We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service and staff”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2017

After a lovely walk to the Rollrights my friend and I were starving and in the mood for a roast lunch - disaster! It was around 3 and all the lovely roast beef had gone. Not to be thwarted we asked if we could have the chicken on the menu with all the lovely roast goodies and were rewarded with the most delicious roast chicken feast! The accommodating staff really made our visit special, the pub is spacious and all in all a fantastic venue. Planning our return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmandaJaySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_and_Sarah, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

We're pleased that we were able to turn an almost disaster into such a pleasing feast and that the staff made your visit so special. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Walked in late Sunday afternoon without a booking and was well looked after by one of the staff who found us a table. Food was really good, steak and ale pie to die for and a nice touch with the complimentary quality bread and oil/butter - not offered by many pubs/restaurants in this day and age. Service was spot on and overall a very enjoyable experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_and_Sarah, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

We're pleased that you had a very enjoyable experience when you visited us and thank you for posting such a lovely review. We hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We had dinner at the Red Lion on a Sunday evening. The place was quite full and we did not book a table. No problem for the staff, they were clever and creative with the table management.

The food was very nice, both the main dish as the desert. They have several daily specials that are really different from the menu.

Good choice for a nice meal!

Thank DeMies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_and_Sarah, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We love your description of 'creative table management' and are pleased that you found the food to be very nice.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The food was excellent from the starters through to the desserts. The staff were most friendly and very attentative. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MARGARET K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_and_Sarah, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for both taking the time to post a review and for the recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Top class pub food. A party of eight - we were served efficiently and very pleasantly. Standard and choice of food was excellent and well priced. Large car park. Booking advised

Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_and_Sarah, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

We're pleased that your party of 8 people were served efficiently and pleasantly and that the standard and choice of food was excellent. You can't get better that 'top notch' so Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Shipston-on-Stour, Cotswolds
Little Compton, Moreton-in-Marsh
 
Ladbroke, Southam
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Henley-in-Arden, Warwickshire
Stretton on Fosse, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing