We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Drapers Hotel(Earls Colne)
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
US$217
US$163
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Braintree)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mill Hotel(Sudbury)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
83
116
86
45
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
116
86
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtscontinental breakfastleisure centrepulse bargolf breakgym and swimming poolsteam roomground floorround of golfcar parka bit tiredpleasant staywedding venuetwo night staystayed here for one nightfollowing morningcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Had a really great time on a short 2 night 3 rounds of golf stay. The first thing to say is that all the staff were so friendly and willing to help. I really cannot fault any of them, made us feel very welcome.
Room. Just what we needed. It was comfortable and very clean. Temperature was fine despite it being a boiling hot weekend. Bed was fine and it was nice and quiet.
Breakfast. Do order a poached egg, it was lovely. The was standard fare of sausages, bacon etc. left for you to select yourself.
Spa. Really enjoyed the pool, sauna etc. The decor could be updated but it was nice and quiet.
Food. Excellent evening meal on both nights. The chef even came out for a chat.
Entertainment. Soul night on the first evening and a comedy night second. Had to pay extra but both were fun. Special mention to the bar staff who were great fun as well as being efficient.
Golf. Quite a long course that had held up in the weather remarkably well. There is some wonderful countryside in this part of Essex.

All in all, a great stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JonCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

What a wonderful review to receive, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us.

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found all our staff to be so friendly this will be passed on to them.

We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Stopped by for lunch and to enjoy the views - flown in to the airfield and walked to the club. Did not stay overnight so cannot comment on the hotel rooms. Very impressed with the bar and restaurant areas, and the hotel overall. The food was excellent. I had scampi and chips, which sitting outside on the terrace area with superb views of the golf course in the sunshine made for a perfect lunch.

Getting to and from the airfield is not ideal as you have to walk through an industrial area, but it is only a 10 minute walk. Overall a lovely place to relax for refreshments, with many other amenities available too.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Good afternoon.

A pleasure to read your review and thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed while on business, highly disappointed - the room was average with a bathroom that needs a facelift. The Pulse Cafe, is just that and not a proper restaurant with limited choices, no “special” as advertised and small portions.
Breakfast not great, poached eggs clearly a challenge as fairly set.
Staff are all pleasant enough, but that doesn’t make up for the general lacklustre of the place.
Would definitely not recommend or return.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hello there Mick,

Thank you very much for you feedback as a club we really appreciate and welcome any feedback in order to improve where we can.

I'm very pleased you found our staff to be pleasant and apologise that you were disappointed with your experience in our pulse bar, I have passed on your feedback to our head chef so improvements can be made.

I wish you well for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous event, well supported by lots of people, raising money for a worthy cause, Ataxia.
The live solo artist was terrific, the DJ was fabulous and the food absolutely fantastic.
A really great raffle with loads of great prizes.
Absolutely love this venue, always guaranteed to have great food and excellent music for a night of dancing.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank nadia17051070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, We are so happy that you had a fantastic time and hope you welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We spent just one night here as we were attending a wedding nearby. When we arrived, it was good weather and we sat on the terrace outside the bar and had lunch and watched the golfers.

Our room was on the ground floor (we kept the blind down, as golfers walk past when they are playing!) The room was clean and comfortable, with a hospitality tray. The bathroom was a bit tilted, but the shower was good. It was very quiet and we had a good nights sleep after the Wedding.

The next morning, we had breakfast....we chose from the menu, rather than having the buffet, and the food was good.

We did not have a chance to use the facilities during our short stay...the pool was a good size, and there is a gym and a spa. There were lots of golfers around, so it is obviously a popular place to play golf. Several people in the wedding group stayed here, our only criticism was that room service did not seem to be available, and some guests went direct to the restaurant to order food and take it back to their room.


The parking was easy and accessible. We would stay here again, if we were in the area.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Many thanks for your review, we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews