We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lion Hotel(Brewood)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
32
8
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
8
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa great weekmarket draytoncanal cruiseon arrivalnantwichbruinninaironsidepubsboatyardstove
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Efficient and super friendly, family run boatyard. They are very accommodating and happy to help with any queries about boats and routes before you set off.... and even by phone once you're on your hols! ( cafetière and a corkscrew...tick) . Very well serviced, spotless and well equipped boats with everything you could possibly need. A huge plus... gas fired central heating, which means you don't have to keep the engine on in order to keep warm ( knocks spots off many more expensive " luxury" boatyards). Perfect holiday, been out with Countrywide four or five times now... can't fault them. Thank you, Nina and co

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Just had a great week on Sir Bruin, the boat was spotlessly clean and comfy, it had everything we needed. The staff were really friendly and helpful too, we couldn't ask for more really. We went down the shroppie and onto the staffs and worcs canal then back, there are some lovely pubs along the route, (not as many as I would have liked)but Penkridge is well worth a visit, there's a really good bakery there too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank grahamwalker295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We had a week over October half term, Saturday to Saturday. As usual there are lots of things to talk about on a canal cruise and I wrote a blog elsewhere covering where we ate at night etc.

Specific things. We went up the Shropshire Union, Nantwich and back. We could possibly have got to Chester but to get there and have time to look around would have been pushing it - especially with the daylight hours available. Nantwich return was relaxing although I actually found Nantwich not so interesting - perhaps we missed the best bit. Audlem was nicer. I'm glad we scheduled time there. Similarly Market Drayton on a Sunday night was quiet but we found a pretty good restaurant (New Ambrosia) which I'd recommend.

The boat was mechanically pretty good, with low wash - I realised after a while I needed not completely drop to tickover passing moored boats, just drop the speed a bit. The boat was well set out except we seemed to somehow miss the little shelves for putting your money, keys etc.

One last thing, we ordered food to be delivered to the boat. I'd recommend: we had some really good cheese, ham and the like delivered. Some mature Red Leicester the like of which I'd not had before.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank jfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Just had a fab week on sir melleaus, first time with countrywide cruisers and would recommend, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the boat was very clean and ready on time for the 2pm arrival time,
Did the four counties ring and the boat performed with no problems.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Boatboysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Booked SIr Melleaus for one one week at the beginning of the school holidays. As we have boated before we looked for an active route with plenty of locks to keep teenage son and his friend occupied so we chose to tackle the four counties ring. We had some hectic and long days,as we expected. Lots of space inside the boat. Easy to make up the dining table into a bed. Oven and microwave easy to use. Very clean boat.Would recommend this company to all and the boat. Have booked this boat again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank bcks1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews