We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
39
19
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
19
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2014

This is an excellent place to stay for bed and breakfast and use as a base for exploring the West Kirby area. Our room was large, clean and had lots of extra touches from flowers to biscuits and tea and more. It was scrupulously clean and an extremely pleasant place to sleep or even spend some down time watching the small flat screen tv. The bathroom contained a toilet and a large shower with lots of hot water. The hand basin was in the bedroom. Various toiletries were provided together with fluffy white towels. The breakfasts were delicious, buffet choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc. followed by a wonderful full English breakfast or lighter fare, served in a small, but pleasant dining room, where guests exchanged conversation with each other or with Maddy, our host. Depending on your method of booking, breakfast may be included or be an extra so check to be sure.
On arrival, you ring the doorbell which summons Maddy who actually lives next door and after being shown to your room you are issued with a room key and a door key and are then free to come and go as you like. I don't know what more you could want from a guest house. The only issue I can think of would be if you had limited mobility, as the bedrooms are up one or two flights of stairs. Maddy is an excellent host who goes out of her way to try and ensure you enjoy your visit, even helping to carry our luggage up the flights of stairs. She will also give you the password to the free wifi.
Apart from the guest house itself, a huge plus is the location. Though situated on a quiet tree lined road, everything in West Kirby is walkable from here. Banks Road, with its shops and restaurants is 50 yards away, the beach and marine lake, perhaps 400 yards. Ashton park, Grange and Caldy Hill, it is all easily walkable. The railway station and buses too are a few minutes walk away. We did not have a car and explored all around West Kirby and Hoylake easily. As we were visiting from Canada, not having to rent a car to explore was quite a money saver. If we return to the area, we would definitely wish to stay here again and would be quite disappointed if we were unable to do so.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-21-Park-House, Owner at 21 Park House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on 21 Park House and for the positive comments
I do have ground floor rooms one is a twin en suite and the other is a double en suite, but they where booked out when you arrived
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Yorkshire and that your journey back to Canada was good
Your always welcome here if you decide to come back to West Kirby
Best wishes Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Stayed 25th to 28th Oct. and had a downstairs ensuite room with shower. Nice bathroom and plenty of space for clothing etc. Tea and coffee making facilities and television and hairdrier in room. Room nice and clean. Breakfasts - good variety of cereals and fruit. Breakfast cooked well and of good quality. Also biscuits in room which are very welcoming. Maddie is a very good host and nothing seemed too much trouble. The lady who I took there who uses two walking sticks also thought it was excellent and would like to return again sometime. Beryl Foster and Doreen Healey.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-21-Park-House, Owner at 21 Park House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2014

It was lovely to see you both again and that you liked the downstairs room
There is still plenty for you to see around the Wirral so I hope you will both return to discover more gems that we have to offer
Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Lovely large clean room and bathroom; delicious huge breakfasts too. But it's the little things that make it memorable: the quality of the sheets; the biscuits in the room; the flowers on the breakfast table. Maddy is an excellent host. We'll be back.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsupialman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-21-Park-House, Owner at 21 Park House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the comments
It would be lovely to see you again next time you are in the area
Thanks Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Enjoyed a six-day stay in a large comfortable room with decent size bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space. Breakfast included fresh fruit, breads,yoghurt and cereals as well as plenty of choice in the cooked line,
Bonus of convivial conversation in the Breakfast Room-Good beginning to your day
Off and on-street parking --- Maddie is a welcoming hostess

Room tip: bay window room a bonus with en-suite facilities
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-21-Park-House, Owner at 21 Park House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

It was a pleasure to have you both stay, I am glad you enjoyed your time at 21 Park House and that you found the amenities to your liking
I hope to see you again
Thanks Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my wife as we cycled The Wirral Way,ideally situated in West Kirby for the cyclist and for the keen walker,the room had everything required,tea/coffee,ensuite shower room and a really comfy bed.our bikes were really well looked after when not cycling and our host was wonderful and nothing too much trouble,Breakfast was excellent,a good mix of fresh fruits,preservatives,cereals and a full English.Had a wonderful stay and would fully recommend.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186337Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-21-Park-House, Owner at 21 Park House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

I am glad you enjoyed your stay
There are lots more cycle routes across The Wirral ,hopefully you can come back and I can show you new routes to explore
Thanks Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews