We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Hotel Zima(San Isidro del General)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Roberto - Hotel y Cafeteria(San Isidro del General)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge(Alto de San Juan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Uran(Chirripo National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
78
48
17
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
48
17
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan gerardonarrow roadresplendent quetzalsrio savegretroutflowersvalleylodgeheaterbirdsfireplacemealsbushestrailtemperaturegroundsporch
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We were so very very disappointed with this hotel.On arrival we had to wait over an hour in reception as our room was not ready.We were also concerned that there were two buses of teenage schoolchildren staying there ,so not the quiet, peaceful place we had expected.We specifically travelled here to see the Quetzals and to take the bird tours on offer at the hotel.Ruben on reception was extremely incompetent, a mixture of Mr Bean and Basil Fawlty.He pretended to know only a few words-I am sorry-I am working on it -but he was doing neither.He told us he had arranged a bird trip but when we went to pay for it ,it was no longer on offer.All of the communications he did were via text ,so very slow.He kept us waiting for ages in the reception and when no bird tours were available he refused to help us try to arrange one with another hotel.We became increasingly frustrated with him,he is just not the right person for this job.In the end we got so sick and tired we asked to see the manager,she refused to meet with us,obviously she just doesn't care about her customers either so that fits fits in with the whole ambience of this hotel-couldn't care less..We asked for a refund for our last night and checked out early.We could not recommend that anyone stay here

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GraceNorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This hidden treasure is located in San Gerardo, a lost and hidden mountain valley in between San Jose and Osa. The hotel is at the end of a 10 mile long gravel road. It offers a friendly service, great food, ( oven baked trout and other mountain specialties ) and beautiful spacious mountain room, very spacious and coz. The area get freezing cold at night. Our hotel guide was also a big asset. Not only did he take us on a fabulous birding tour ( we are sort of beginners ) but he went beyond, taking us for a walk through the rural community. Unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vogelreisengmbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This hotel is hard to figure out. The setting at the end of a steep, narrow road, is lovely. The central garden is well-maintained and full of birds, but it feels artificial, like a little city park set down in the wilderness; the driveway and forecourt are dusty and scruffy. The main building is modern and seems to want to be stylish, but it feels like a summer camp dining hall (though the fireplace is a definite plus on chilly evenings); the cabins look nice, but mine had poor lighting, lumpy beds, a dangerously frayed lamp cord, and no screens. The food was quite good, if slow in coming; the service was friendly but oddly formal, with waiters in white shirts and black pants as if they were in a cafe on an urban boulevard. Our Road Scholar group had all its meals there, but two other groups brought their own food and seemed to treat the place more as a hostel.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the central garden sit in a more natural area and have great views from their porches. I didn't see the interiors.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The hotel by itself deserves 4 points. The location at the end of the village road is nice and secluded and the rooms comfortable if a little uninspiring. The heater was a nice addition. The soundproofing however is not great and sounds can be heard from next door neighbors.

The real let down however is the restaurant. The included breakfast is decent enough but the dinner we had was costly and not worth the price. I had the grilled trout for $12 and partner had spinach ravioli for $10 - both economic options and seemingly good value. The shock was when the orders arrived. While my trout was not the 300gr that the menu stated, it was just about fine, both in terms of serving size and taste. My partner was not so fortunate - hers consisted of just 5 small raviolis, some sauce, and 2 triangles of toasted bread slice. Too polite to complain, partner finished the food, paid, and retired to room to top up her meal with some snacks.

Together with drinks (juice and an Imperial) and the VAT and service charge, the bill came to almost $35. Costa Rica as a whole is deservedly getting a bad rap for its high prices and lack of value but this one tops them all.

A perfectly acceptable stay was marred by the dinner experience.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

A long drive down the steep and narrow road into town, this place was worth the visit.The room had a rustic comfort to it, with a nice porch for watching the sunset and relaxing.

The best part of this lodge, in our opinion, is that it is at the end of the road, which meant it was just a 5 minute walk to get to the trailhead for the waterfalls. The waterfall trail is well worth the short - but not for the feint of heart - hike, but the best hike of our whole stay was on an unmarked trail just along the trail to the waterfalls. Took us up the hillside, which gave great views of the valley (which is not common in the dense jungle, while also climbing through primary forest. I wish we had found it earlier because we had to turn back because it was late in the day and the trail seemed like it went on and on.

Back to the review of the lodge: the restaurant/food was good and the family running the place were incredibly friendly and helpful. The grounds were nice, as well.

We did poke around a few other lodges in the valley and there are nicer ground, probably swankier rooms, but this lodge was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews