We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great muck diving, resort & food”
Review of Lembeh Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lembeh Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Lembeh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2017

North Sualwesi & Lembeh has been on my wish list for a while and finally we made it. Great Muck Diving Spots, amazing resort & team. We had a Garden View room in the "jungle" right behind the main building with the dining area. Our room was equipped with good Air Con, WIFI, fridge and everything you need. The food there is truely amazing. It’s hard not to not gain weight with all the different delicious dishes to try, on request you can even get an own menu card with only vegetarian stuff :-). The hotel and restaurant staff was friendly, helpful and always in a good mood. Enjoyed my vacation to the outmost there :-) Morten & Petra are doing an outstanding job to make you feel home & comfortable and help you with everything you need.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten_L_Hansen, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Dear Martin,

Greetings from Lembeh Resort and thank you so much for writing us such a lovely review.

Kind words such as yours always work as a great motivator for our team-members to continue to offer the best possible service :)

We hope to have the pleasure of greeting you back with us again one day, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Morten Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Lembeh has been on my “wish list” to a while and it definitely lived up to the hype. What an enjoyable week!
The staff at both the resort and dive shop could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. The dives were fun and I saw all of my dream critters,except for the blue ring octopus. That just means I get to go back again someday! The guides are incredible critter finders and extremely knowledgeable about everything you see on a dive. They could find the tiniest subjects and even knew the Latin names for all of the nudis. I still have 800+ photos to sift through. Make time for the mandarinfish dive. It was my 5th one in my 3rd destination and definitely worthwhile.
As you have probably read in other reviews, the food is amazing. It’s hard not to select too many of the wonderful options to try. The spa is worth a visit (or several visits) — definitely worked out the kinks from traveling and diving.
Petra and Morten run a tight ship and silently take care of every wish or suggestion. Hats off to you for making Lembeh Resort so special!!!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank imadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten_L_Hansen, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Dear "I'm a Diver",

Good morning from all of us here at Lembeh Resort!

Seeing a new review in the inbox is always a lovely way to start the day and we will be looking forward to passing along your many kind compliments to our team-members. It greatly helps to motivate every single member of our team when their efforts are appreciated by our guests :)

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your many kind compliments - we all hope to be able to greet you back with us again one day!

Warm regards,
Morten Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

This was our third trip to Lembeh and we stayed the full 2 weeks this time in the Clifftop Villa (which is complete luxury and we would highly recommend it!!).We simply cannot rate this resort highly enough - it really is our favourite place to stay (anywhere in the world). We are experienced divers but also value good accommodation and nice surroundings and good food. This ticks every box and the service is second to none both in terms of the resort itself and also the diving operations. Staff are wonderful and friendly and nothing is left to chance - you will be incredibly well looked after. The dive guides are trained to the highest standard and will keep a log of all the critters that you see (often knowing the Latin nomenclature!). They take real pride in being able to identify every critter. We are both avid photographers and what stands out for us is the respect that is shown for the underwater life. You will still come away with some wonderful photos however the marine life is left untouched and preserved. We have seen some bad behaviour at other resorts which absolutely does not happen here. Everyone at the resort supports this very environmentally friendly and respectful environment. The food is outstanding and they even have a good wine list. Nothing is to much bother. The diving is amazing and you will see a huge range of critters and critter behaviour. Due to the fact that the sites are closely there is also plenty time to relax at the pool in between dives. We do 4 dives every day and still found plenty of time to relax. Thanks to Morten & Petra for looking after us and to Sascha & Lauren for making the diving and photography so special. Beautiful resort with some very special diving - we will be back very soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent - Cliffside is very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrJANLOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten_L_Hansen, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Dear Jan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our little piece of paradise :)

It was great having you both stay with us and we are very thankful for your many kind compliments - we will make sure to pass them on to our team-members, they all take great pride in what they do and feedback such as yours always works as a great motivator.

We will be looking forward to having you back with us again, hopefully in the not too distant future!

Warm regards,
Morten Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

This was my 11th or 12th time there over the last 10 years. I love it! The staff whom many I have known since I have been going there since 2007. The resort has under gone many changes and managers over the years. The current managers Petra and Morten are working on taking this to a 5* resort in Lembeh Straits. The new rooms and Villa will set Lembeh Resort apart from other resorts in the area. The meals….well you can put on 5 lbs in a week and to me gourmet. The diving…Morten and Dimpy with critters of Lembeh wanted me to go on the boat for the new dives they were doing at the north point of Lembeh Island and around the other side. It was more of Bangka style diving with clearer visibility. Great corals and very fishy. Although Lembeh is known for its muck diving…if you are spending more than 6 days there I would highly recommend doing the dive day. Otherwise the muck diving in Lembeh as usual is a treasure hunt and when you find that treasure or treasures…Makes your day +++…I’ll be diving there until I am too old to continue…Love Lembeh straits, Lembeh Resort the staff and diving with critters@lembeh.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelnsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten_L_Hansen, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Dear "Travel N Sj",

On behalf of our entire team I would like to say thank you for your awesome review and many generous compliments, it is always a pleasure for us all to have you with us and we hope to have the joy of greeting you back with us again some day soon, December 2018 maybe? ;)

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you enjoyed the many recent upgrades that we have been making to the resort, our warmhearted team-members are our biggest asset and pride, I will make sure to pass on your kind compliments to them all :)

Warm regards,
Morten Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We were greeted at the airport and escorted to the resort, via a shuttle and boat. Upon arrival they could have done a better job at explaining the what is in the rooms, meal times, and how you can sign up for dives. We didn't think we wanted to dive three times a day, so we didn't get a prepaid package, and ended up diving two times a day. This was a better deal our us. If you love to dive and an avid diver, then get the packaged deal. They will help clean and set up your gear, even if you bring your own gear. Same with the cameras. We're not great divers and the guides were very helpful with inspecting the gear, set up, maintaining the gear, and finding the critters for us. We loved our guide Agus. Nice young man, who is also a marine biologist. They showed us a video as part of the orientation to diving but was not clear that we had to purchase the sticks to help us stabilize ourselves in currents and not touch the bottom, so we would not stir up sediment. I wanted to see sea horses, but we didn't know how to request to dive at those places and we went with what we were assigned. We did get to see a lot of nudibranchs and some very pretty pipefish. The room, #10, was a hillside room with a nice view of the straight. If you don't like climbing stairs don't get this room. We were fine with the multiple climbs each day. Lots of bugs, so if you are prone to bug bites you'll need to wear long pants and sleeved shirts, no cute summer dresses or flip flops. The room was nice and clean with a king sized bed, but the bed was actually two twins pushed together and the middle seam was very uncomfortable, so we could not sleep in the middle of the bed. This place has great WiFi! The bathrooms do not have a roof, so they do have to keep cleaning the leaves out of the shower, which was done twice a day, but there was mold growing on the soap and toiletries shelf. The bathroom floors are dangerously slippery, so ask for a second towel to place on the floor. They were very stingy on towels in the rooms, only one per person, but there were always large towels on the boats after your dive, and small ones in the camera room. Very good AC in the rooms, which helps dry out your clothes and swim wear. I wish that they would promote and perform clean up of the trash at the dive sites. I bet they could get some of the patrons to help clean/remove the sunken trash and plastic bottles on discounted dives. Don't plan on leaving any plastic containers or packaging behind. Lembeh does not have garbage picked up at households and poor capability to recycle, so plan packing out what you pack in. We could not dive on our last day (flying out the next day), so we went to the National Park the before you leave. It was well worth the price, fun but VERY hot. We saw tarsirs and a large troop of black macaques, very close up. Almost too close. Get your rabies vaccination before you leave, in case the monkeys or bats bite you. Food and water and ice all good to drink! Great bar and good variety of food choices. The dinners were wonderful. Eggs cooked to your request. Yummy yogurts, fresh breads, hot in the mornings. Delightful! Wonderful pool. No real beach. No trails to walk around away from the the resort, so you're kind of stuck there, but you're there to dive not hike and they do keep you as busy as you want to be.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing large uneven stairs, get room 9-12. We had room 10, pretty view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Isabella_marine_bio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten_L_Hansen, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Isabella,

Good morning from Lembeh Resort and thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with the Tripadvisor community.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are happy to hear that you loved diving with Agus and that you appreciated the services offered by our diving centre. It will also make our experienced kitchen and restaurant team very proud to hear that you found the food and service to be wonderful and yummy :)

We regularly inspect the cottages for required maintenance and/or cleaning and after reading your comments we did a in-dept inspection of all the cottages and we did indeed find that the toiletries shelf in your room was in need of a fresh layer of waterproof paint, the issue has been resolved and we also had a briefing with our house-keeping team to make sure that they keep an extra eye on it in the future. We thank you for letting us know, your feedback is super valuable to us!

We hope to have the pleasure of greeting you back with us again one day.

Warm regards on behalf of the entire Lembeh Resort team,
Morten Hansen



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Lembeh
8.3 km away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
2.6 km away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
1.5 km away
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Kungkungan Bay Resort
#4 of 11 in Bitung
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
27.3 km away
Casabaio Paradise Resort
Casabaio Paradise Resort
#25 of 49 in Manado
33 reviews
3.2 km away
Daniel's Lagoon Resort Lembeh
Daniel's Lagoon Resort Lembeh
#4 of 5 in Pulau Lembeh
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lembeh Resort

Address: North Lembeh, Bitung, Pulau Lembeh 95500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung > Pulau Lembeh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Lembeh
Price Range: $350 - $982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lembeh Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lembeh Resort’s secluded location on Lembeh Island ensures guests an exclusive and relaxing stay. Tropical gardens and exotic fauna form a natural backdrop while luxury and elegance come as standard. When you are not diving choose to relax poolside on the deck overlooking the ocean, take a walk around the beautiful gardens, enjoy the sunset with an evening cocktail or indulge yourself with a massage treatment at the spa. The Lembeh Strait’s sheer abundance of biodiversity and rare critters has led to it being named the “Critter Capital of the World” where every dive reveals countless “unique finds”. If you want to see the “weird and wonderful” and dive on the best muck diving sites in the world then the Lembeh Strait is the place to be. Critters@LembehResort offer highly trained and experienced Dive Guides, fulltime on-site Marine Biologists and a Photo Pro available for consultations and advice. Private Guide and Private Boat service is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lembeh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing