We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suenos del Bosque(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cabinas El Quetzal(San Gerardo de Dota)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tami Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Los Lagos Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Quetzal Valley Cabins(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
518
166
25
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
166
25
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water bottlesgas heaterstroutthe rivercosta ricacloud forestearly morningcanopy tourzip liningbeautiful placebird watchinghorseback ridinglunch and dinnerhiking trailshumming birdssteep roadcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We hade a wonderful time at the Trogon Lodge: the staff is very helpful, the trails are well maintained, we saw a Trogon every day and even once from our balcony, the garden are lush and the food is great. A most go.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Latortueverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited this lodge for four days specially to see the Resplendent Quetzal. We brought my 78 year young mother here so she could see this magnificent bird in full breeding plumage with her own eyes. Not only were our expectations exceeded, they were totally blown away. We saw the Quetzal every day (up to 5 times per day) and heard many more calling. One of the last remaining real strongholds for the species in Central America. The variety of other birds and lack of concern over our presence was astounding. This was also complemented by very friendly and accommodating staff, great food and stunning views everywhere we looked. If you like nature and birds in particular, this is a must visit in our books. We’ll be back for sure.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My Road Scholar tour group stayed here for one night and we wished for more. At 7000 ft. the nights were chilly but the cabins had gas heaters and the staff delivered hot water bottles wrapped in felt to our cabins. The best ever! Dinner featured local trout (there's a story there) and fresh vegetables and fruit. Paths were not well-lit at night and some cabins were accessed by steep climbs. Bring a flashlight with you. Nearby trails along the creek had many birds and other wildlife. This remote lodge is worth the switchback road, an experience itself. Be sure to get the history of the family who settled this area. Inspiring.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank NCmom702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The Trogon Lodge is located in a valley high up on the mountain. The setup is very charming with the huts surrounding a beautiful garden with small lakes hedging trouts. There are many flowers and birds to spot. Humming birds are „relatively“ easy to photograph. The huts are very cosy and heating works fine. Breakfast and dinner buffet where excellent with good home style and quality cooking. Wifi respectively Internet performance is very poor and basically useless. Overall a great experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nievi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Fantastic location although a bit of a hairy drive both up and down to get to it. Although warned in advance that it gets cold at night, and you get hot water bottles provided, it is also very cold in the early mornings when you go out in the predawn to hunt for the Resplendent Quetzal. We were warmer in Antarctica although we had our thermals on for that. Take a woolly hat and gloves and be prepared to shiver!
The hotel was fine although we didn't understand that both the lunch and dinner menus were fixed price so we were a bit upset to find that we had been charged $40 for two salads at lunch as we didn't realise that we could have had two additional courses at no extra cost. However, management were accommodating and we came to an acceptable compromise. The food wasn't brilliant but on a par with most of Costa Rica and needless to say, the home grown trout were a major menu item.
If you need an early start say before 9.00 am, it is worth leaving really early otherwise the road is virtually impassable ith crowds of would be quetzal watchers. The Hotel will provide an excellent breakfast box for early leavers.
Tours can be organised by the hotel and apart from the almost mandatory quetzal hunt, the bird watching tour is well worth doing.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews