We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Santa Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santa Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We couldn't not express our feelings warmly enough about this beautiful little boutique hotel. Francesco is a superb host and incredibly knowledgeable. He was incredibly welcoming and kind. The rooms were beautiful and spacious, particularly as we had a terrace room! The hotel has a beautiful view over the port, Stromboli and Panarea, the terrace is amazing and it is all within walking distance to the ferry terminal. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope that one day we can return.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room on the second floor with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danidrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescoSaija, Direttore at Hotel Santa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Thak you very much... It was a pleasure to have you here... let's hope to see eachother again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

My second visit and an eye opener for my companion. The rooms were large airy and well spooned with a terrace attached. Breakfast was wonderfully presented on the roof terrace with fantastic views to the other islands, Stromboli, Sicily & Etna and Calabria. The help in booking restaurants and excursions was great and the host was great company. All in all a great stay.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

A friendly welcome by Francesco on my arrival. I had a nice room on the first floor with a small balcony giving a view on lovely plants and small trees.
The breakfast buffet was also excellent offering fresh fruit,patisserie,cereales, and an excellent expresso to start the day.

Room Tip: Room 12 on the first floor .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

A light summer storm, unusual for the time of year, (late July) had just visited Salina when we arrived. In Milazzo where we had taken the hydrofoil to Salina we had parked our Mini Cooper in a local garage for several days. At this long stay car park, we became the centre of the garage workers game of ‘let’s guess which Aeolian Island they are going to?’, the guys guessed correctly, the ‘healthy Island’ of Salina as they called it, where couples go for respite and to enjoy the food and spectacular views. When we arrived at the port of Santa Maria Salina, we were greeted by tranquil waters and a warm mist in the air and a smile or two from locals were followed by directions that led us to what would become an exquisite stay at an impeccably understated and effortlessly chic boutique hotel.

Every aspect of the hotel has an Island charm and allure that look as though they’ve been taken from antiquity and travelled through time. With spectacular views, nestled amongst pretty shops, a stones throw from the sea, restaurants and a nearby private beach club, you have are drawn you into the languid hypnotic beauty of the Santa Maria Salina’s unique experience. The style of the hotel is an elegant and simple mixture of Island whitewashed walls and old world historic artefacts and wooden furnishings that belong to the essence of what makes the stay at Santa Maria Salina so special, ~ the family to whom the hotel belongs.

As my partner noted, the service at Santa Maria Salina is personalised which makes it truly outstanding. On the afternoon of our arrival, we were ushered for a drink to the very pretty terrace that over - looks the Tyrrhenian Sea. Large rain drops from the earlier storm were still polka dotted all over the glass of the coffee table where Francesco, whose father who first started up the ‘pension’, decades ago, (and who uncannily, shared an almost identical first and last name to my partner) spoke to us over complimentary drinks and drew invisible maps describing the topography of the Island to us both in English. Francesco’s knowledge and his brothers who also works at the hotel their ties and love of the island were transmitted from the onset. It was evident as the days sped by that Francesco and his beautiful partner Stefania made familiar contact with each and every one of their guests to ensure that their stay at the hotel was comparable to being at an Aeolian home away from home.

We originally stayed in room Number One which was furnished in the white and dark wood style of the hotel for our first two days, it was lovely. A few days later we were upgraded (it was my boyfriend’s birthday) to the Ottoman suite which was decorated with finesse and had views overlooking the Marina. The suite contained two rooms in effect, which could suit a family travelling with a child, and with its own private entrance it has the dual advantage of not disturbing any one when you might return from a few drinks and a late night dinner or want to escape for an early morning swim.

The jewel in the crown of the hotel is their terrace from where, over a mean cocktail mixed by the brothers, you can absorb the hypnotic blue, orange and lilac Aeolian skies at sunset and view Lipari from quite close, the glamorous silhouette of Panarea and in the far distance the activity of Stromboli whose smoke is visible sifting through the skies, throughout the day.

The hotel Santa Maria Salina is not where you go for high tech gadgetry, gimmicks or artificial star spangled razzle dazzle. Its attraction is an old world rustic romance, which brings a sense of natural prestige in the enchanting Salina.

The family have understood what it means to be top class hotel and deliver a service that is unforgettable. If this brand could be bottled and concentrated to suit individual cities around the world we would be able to call it world class, and it deserves every star possible. My advice would be to maintain all of what they do, and according to my other half add more variety of fruit to their breakfast menu.

The hotel Santa Maria Salina is a place to fall in love, we will definitely return, you must go and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheLondonersVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Liked everything about the hotel, I booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for 8 nights. The hotel was very well located off the main street, just a few minutes walk to the port, bus stop, shops and my favourite restaurant, Trattoria Cucinotta, where I had most of my dinners. I was in room 12 with a garden & partial seaview, it was very quiet at night, woke up in the morning to the singing of birds & lovely sunrise from the window. The room was very comfortable, clean and had free Wifi. It had a lovely rooftop terrace with views of Lipari where breakfast & evening cocktails are served every morning and evening. Francesco & his team were very helpful & hospitable, I left something behind in the previous hotel, he telephoned the hotel and it arrived by the next hydrofoil, he helped me with my other hotel reservations and even took me to Pollara to see the sunset as the buses had stopped running and I did not drive.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
4.7 km away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
0.1 km away
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
152 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
#4 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
463 reviews
0.4 km away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#2 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
218 reviews
4 km away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Marina

Address: Via Enzo Geraci 4, 98050, Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range: $141 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the 1850s, along the Santa Marina waterfront, an ancient building was used to welcome and host the many merchants who, at that time, were attracted to Salina. The structure, whose name was Sajeva Hotel, offered to the visitors the best comfort of that time, a charming hall used also as meeting space for commercial transactions of Malvasia wine. The Santa Marina Hotel has been created a few meters away from the original site from the Saija family, from the rehabilitation of an ancient structure with the purpose of recreating the atmosphere of the old Sajeva. All the rooms are furnished with original antiques from that golden age, during which Salina was the major commercial hub of the Aeolian Archipelagos. The four stars Hotel Santa Marina has 4 standard rooms, 3 standard rooms with view, 2 Jr Deluxe with private patios, and 2 suites (suitable for more than two guests). On the roof terrace, equipped with free wi-fi, hotel guests and their visitors have their breakfasts and happy hours, overlooking all the other islands of the archipelagos. The hotel is located along the waterfront, in the very centre of the Santa Marina Village, at 3-minutes walking distance from the harbour, few steps away from the Village's main street and square. Rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, mini-bar, security box, satellite TV and phone, while the staff offers a reservation service for the major tourist attraction of the island (e. g. land and sea excursions, museums' guided tours, thermal bath). Guests can also benefit from conventional prices with a choice of the best local Aeolian restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina Isola Di Salina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing