We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
37
8
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
8
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market drayton mid week break on arrival hire company canal network narrowboat ironside herons stove wharf fairs
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Picked boat up for week long trip. Great handover from Cliff who went through all we needed to know before setting off. The boat (Sir Fergus) was great and just right for us having two doubles. We picked CWC because of the location (picked up daighter from mearby V Fest) but the company are really good in terms of value for money, service and friendliness. Thanks CWC and especially Cliff (careful on that motorcycle !)

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Arrived early, but the boat was ready so we didn't have to hang around. The boat we had booked was under repair, so we were given an alternative, which had the same facilities as the one we had booked, but just with a slightly different layout, so was a perfect swap.We were given an excellent handover which covered everything we needed to know about the boat. We didn't have any instruction about driving the boat as we had previous experience and didn't need it. We were given a folder which contained all the information we had been given plus telephone numbers and other useful info. The boat was lovely. Very clean and well presented. The beds were made up and very comfortable. There were several sockets, so we weren't fighting over them to charge our phones etc. The galley had everything we needed plus washing up liquid, dish cloth, Scourer, and tea towels. Countrywide also supplied bin bags, kitchen roll and a toilet roll, all of which I'd brought with us, but didn't need. We were doing a mid week break from Monday to Friday. The boat had to be returned by 9am on Friday, so we moored at Brewood on Thursday evening and went out in the village for a meal that evening. This worked out well as Brewood is a lovely village and has plenty of places to eat. We took our dog with us, and found plenty of dog friendly places to stop and eat along the canal. All in all, we had a lovely break, all the staff were extremely knowledgable and very friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Countrywide Cruisers to anyone considering this type of holiday.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We (family of four) have just returned from an amazing few days on Sir Bruin. We left with two tired, bad tempered children who were completely transformed by the experience and who loved drifting along finding new places and generally helping with the boat. Day by day we all unwound as the canal worked its magic. The Shropshire countryside was heavenly and I'm going to miss planning our day around the pub stops! Yes the weather was incredible but what made the holiday was the quality of the boat (spotlessly clean, really well appointed and what looked like brand new bathrooms) and knowing that the wonderful Cliff who met us and showed us round the boat was there if we had any problems. His induction was really clear and thorough and although we been on a narrow boat holiday before he gave us the confidence to get going and we felt like old hands by the end. Now we have returned to see the news reports of the poor people stuck at Dover and are doubly glad we decided to have a 'staycation'. If you want a really good fun but relaxing holiday in your own immaculate and well appointed floating home look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sophieestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely long weekend on Sir Cador. We arrived around 3pm on the Friday and could load our stuff straight onto the boat. We then settled in and had an intro by the lovely Cliff, who also supervised us for 5-10 minutes along the canal as we were complete novices (ask for this service, and make sure you read the handbook as it's invaluable). We had a minor issue with the barge but William came and fixed that quickly for us with no hassle. We went up to Market Drayton, which is a really nice route and doable by the Monday. On our return, leaving the barge was simple. Sir Cador is a lovely barge. Fully recommended!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank FranFran144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Sir Ironside was very comfortable, we loved the stove and used it on several nights, even though the weather was so good. Great deisel engine, powerful enough to get us out of trouble, but also very quiet at cruising speed.
Only a couple of suggestions. The bedroom and living room would benefit from a few shelves. The chairs in the living room are well used and are probably due to be replaced. Not troubling enough to change our view that this was a 5 stars cruise.
The best thing about the experience was the staff. Friendly, welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank YandMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews