We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Vista Lodge(El Castillo)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Encantada Guest House(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nepenthe B&B(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$59
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Eco Zoo(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Los Tucanes(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
Rancho Margot(El Castillo)
US$249
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
136
73
36
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
73
36
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hoteljunior suitesgreat viewincluded breakfastcrowded areaperfect stayfusion restaurantdirect viewtwo nightssky parkrooms were very cleancanopy tourcosta ricabeautiful flowersreptile zoopaved roadhot springs
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018

The view is stunning, nature is beautiful and lush but the place needs a lot of tlc! We had bungalow 4 for 2 nights. Two beds, a queen size and a double size, small fridge and small bathroom. The mattress are horrible, totally uncomfortable, the sheets in the double bed have not been changed, you could see the body shape in the sheets and sand in the bed from the person that was there before us...not impressed! The pillows are...not pillows! They’re more like an old flat pancake! The fridge was not clean, there was still wine stains from the previous guests in it. There is a « pool », when there is 3 people in it, it’s full! More like a « jacuzzi «  than a pool. The restaurant is not the best, very ordinary and staff is ok but no more than that! Check your bill closely as they tend to add things to your bill that you did not order...like an extra beer or an extra fries. I would not recommend this place at all, but the view is very nice...that’s about it. Lower price than other places around but don’t expect nothing

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Loved this hotel!! We were looking for something away from the main tourist area with a more local feel. This is up a secluded road but nearby everything we wanted to see. We spent most of our day in La Fortuna about 30 minutes away but the drive didn't feel long.

Our 2 favorite things were the views and the food. We stayed in room 11 which is a Volcano View Junior suite and had an amazing view with big windows and a porch.

The breakfast was very good and we really looked forward to it each morning. You eat on a large balcony overlooking the volcano and lake. They had rice, scrambled eggs, toast, some amazing jelly, fresh fruit, fried plantains, great coffee, and fruit juice. Very convenient and peaceful way to start the day. The restaurant also had excellent food for dinner and was really convenient to have right there. I had the best piece of steak I've ever eaten. There was also a small bar to get drinks and a pool table.

The staff was helpful and friendly, especially Marvin and the woman at the front desk. The staff was able to book one of our guided tours for us and even helped us with directions to our next destination when we left. It was the perfect small, family-owned feel we were looking for.

A couple things to note: the pool is really an un-heated kiddie pool so don't expect to be able to go swimming. The shower water wasn't always hot but we expected this for the area. There is only wifi in the main lobby / restaurant.

Overall highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mchristine203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We went to this hotel on recommendation from a Tico friend. We came here from Playa del Coco and in much need of quiet time. It was so wonderful. The first night, the weather was misty and we wondered if we’d even stay the 3 days we had reserved, but when we woke to see the beautiful view of Lake Arenal and the volcano from our room and private balcony, we were convinced it was the place for us. The only drawbacks were that there was no hot water in the shower, (a fact that we had gotten used to in other hotels) and the wi-fi was in the common area only. It was faster than we had experienced before so we accepted that as well. The long, un-paved road was a plus, as we saw wildlife - coati, a toucan, and a band of wild pigs. The staff were all SO friendly and helpful, including the great folded towels we have learned to admire. The food was very tasty, and the included breakfast had a better selection than other hotels. I think you’ll be glad you went out of your way to try this tranquil spot.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank shetravels4922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We were at el castillo for 3 nights, We had one the bungalows with two beds, Very nice rooms with excellent views to both lake and volcano.
We had the chance to get one sunny day so we got to se the volcano.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Very nice hotel far from la fortuna. But with great views and very nice comfortable rooms.
We didn't had a car but there is a good local bus and most of the excursions includes transportation. The ecoozoo is right around the corner

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews