We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Vista Lodge(El Castillo)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Castillo del Arenal(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nepenthe B&B(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$35/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Encantada Guest House(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Los Tucanes(El Castillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Nest(El Castillo)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
253
61
16
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
61
16
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself sustaininghorseback ridingyoga classesfarm toureco lodgecosta ricabuffet stylemilk the cowswarm poolorganic farmingevery mealsustainable livingworking farmnight hikesoap makingwindows and doorsprimary rainforest
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2015

I stayed at Rancho Margot for 5 days, but I would have stayed longer if it did not rain 24/7. I slept at the bunkhouse and it was very clean and we'll made. The staff and the volunteers were awesome and they made me feel right at home. The food was great. I took yoga classes and both teams setting of the classes and the teacher was the best part of my experience at Rancho Margot. I will recommend it and I might have to come back when it doesn't rain all day.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
Thank Cilja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Thank you so much for writing about your visit to Rancho Margot! It was a pleasure to have you here and to share such great yoga classes with you, and we are thrilled to know that you would like to return. It is quite unexpected to have rainy season continue into January... and hopefully your next visit will be during our dry season :) ¡PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile

Rancho Margot is a very special place, tucked in between 2 jungles about 1h drive up the hill from La Fortuna.

What they've done is incredible - a totally Eco place built from scratch over the last 10 years. All food grown here, waste is reused. Genius!!

The food was delicious - really healthy veggie friendly buffet, meat options too, or pizza if you're feeling like a treat. Tea & coffee available all day.

The ranch tour is included for free and is fantastic. You can have more tours if you want and do other activities although these seemed very expensive to us - I think Costa Rica just is quite expensive! Free yoga 2x day was lovely.

The place is in the jungle so be prepared for lots of bugs - bring duct tape to cover the odd hole in the mozzy nets - and strong repellent. And I found out mosquitoes can bite through yoga leggings if you're not wearing repellent on underneath...!

The only thing to flag is the showers in the bunkhouse - the website says these are warm and I'd recommend they update that to say that they are cold but heated slighted to take the edge off. They are definitely not warm! We were told it was broken on day 1 but then it was fixed (v promptly) - but still 'fixed' was not what I would call warm... Gently tepid maybe?! We have got used to cold showers almost everywhere we have stayed while travelling so it's not a problem if you're expecting it - and the bunkhouse is budget-style accommodation so no problem - but would have been nice to have been expecting that. We were told by the staff that there had been so many complaints about the water temp in the (lovely looking!) bungalows the bungalows now have electrically heated water - so if you're in there you should be fine!

The staff are really lovely and super helpful - especially the guides. And the decor in the bunkhouse is great - lovely bathrooms/sink area, deck with hammock and beautiful flowers everywhere!

A great place for a couple of days of R&R in Costa Rica!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Suzisuzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you for your recap of your visit to Rancho Margot! It is such an inspiration to read your positive thoughts and to know of how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the mosquitos and the cold water! It's true that during your visit we did have some complications that are being resolved. When it's hot and tropical, a cold shower isn't so bad, but during your visit with the days of rain we agree that it's a bit less than ideal. Typically the showers do fall within the 'warm' category, and we are sorry that they didn't feel that way during your stay. Again - such a pleasure to have you here with us and we hope to see you again in the future! :) ¡PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

My 20 yr. old daughter, Shannon, and I spent 4 wonderful days there in December. All of the staff was personable, kind and couldn't have been more accommodating. Beautiful grounds, cabins; great meals, homey atmosphere and bar; it exceeded our expectations. You never have to leave!!

Room Tip: Any cabin is perfect. In the rainy season, maybe choose something closer to the main lobby and dining area.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 8sherry8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Rancho Margot! We were so thrilled that you and Shannon chose Rancho Margot for some mother daughter time in the rainforest. It was such a pleasure to have you here and we are so thankful at how quickly we all became such fast friends. Your optimism and enthusiasm for our project give us great inspiration and your presence will not soon be forgotten. Until next time, Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

For travelers interested in sustainability and in the environment, a visit to Rancho Margot is a must! 40 minutes down a bumpy pot-holed filled road (4WD required) leads to a new world of enchantment at Rancho Margot. The staff was gracious and well knowledgeable about the area- and were eager to help us- lending their phones to help us book trips, talking in Spanish on our behalf etc etc. My husband and I stayed in a private bungalow (16 & 17 are closest to reception, which is helpful at night!!) which had a rustic elegant vibe- complete with decorative towels & flowers in honor of our honeymoon. We had no trouble with getting hot water in our shower, and the room stayed cool at night, thanks to the ranch's alternative roof system. There are mosquito nets available, but we didn't need them in January. The Ranch is in the middle of the rainforest which allows for beautiful views & vegetation all around you.

One of the best parts of Rancho Margot, however, was the food! All of their produce, dairy products and meat are grown/processed/raised/
and prepared on site, and everything was incredibly fresh and delicious! Eating strictly vegetarian at the Ranch was no problem at all- the kitchen staff was incredibly accommodating, listing all ingredients for us for every dish at every meal- they even designated separate ovens for meat products and dairy products during our stay! I have never been this well accommodated for, for my dietary needs outside of the US until now!

The Ranch provides a few opportunities to tour/hike/explore with private bookings with their own English speaking tour guides, or they can help arrange transportation for you (which we made use of and was totally fine/safe/professional) for offsite touring around La Fortuna/the Arenal area. Also, the Ranch had an Artist in Residence while we were there, a ceramiscist who gave us a private pottery class early in the
morning, which was absolutely amazing-

Our experience was wonderful- but do know that because the roads in El Castillo are not paved, it makes Rancho Margot's location REALLY off the beaten path (about 35 minutes further than the rest of the hotels in the greater Arenal area) so make sure to allow for the extra travel time when planning to take excursions leaving from and returning to the Ranch. That being said, I'd still stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWSchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Congratulations once again on your newly formed union! It was such a delight to share in your honeymoon with you both while here in the rainforest. We extend our sincere thanks for your kind and humbling words - it was such a pleasure to read of how much you enjoyed your experience at Rancho Margot. We sincerely hope to see you again one day - perhaps for an anniversary :) ¡PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

An unforgettable stay. Highly recommend this remote sustainable farm where you feel part of a special community. We were a family of 5 who stayed for 3 nights in January. First, the food. We are all demanding foodies and were thrilled with our meals. Our bungalow was adorable. Wagner was a warm and fun bar manager, Christopher at reception was a great help to us, booking local activities and car service to the airport, and Jonathan gave us a fascinating ranch tour -- the 2/1/2 hours whizzed by, it was so interesting and informative. Everyone who lives and works there seems positive and like they know that they are part of something admirable. Waterproof clothes and hiking boots/wellies a must. Given the delicious food, sweet bungalow, complimentary twice-daily yoga classes and farm tour … it's also a great value. My youngest daughter is staying for the Spanish Immersion and finding it super useful.

Room Tip: Bungalow 10 was lovely. Wifi at office was good.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank judith94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Rancho Margot. It was an absolute pleasure to have you here and we are so humbled by your positive response - not to mention the fact that your daughter is still here sharing in our Spanish Immersion program! We hope to see you all again one day. ¡PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews