We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dunalastair Hotel Suites(Kinloch Rannoch)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$163
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Kenmore Club by Diamond Resorts(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$104
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kenmore Hotel(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Weem Inn(Aberfeldy)
US$161
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breadalbane Arms(Aberfeldy)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moness Resort(Aberfeldy)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
146
88
15
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
88
15
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrannoch stationclan nightred deergreat weekvillage shopguided walkenclosed balconycrystal glassestime sharestudio apartmentwelcome meetingfish and chip vanrefurbished lodgewhole weekfabulous sceneryself cateringlarge conservatory
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

This was our first time at Loch Rannoch Highland Club. We had both my parents, my wife and our son (15 months old) and our 2 year old spaniel. We all had a wonderful time (especially the dog). Thoroughly enjoyed it. The lodge was spotlessly clean and all the staff have been helpful and friendly.

If you're unaware all activities are free.

I cannot recommend the guided walk high enough, Steve has tremendous knowledge of the local area and history. Total time 3 hours.

The whisky tasting was yet again another treat. Book early as it is limited seats.

The only constructive criticism I have is that the master bedroom en suite could do with upgrading, the water pressure is quite low and the wifi is non exciting. Those points aside it's been a fantastic week. Waking up each morning to fantastic views and a warm house. After speaking to the office they said they will sort these issues out ASAP.

The walks around the local area are easily accessible, walking past the swimming pool the gate to the left by the hotel is a nice short walk into town. Another short but steeper walk is right past the laundrette across the makeshift bridge up and to the right, follow it up behind the lodges and it brings you our by the swimming pool.

Longer walks require a short drive to the other side of the Loch, there are plenty to choose from.

We also attended the St andrews night, again had a great time.

All in all a great week we will be returning.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

I used a Timeshare swap to book the Loch Rannoch Highland Club and stayed in Red Squirrel 6 unit. It was very well equipped, with everything you would need for self catering. The decor was similar to other timeshare places we had visited in Scotland, lots of wood, tartan and tweed. The place was spotlessly clean. There is a laundry on site which comes in handy if you are there for a week. The only slight downside for me was the remoteness of the resort. I knew it was off the beaten track, so to speak, but unfortunately the roads into the place were not a pleasant driving experience, which meant that we choose not to travel too far. We visited the bar in the hotel for a drink one night and seen people eating and I must say the food looked nice. A small improvement would be if the people staying in the Highland club could use the pool at the hotel, even at a charge. All in all a lovely week but the driving conditions were an issue for us.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

I think I've found this to be a most difficult review to write. At the outset, can I say that I thought the accommodation was very good. We were at the highest "level", in the Red Deer block. The accommodation is quite old (our neighbour said she'd been going there for 40+ years), so the "fabric" is in need of a little TLC. However, everything we wanted was to hand - it was very clean, comfortable and warm (even in the snow! - although there was a small charge for heating). The "conservatory" looking out over the loch and the mountains was great.
It's not for those with mobility problems as there are quite a few sets of steps to negotiate and its about 250 yards downhill to the hotel , with a subsequent walk back up to the apartment. Staff were very polite and friendly.
However, there is a "BUT" and I consider it to be a major "BUT", - the hotel is spectacularly situated above Loch Rannoch and is quite remote ( although the village, with some services, is close). It's situation and remoteness comes at a cost - actually getting there. As we weren't allowed in to the property until 5.00pm, our drive-in (from Pitlochry) started at dusk with the low-level sun in my eyes. I am quite ok with single track roads, with passing places but this road seemed, at times. to be less than 2 car widths and with very few passing places. Added to this was the fact that huge logging wagons and, indeed, tarmac wagons (as there were extensive roadworks taking place) regularly came hurtling towards us.. The road has some significant drops off to the loch, hairpins and hills. This was a nightmare journey lasting about 50 minutes and I consider it to be difficult driving.. To be fair, we did try again, in daylight, and this was slightly better. By the latter part of our week, we had been advised that an alternative route to the A9 was available, driving farther to the north. I will confirm that this was a slightly better route , albeit longer.
If I had been rating the accommodation alone, I would have given it a good 4 stars but I have marked it down to 3 stars due to the driving difficulties.
We had dinner in the bar of the sister hotel twice during our stay. It was a tad on the expensive side but very good, particularly the fish platter. Not for everyday eating but very nice as a bit of a treat.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank JMBRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a week in Lochside 2, friends also booked a 1 bed apartment. We were all extremely happy with accommodation which was spotlessly clean and extremely well maintained. Everything was thought of even a grapefruit knife. Cocktail cabinet, fluffy towels. Anything that needed fixing was fixed immediately. Lochside 2 has two bedrooms and pull down bed in large living room. Both bedrooms had en-suite bathrooms. Views across Loch Rannoch and the amount of things to do in the area made our entire week special. We used Dial a bike to order bikes. Visited village fryer on Wednesday night for our fish and chip supper. (Which was his last visit of season)
Had dinner at mc Donald hotel in bar by fire. Dunalastair open now had a good dinner there and dressed up for occasion, lovely meal although venison and scotch steak absent on a menu that you get anywhere outside Scotland. After many years visiting this was our first stay at Loch Rannoch Highland Club , much more relaxing having breakfast when we wanted, not having to rush back for hotel dinner times as we had flexibility to cook and entertain in our magnificent Lodge. The staff were brilliant and on hand when needed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Wedderburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed in a Highland Lodge this August and were blown away by the quality of the Lodge and furnishings, the absolutely wonderful view from the Conservatory, the helpfulness of the staff and the attractive landscaped grounds. Kinloch Rannoch and the Highland Club are delightful, and we highly recommend it to others. In fact we have bought another Lodge there since returning home! The fantastic scenery, peace and tranquillity, varied wildlife and friendly locals, cannot be beaten. Some super places to eat in the area and links with Diana Gabaldon's Outlander books and tv series, make it a wonderful and special place for us.

Room Tip: Talk to the Office staff - they know the Lodges well and will advise you, to meet your needs.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews