We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat problem and commercial attitude, other than that nice place”
Review of Pulisan Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulisan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pulisan Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulisan
Reviewed 2 August 2017

English review:

The place is actually pretty nice and well-managed but the rooms are not secured against rats. We as well as all guests we talked to had rats in their rooms during the night. We did not have any food in the room but rats still nibbled on our backpacks (partially destroying them), they also destroyed my iPad charging cable. The resort should do something against it, this does not fit to the rest of the resort's standard an is not the fault of the guests. Maybe some cats would help... We could not sleep well even with everything else being nice and clean.

Furthermore, the place is run in a more commercial way than we were used to on Sulawesi. Most things are about money - e.g. you have to do the two dives during the dive trip and have to pay for two dives even if you only do one. In my opinion (and how other resorts manage their trips) one dive ist still better than none for the rosort if the boat has free seats but the resort has that commercial policy. Compared to other good dive resorts (Bunaken etc.), the dives and the euipment are quite expensive. Compared to other resorts the tours are also really expensive (50€ per person for 3 hour jungle trekking incl. transfer etc.) and private airport transfers are charged per person even though the driver is just coming for you on demand (transfer should be charged per car). The business conducts overall are unusual and a little steep compared to Sulawesi standards. Please consider that! I understand that the resort needs to make profit but some things just seem a little odd. We were also denied to use the resort's internet to receive an important email that was expected - luckily other guests were willing to help us.

It is a long way to carry your bags through the jungle to the resort, please be aware of that! There aren't any signs to show you the way through the jungle, some signs would help.

Other than that the food was good, the service nice and the beer cold.

Overall I would say that diving on Bunaken is better (and less expensive) than here in Pulisan.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017

So in June 2017 I went to this fantastic place. I flew straight from the Netherlands to Manado, arrived in the dark but there was a taximan picking me up from the airport. He brought me to the resort where a porter helped me to bring my bag through the jungle. Whoaaa, didn't expected that! There was a 10 minute in the dark jungle walk. So exciting after my flight. Straight to the holiday feeling! How bout that!
After I arrived the new owners made sure my room was ready and I had some nice food. And wooowww my room was amazing! It was nice and clean, just by the beach. Exactly what I wanted and needed that moment.

The owner, a Swiss woman (the best) knew what i liked and fixed me up to go diving Lembeh the next morning straight away. The next couple of days I did about 11 dives and they where the best dives I've ever did. Especially if you like the macro live. And don't mind me, I did a few share of dives in my life! We even spotted some manta's of the boat!

But you know what, the resort had a nice clean up since the new owners. Anna showed me the things she changed and the things she's about to do. And menn, i definitely want to go back someday. I really likes the fact that there was no internet, no power ( a little at night), and just nothing else. it is just you, the other customers en the nature. You don't need to fuss about what you gonna eat. Just show up in the restaurant and they serve you some pretty good food as well. I think coming here is one of the best decisions ive ever made.

Wrong decision was not bringing money with me. No power means no creditcardmachine. But also that worked out pretty fine in the end anyway.

Room Tip: Best diving
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Célinee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank André H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bleyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maartje308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulisan
24.3 km away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
638 reviews
25.8 km away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
5 km away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Casabaio Paradise Resort
Casabaio Paradise Resort
#24 of 44 in Manado
30 reviews
23.4 km away
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Kungkungan Bay Resort
#4 of 10 in Bitung
255 reviews
10.2 km away
Coral Eye
Coral Eye
#1 of 4 in Bangka Island
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulisan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulisan Resort

Address: Desa Kinunang | Likupang Timur, Pulisan, Indonesia (Formerly Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort)
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Pulisan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulisan
Price Range: $29 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In harmony with its beautiful setting of North Sulawesi, Indonesia, amongst the cliffs and amazing view of Mount Tangkoko, rises Pulisan Resort. A picturesque and simple resort, inspirationally conceived to capture the essence of the surrounding natural wonders and host the most welcome and appreciated guests with quality service. Pulisan Resort offers an impeccable setting for unique moments of adventure, excitement and memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pulisan Jungle Beach Hotel Sulawesi
Pulisan Jungle Beach Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing