Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

First of all, we did report this 'review' to Tripadvisor because this is not a review, is simply a retaliation. Still waiting for any feedback...

while I'm waiting, this is the answer to this guest:

Dear William, is indeed an amazing thing that we are living in a digital era where socials are part of our lives BUT if you use the possibility to express your opinion not to improve a service, not to help other travelers to make a choice but ONLY to retaliate against some supposed miss behavior/miss service writing down a bunch of lies you are only showing which kind of person you are.

Lets start with the reason why you are mad with us: You and your young thai partner book a stay of 3 nights with us, suddenly decide that you have to leave the island after 2 nights and you wanted a discount on the 3rd night, discount that considering your short note and the high season we couldn’t gave you. You insist even to have discounted at least breakfast, lunch, dinner. On top of that you complain for the 3% fee by the local Bank for credit card payment and we decide to refound this few bucks to show you that politeness and respect is coming before money for us and that we can pay the 10 bucks to the Bank, on your place, without getting bankrupt.


Let’s continue with your lies:

1-we advertise RAJA LAUT DIVE RESORT as a 2 stars Resort, never say anywhere is a luxury Resort. Online is sold as a 2 star Resort and a 5 star PADI Dive Center (that is what it is), if you cannot work out the difference, is not our fault.

2-that is not a nice Resort is your personal opinion and is against the one of the 99,9% other guests decide to stay with us. Sure if you expect a 5 stars Resort...

3-NO Air Conditioning is advertised whatsoever, please read the information before you book.

4-NO in room Refrigerators advertised whatsoever, make sense to me that if we sell soft drinks and beers you buy them from us (like in any other place). We always allowed our guest to put a bottle of wine or spirit in the fridge if they like so.

5-The road cutting across the Island has been completely repaved in the last weeks, as a result it was closed to traffic and the locals needed to cut with their scooters across the jungle. Everybody agreed that Bunaken was particularly quite during your stay.

6-Sure we eat together, socializing is an important part of Raja Laut philosophy. We don’t do any mystery about that.

7-We change towels every 3 days, more if guests wish and ask. All explain in welcome briefing.

8-You stay in a STANDARD bungalow, no hot water and again we don’t do any mystery about it. If you needed hot water you could have booked a Superior Bungalow. Bungalows facilities are described online.

9-Rooms are fairly new and well maintained

10-8 years of transfers and not a problem, again your personal opinion about safety, probably you didn’t realize yet this is not Florida or Hawaii.


Final thought: sure you choose the wrong Resort, you wanted to have an honey moon with your brand new fiancé but not spend too much, you believed was a 5 stars resort cause you didn't read well the description online and you mixed up the diving center rating with the one of the Resort itself. Once you realized your mistake you should check out and paying 10 times more check in your dream Resort.
Don’t be angry with us if you cannot read a description, if luxury is not coming at 30 dollars a day (including meals), even in Indonesia.
We always do our best to improve and make our guests happy (even when they show up for dinner at 9 pm after saying they didn't want to eat, as you did), we are open to suggestions and sure we can do mistakes but your Review is simply an insult we cannot take and honestly shouldn't be published here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Raja Laut is a quiet little resort with a total of 6 villas - they are spacious and have great views from hammock on the balcony.
There's a maximum of around 10 to 12 guests and it has a family feel to it. We had a great time, as the other guests were lovely - if they aren't, it would be difficult to avoid them though...
It is run by an Italian (Amadeo) and his Indonesian wife and the food is a mix of both cuisines - there may be pasta for lunch and then fresh grilled fish for dinner - or a curry type lunch and pizza from their own oven for dinner.

As most places in Bunaken, electricity and water supply can be intermittent, but that's just the way it is on the island.

The diving was spectacular - lots of really cool small stuff, very little bigger fish, but that's not what you come for to this part of Indonesia, is it?!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jfromsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

In this "resort" there is too much emphasis on what you spend rather than on your comfort. A lack of general love and caring of the place. The garden and garden chairs are abandoned, never looked after or cleaned. The electricity is cut every day to save money: no phone charging and no fan at the hottest moments of the day. This is cheap and not acceptable for a 100+ "euros"/day room. All clients complain. The bungalows are close to the little street: this will wake you up everyday at 5 or 6 am. The generator is noisy too.

The bungalows are fairly new, spacious and clean. The food is good. Nice dives and snorkel (even just opposite the hotel). The diving equipment is old, some VC leak air.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to the sea and far from the little street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto m, General Manager at Raja Laut Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Globon,

thank you for finding the time to review your stay at Raja Laut.

We hope you welcome some useful details about the issues your underlined:

As we explain you in the welcome briefing, electricity is off around 2 or 3 hours in the afternoon (from 15.00 to 17.00), the necessary interval to cool down the generator. During the rest of the day, we provide electricity trough the local power grid and again trough our generator (when local power plant cut the power). We so have electricity for around 20 hours per day.

The afternoon hours, from 15.00 to 17.00, are not the hottest hours of the day.
In 20 hours it is indeed possible to fully charge a smartphone.

You stayed in the standard bungalow, the rate is 35 euro person day, that for 2 people is in total 70 euro per day. This rate includes also the breakfast, lunch, dinner, water, tea, coffee, fruit, snacks and free adsl wifi internet .
You calculated 100 euro and "plus" per day. It seems that your calculation was incorrect.

During your stay, we did not received complains from other guest about the cost of the accommodation and the noise from the street.

We take care of the diving equipment and we care about the safety of our guest.

In case there is a small leaking from the inflator hose of a bcd (that you call "VC") we simply give another one to the guest. It is a duty of each single diver to inform your guide of your instructor about any small issue may happen to your gear. We greatly appreciate direct and clear communications from our divers. This is the easiest way to solve any problem. We are always happy to change any part of equipment and fix it immediately (we always have redundant spare regulators on the dive boat and emergency repair kit).


Thank you very much!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
2.5 km away
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
#1 of 16 in Bunaken Island
275 reviews
2.9 km away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
181 reviews
0.1 km away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Thalassa PADI Dive Resort
Thalassa PADI Dive Resort
#10 of 16 in Bunaken Island
71 reviews
2.4 km away
Raja Laut Coral View
Raja Laut Coral View
#7 of 16 in Bunaken Island
29 reviews
1 km away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#3 of 16 in Bunaken Island
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Laut Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Laut Dive Resort

Address: | Bunaken Marine Park Pangalisan Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range: $99 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few km. North on the same east side of Bunaken Island the twin of Raja Laut Resort is born. Stunning ocean views on Siladen Island and North Sulawesi, infinity pool, air conditioning in the Minahasa Style wooden bungalows, secluded and quite place, Raja Laut Coral View is an hidden gem that offer a superior quality standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raja Laut Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing