We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious french cuisine”
Review of La Petite Tonnelle

La Petite Tonnelle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$49
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We came here for a weekday lunch after having a stroll around the castle. The staff were very welcoming and the outside terrace looked picturesque. We had our cocker spaniel and this was no problem to eat outside with him. The restaurant inside was very busy so is clearly a popular spot with the locals.

We ordered off a la carte menu - A fish soup, the foie gras with fig marmalade and a steak with dauphinoise. The food was superb and beautifully presented. We decided to have coffee to finish and share the selection of mini desserts.

We had a really lovely time here and would have come back if we had time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinathetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL24220, Propriétaire at La Petite Tonnelle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear Tinathetourist
thanks you for your message. we're pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2016

Its always a bad sign when the first thing we did upon arriving home after visiting 'La Petite Tonnelle' was raid the snack cupboard! It started out so promising, the restaurant proudly displays its 4/5 Tripadvisor rating behind the front desk, the staff were keen to make space for our large party, despite not pre-booking. So lets start with the positives;

A lot of reviews complain about waiting time, whereas we did not experience this. The waiting team were quick to attend our table, and had a reasonable grasp of English to boot. The starters were of a good size and quite tasty, the goats cheese was fantastic. The tap water is also far better tasting than some of the surrounding areas, don't pay €4.50 for mineral water. The English-translated menu is an unlikely source of comedy, the terrible google-translation had us all in stitches. Sadly this is where the positives end.

A few members of our party ordered the lamb which turned out to be 90% fat, bone and tendon! We were afforded just 3 bitesize chunks of lamb goodness. The garnish for the lamb was a rather peculiar apple-puree that wouldn't have looked out of place in a jar of baby food. After extracting the precious meat from the lamb and duly complaining (this is extremely rare for us!), the waiter offered to replace the two offending lamb dishes. The second time around offered a marginal improvement, 90% fat, bone and tendon was now reduced to a mere 75%!!!! I have to stress that the picture attached is the SECOND attempt at this dish. We accepted this replacement due to tiredness and perhaps our own stupidity but in honesty, the second attempt was also unacceptable. Beside a rather sheepish (lambish!) apology, we were offered absolutely no reduction in our bill.

Most of our party ordered from the set menu, and were rather bemused when our friendly neighborhood waiter informed us that our €22 beef option was actually €26! The restaurant seems to use the 'read the slate' advice in their menu as a way of bumping up the price or serving bad cuts. Aside from this, the steaks were not what we asked for. Medium came out well-done. Rare came out Medium rare. This was despite the waiter fully understanding our orders when taking them. This is pretty disappointing for France, where the usual trend is to cook steaks a grade less than you have asked for! The main course portions were stingy, even with a starter I left hungry.

Its safe to say we probably would not return. If this is number one in Beynac-et-Cazenac, I don't want to visit the other 7!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL24220, Propriétaire at La Petite Tonnelle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear WILL S
despite this long and negative comment, we thank you for sharing your OWN opinion.
I already apologise for my answer in a very poor english, but it seems to be far better than your french, otherwise you will have wrote it in 'la langue de Molières'...
There's french sentence that says " on n'est pas Louis d'or' : I let you use google translate as we do to understand its meaning.
Nevermind!

We will congratulate on your behalf the Local Water Company. They will appreciate your comment about the water quality here in the middle of french countryside !

Regarding our 'on slate suggestions' : probably in your 'home sweet home' place, restaurants are used do so in order to serve bad cuts, but here, in our case, it is to offer our regular guests other meals than the ones written on our card.

we easily understood that you will not return, but others restaurants in surroundings do burgers and sandwiches... probably more appropriate to your needs...

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Just ok. Nothing interesting or overly tasty or inventive. Was it bad? No. Was it great? Not at all. On very noisy street. Truck after truck pass by and ruin the meal. I had a headache afterwards. One wouldn't think it's a noisy street, but it is. Would not return.

Thank LoveAtFirstSight13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Consistently good and delicate food and delightful ambience. We are regular visitors to this small restaurant and have never had a poor meal. The menus do not change much although lunch time (especially on Sundays) can perhaps be more varied. As elsewhere in France, meals are not to be rushed! Recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank acpackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Located just off the main road through Beynac, this place has a casual elegance and excellent menu. It was recommended to us by our B&B, Le Petit Versaille, and we enjoyed it so much we came back a second night. Reservations are recommended as it is small and quite popular, even off season. There is dining on a small terrace when the weather is nice. The only downside was the service; the servers made a few errors but it was early in the season so they may just not have been fully trained yet. Definitely not a cheap meal, but reasonable considering the excellent quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EarthmanByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL24220, Propriétaire at La Petite Tonnelle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear EarthmanByron
many thanks for sharing your experience at La Petite Tonnelle.
We're glad to read you've enjoyed your dinners by us, despite the 'few mistakes' with the service... we do apologise for that.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Tonnelle also viewed

Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
 
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
 

Been to La Petite Tonnelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing