We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruising the Shroppie on Sir Ironside”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brewood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Countrywide Cruisers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brewood
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We booked a week in mid-september on Sir Ironside for two first-timer canal enthusiasts, and it has been an unforgettable experience. We were lucky with the weather and the Shroppie itself is absolutely gorgeous, heading up towards Chester, with stunning nature vistas all round. Countrywide Cruises themselves were a joy to deal with, and had just about anything you'd need on board, from kitchen gear, towels, bedding and ample supply of coal for the (very cozy!) stove, even including complementary bottles of wine on arrival. We were given a tour and instruction in handling the boat by Cliff - who is an absolute legend - as well as tips for the trip. Will definitely recommend to anyone and we will be back ourselves.
Thank you for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 511jacobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017

Efficient and super friendly, family run boatyard. They are very accommodating and happy to help with any queries about boats and routes before you set off.... and even by phone once you're on your hols! ( cafetière and a corkscrew...tick) . Very well serviced, spotless and well equipped boats with everything you could possibly need. A huge plus... gas fired central heating, which means you don't have to keep the engine on in order to keep warm ( knocks spots off many more expensive " luxury" boatyards). Perfect holiday, been out with Countrywide four or five times now... can't fault them. Thank you, Nina and co

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Just had a great week on Sir Bruin, the boat was spotlessly clean and comfy, it had everything we needed. The staff were really friendly and helpful too, we couldn't ask for more really. We went down the shroppie and onto the staffs and worcs canal then back, there are some lovely pubs along the route, (not as many as I would have liked)but Penkridge is well worth a visit, there's a really good bakery there too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank grahamwalker295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We had a week over October half term, Saturday to Saturday. As usual there are lots of things to talk about on a canal cruise and I wrote a blog elsewhere covering where we ate at night etc.

Specific things. We went up the Shropshire Union, Nantwich and back. We could possibly have got to Chester but to get there and have time to look around would have been pushing it - especially with the daylight hours available. Nantwich return was relaxing although I actually found Nantwich not so interesting - perhaps we missed the best bit. Audlem was nicer. I'm glad we scheduled time there. Similarly Market Drayton on a Sunday night was quiet but we found a pretty good restaurant (New Ambrosia) which I'd recommend.

The boat was mechanically pretty good, with low wash - I realised after a while I needed not completely drop to tickover passing moored boats, just drop the speed a bit. The boat was well set out except we seemed to somehow miss the little shelves for putting your money, keys etc.

One last thing, we ordered food to be delivered to the boat. I'd recommend: we had some really good cheese, ham and the like delivered. Some mature Red Leicester the like of which I'd not had before.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank jfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Just had a fab week on sir melleaus, first time with countrywide cruisers and would recommend, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the boat was very clean and ready on time for the 2pm arrival time,
Did the four counties ring and the boat performed with no problems.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Boatboysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Countrywide Cruisers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countrywide Cruisers

Address: Brewood ST19 9BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Brewood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brewood
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing