We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
554
267
65
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
267
65
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style resplendent quetzal marino chacon costa rica cloud forest bird watching trout salad bar hummingbird feeders junior suite the river fire pit belgian chef happy hour is beautiful location hidden valley hotel grounds
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 911 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017

We stayed at Savegre for 3 nights in early May. Our fabulous guide, Melvin, had us on the spot at 5:15 am which gave us a great opportunity for sightings of both male and female quetzales. The deluxe rooms around the garden area are large with lots of light and an easy walk to the dining room. The location and staff are both 5 star but I was a bit disappointed in the buffet style lunches/dinners that were served the days when a large group was present. I am a light eater and the only small option was the salad bar which did not vary from lunch to dinner. Would I return? Definitely!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms around the lower garden are very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SouthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We got a nice spacious room with a fire place and a bath tub. The staff was very courteous and always willing to help. Breakfast and dinner were very good but the latter a bit too expensive. The garden and the trails on their grounds was a perfect place for birdwatching. We saw a lot of hummingbirds there. We also booked a Quetzal tour via the reception. Melvin was a wonderful guide. We started early in the morning at 5:00am, drove up the road and were able to spot two male Quetzals. What a wonderful bird! Later on Melvin showed us some more birds on the premises of our hotel like wood quails. He knows exactly the place where to find each species. So we really can recommend the hotel and the tour. But take care to be an early bird, otherwise you might miss the Quetzal!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank travellingP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

This remote location is a surprise in itself. Nested in the bottom of a canyon, it offers a respite from the heat of typical Costa Rican.

The hotel is awesome and the staff are great. Our evening meal in the restaurant was simply Delicious. Fresh trout prepared just right, and many more choices.

A great bar with a beautiful fire pit made for cozy evening. The rooms were indeed the best of my trip.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

This place has it all. Fab Rooms/ Fab Food /Fab Gardens /Fab Staff. We had the most brilliant stay at this hotel. They even make you coffee at 5.00am in the morning so you can watch the birds from the balcony and have a coffee. What more do you want. This was the best of the hotels we stayed in and we were on the move for 18 days staying 1and2 nights in lots of hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good - ask to see them before unpacking - they really don't mind
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This was the ultimate getaway. The trails were moderately difficult. We managed to hike 6.5 miles over 2 days. The view from the top was spectacular. This place is also well known for birding, especially the quetzals.
Our room was well appointed and NO TV, YES! Buffet breakfast was included and was very good. Dinner buffet was not included but very reasonably priced. Selections changed nightly. There is also a happy hour 4-6 in a very cool for table setting with board games available. We brought our own cards and played for awhile before dinner.
I also treated myself to a wonderful 1.5 house of sauna, whirlpool and massage after our second and more grueling hike. Again, reasonably priced from my experience.
So glad we invested the 3.5 hour drive to go!

Room Tip: All are good. Rooms are spread out among the gardens within the reserve.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmvojt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews