We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant, large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Moulin du Gastronome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2016

+smallish but heated pool
+large family room
+quiet place
+free WIFI that actually works
+B'fast smallish (continental) but with a breadbasket filled to the top
+do not miss having your dinner there! it would be a pity

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfairy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel for one night both on the way and back from holidays further south. I chose it originally because they accepted pets but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was very comfortable with excellent amenities, the pool was calm and a pleasure to swim in and the dinner was excellent. The chef is obviously passionate about his creations and we appreciated it very much whilst enjoying the cool evening breeze on the dining terrace. There is also an excellent selection of wines - of course, we were in wine country of Mâcon and the prices reasonable.
Next year they will have installed air conditioning and that will be a welcome addition.

Room Tip: There is one romantic suite and the other rooms are about the same. They all have a view on either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aikeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed in this hotel while travelling on holiday. The hotel is conveniently situated not far from the autoroute. There is a good carpark, a pleasant garden and a swimming, which was very welcome after a long hot drive.

Reception was welcoming and efficient.

The room was of a good size and the bathroom clean and adequate. The bed was comfortable, but the room would benefit from improvement to the decoration.

However, this hotel is not really about the rooms, but the restaurant, which generally served very good food. My only negative comment on the restaurant was that my prawns were over cooked. My husband's fish was perfectly cooked and sauced.

All in all it was a very pleasant overnight stop.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

A great place to stay on your way south. The staff are extremely friendly and there is secure parking available at the back of the hotel. The rooms are simple but adequate - the bathroom is good. We really enjoyed our dinner. The menus were good and the food was beautifully served, and with a friendly smile. Both the rooms and the restaurant have free wifi but you need a different password for both.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sandyLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

If you are travelling to or from the south of France this is an ideal place to stay.The room we stayed in was functional,but perfectly adequate.The food was high quality and the service was friendly and very well informed.Also an extensive wine list,with some excellent and very good value local wines.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank sdmb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charnay-les-Macon
3.3 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
6.3 km away
Chateau de la Barge
Chateau de la Barge
#2 of 3 in Charnay-les-Macon
270 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 30 in Macon
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel de Bourgogne
Hotel de Bourgogne
#5 of 30 in Macon
262 reviews
6.2 km away
Ibis Macon Sud
Ibis Macon Sud
#1 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
619 reviews
2.7 km away
ibis Styles Macon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Gastronome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Gastronome

Address: 540 route de Cluny, 71850 Charnay-les-Macon, Macon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Macon > Charnay-les-Macon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charnay-les-Macon
Price Range: $155 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Moulin du Gastronome 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Moulin du Gastronome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing