We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and attentive, friendly staff”

Restaurante Albacar
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Monda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$52
Description: Just 15 minutes from Marbella, Castillo de Monda offers great views over the Andalucian country side. Find yourself a spot on the spacious terrace, an intimate corner of the tropical roof garden or have a drink with tapas at the bar. Enjoy a coffee or a glass of wine on the patio or book a table at the Albacar restaurant for some fine dining. With chef Jaap Schaafsma in charge of the kitchen at Castillo de Monda, guests are assured of fine dining in an informal setting and international cuisine with a Mediterranean twist at the Albacar restaurant. This spacious, light and airy dining area has all the modern comforts but the Moorish vibe is present everywhere in the tiling and archways of the interior to the fountains and patio garden layout of the exterior to create an exotic ambience and an extra special dining experience. Furthermore, while meat and fish eaters are well catered for, there are numerous vegetarian options on offer, and if you have any specific dietary requirements or allergies, please let us know in advance so that we can do our very best to make sure you enjoy your meal with us. Join us ‘en groupe’ or bring a date!
Restaurant details
Description: Just 15 minutes from Marbella, Castillo de Monda offers great views over the Andalucian country side. Find yourself a spot on the spacious terrace, an intimate corner of the tropical roof garden or have a drink with tapas at the bar. Enjoy a coffee or a glass of wine on the patio or book a table at the Albacar restaurant for some fine dining. With chef Jaap Schaafsma in charge of the kitchen at Castillo de Monda, guests are assured of fine dining in an informal setting and international cuisine with a Mediterranean twist at the Albacar restaurant. This spacious, light and airy dining area has all the modern comforts but the Moorish vibe is present everywhere in the tiling and archways of the interior to the fountains and patio garden layout of the exterior to create an exotic ambience and an extra special dining experience. Furthermore, while meat and fish eaters are well catered for, there are numerous vegetarian options on offer, and if you have any specific dietary requirements or allergies, please let us know in advance so that we can do our very best to make sure you enjoy your meal with us. Join us ‘en groupe’ or bring a date!
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Like a previous reviewer I agree it's not just about the food, it's the whole experience. The setting is so lovely and very pretty as they still had some Xmas decs around. We were the only people there at first so they had thoughtfully placed us by the wood burner. The food was a complete delight - different breads, oil and salt given as a free starter and our whole sea bass was a delight. Excellent desserts too. Yes it was expensive, but well worth it as we were staying in the hotel for an anniversary treat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glynis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryn G, Owner at Restaurante Albacar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Many thanks for celebrating this special occasion with us and letting us have your opinion. Great to hear that you enjoyed the food as well as the overall experience so much! We will pass on your compliments to our staff as well.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018

When we rate a meal, it is not just about the food, it includes the service, ambience etc., in other words the whole experience. We had visited the hotel several times before but just for coffee and to enjoy the magnificent views, so this was our first visit for lunch. We were here for a 3-course set meal, but as my wife is lactose-intolerant set meals can on occasion be awkward. We notified the restaurant and they could not have been more helpful, including giving my wife a dessert off the menu! The setting, service and food was superb. In particular I am loath to order pork as too often it is overcooked, but this Iberico fillet was probably the best I have ever had - pink and perfect. The whole occasion was an absolute delight and we shall without doubt be back.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryn G, Owner at Restaurante Albacar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Charles,

Many thanks for having lunch with us and letting us have your opinion. Great to hear that you are so enthusiastic about the ambiance, service and food! It is our aim to give anybody a pleasant and tasteful eating out experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Our group of six ventured to this restaurant for a milestone birthday celebration and were supremely satisfied. Cocktails on an outside terrace within the castle grounds, before being led to another outside (but covered) dining terrace where we were each served delicious meals ranging from steaks to ceviche. Wine list was adequate, albeit the wine snobs in our group would have preferred a wider choice [of Spanish wines]. Above all, plenty of space between tables, excellent friendly service, and very reasonable value all in.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DR CHRISTOPHER C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryn G, Owner at Restaurante Albacar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Many thanks for having dinner with us for this special celebration and also for letting us have your opinion. Great to learn that you all enjoyed both the service as well as the food & beverage so much! Your remark referring a wider choice of Spanish wines surprises us somewhat. Can it be that you only saw the first page listing the 18 different wines we also serve per glass and that you missed the following three pages with the over 80 different wines we serve per bottle? Nevertheless, if so it is a good reason to come back one day and scroll through the entire wine list. We would be glad to be able to welcoming you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

One of the highlights of my recent trip to visit my parents in Spain was this restaurant within Castillo de Monda. The views are fantastic and the food and service were both excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryn G, Owner at Restaurante Albacar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our food and service so much as well as the views! Thank you for letting us know and visiting us in the first place. Looking forward welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Had a great meal, the food was very good and we’d go back. It would be hard to live up to the view but the chef really did his best. Have to also give high praise to young waiter who was friendly pleasant and informative about the castle and hotel without being intrusive.
Beautiful presentations food. The hotel looked really lovely too, will try to go and stay and eat dinner sometime, can’t speak higher of a restaurant than that.

Thank indigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryn G, Owner at Restaurante Albacar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Fantastic to hear that we were impressed by the views, total ambiance and probably even more important our food and the service. You can be sure we will share you opinion with our staff. Thank you for being our guest and letting us have your opinion. Looking forward welcoming you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Albacar also viewed

Monda, Province of Malaga
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Monda, Province of Malaga
 

Been to Restaurante Albacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing