We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive memorable experience”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Reviewed 28 September 2017

This was a second visit, and our impressions mirrored those of the first visit....a place filled with history and lots of architectural detail, very attentive service (both the front desk and the restaurants) and extensive grounds for walking and strolling. If you like history, this is a place to stay at or at least visit and have a meal. Since this is a very old facility (13th century), it is not a place to stay for those looking for the latest in ultra modern conveniences, elaborate and extensive amenities (although there is a spa) and lots of electrical outlets in the rooms. This is a suburb of Edinburgh, rather on the edge of Bonnyrigg, so do not expect super fast WiFi. However, these are not reasons to stay here, there are other hotels that offer these conveniences, but no history. The library and sitting rooms are very impressive. You might want to book early, there is quite a variety of rooms in terms of size, height of the ceiling, number of windows and location within the castle. If you use one of the booking sites rather than contacting the hotel directly, you may find yourself exiled out to the annex, which is across a very narrow bridge. While the rooms here are more modern and the ground floor units have large patios that open onto a forest view, it is an uphill hike to get to the main castle and far enough to get soaked if it is raining. The bridge to the annex is very narrow, many vehicles will not fit (Mini Copper will be okay). The castle has a lot of special events and weddings, you might want to inquire if any are happening when you are booking in order to be able to plan your visit.

Room Tip: Main castle offers more of a sense of history and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank og84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on our trip to Scotland. Our room, in the keep, was very large. A long hallway from the bathroom to the big bedroom. We had a queen size bed, a couch and chairs plus a small table and four chairs. Really big and lovely. Only complaint is it needs more lamps. The windows are not very big and don't let in much light so the room was kind of dark and really hard to see well in at night. But the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed with a huge tub (big enough for two! ). The shower is pretty small with a narrow opening. Breakfast was very good. A cold buffet and choices of hot items as well to order. The only thing we were really disappointed in was dinner in the Dungeon. The service was excellent. You start out in the library/bar where they offer you a drink and will take your order there. After they bring out an Amuse Bouche for you to have before leading you down to the dining area. This was where is went downhill food wise. The food was very mediocre. The lobster starter was mushy and not appetizing. I had the foil gras which was nice and hot but put over some kind of cold jelly atop some cold mashed potatoes I think. Really not very good. The mains were also just meh. My husband had the lamb which was sliced and served over something (can't remember what). It was ok. I had the vegetable ravioli which consisted of a lump of mashed veggies wrapped inside a large piece of pasta. It was too much veggie mush, like a large ice cream scoop size. Would be better with smaller ravioli so you don't get forkfuls of mush. I don't remember the desserts we had.
All in all, this is a nice place with very professional staff and we would come again. Just not eat dinner there.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Mimipc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My husband and I had our Wedding August 29th at Dalhousie Castle. We sincerely appreciate the wonderful attention and process flow the day of our wedding. It was a most memorable experience, and we have received feedback from friends/family that it was the best wedding they had ever attended. It was a very special day. Keep up the great work!

Thank you!
Katherine

Room Tip: Every room in the castle is unique and has a theme. I saw a few while there, and you can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkb543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Me and my husband went to castle Dalhousie with close friends to celebrate our anniversarys. The castle is amazing. But don't have a evening meal. Our first night it took two hrs for us to finish , in the end we had got too hungry to enjoy it. So the second night we said we would try the orangery because of the bad experience we had in the dungeon. It was worse we sat down . One of the staff came over with wine list. Half hr later I asked for a jug of water because wasn't asked if we wanted a drink . Yet again it took ages for our first course to come. And for our second course we all ordered steak, wen it finally arrived , we hadn't any steak knives my husband had asked for steak with blue Stilton cheese sauce on it what he got was a cold piece of steak and a slab of blue cheese on the top. Every one in our party's meals was cold. To be hoses we left the table. We will never go back there again.

Room Tip: Room 14 is lovely but no lifts on 4th floor no one to help with bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 58TA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

For a 200 pound room, the bed was super saggy, with a hole in middle of the mattress and I was given a room the lowest floor (basically the basement) so view was terrible. The common rooms were lovely especially the library.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grpexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
3.8 km away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,014 reviews
10.2 km away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
7.3 km away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
10.2 km away
Salisbury Green Hotel
Salisbury Green Hotel
#120 of 151 in Edinburgh
370 reviews
7.8 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range: $139 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing