We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of The Urban Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Urban Villa
Ranked #2 of 3 Ojen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in The King Romance suite for three nights. The room is undeniably spacious with fantastic views but in our opinion needs refreshing. The bathroom in particular is rather dated. It is a difficult location to both initially find and drive up to and the parking on site is difficult. We chose to park outside the property as did most guests which isn't a problem although it entails a short steep walk. The reason for our four stars rather than five is the lack of engagement from the staff and cuisine. We had the "romantic dinner' on arrival. This offered no choice and was served mostly without explanation. The honesty bar means you are left to yourself between courses. The cook was clearly busy in the kitchen whilst the female member of staff sat behind us in the lounge surfing the net. Not great and at €29 per head we thought it expensive. Breakfast is standard spanish/european fare. Our only contact with the staff on a daily basis was to enquire whether we would like eggs with our breakfast. All in all we enjoyed our stay but the staff really should try harder to engage.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard7852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in the La Linda room - and while it's the smallest room at the villa, it did not compromise on comfort or character! The bed is firm but soft, there's a quaint little balcony and a huge shower! The whole place has a lovely home from home vibe, very stylish without being pretentious. The manager Yoanna is so friendly and welcoming - no request too big or too small. She also suggested some lovely places to eat in Marbella (thanks Yoanna!). Our favourite being La Taberna Del Pintxo! Breakfast at The Urban Villa is a delight - eggs made to order along with a continental buffet. The views from the terrace are beautiful, as is the relatively small (but big enough!) kidney shaped pool which we were fortunate to have to ourselves since other guests were either out and about or on their own balconies! They even have a dog called Cookie! We're dog lovers so wouldn't mind if he was overbearing but he really isn't. He's a lovely dog but isn't a pest - he'll only spend time with you if you want him to. Are there any downsides? Yes it's up a fairly steep incline (it's on the edge of mountain after all!) but cars are made to go up inclines! You can hike around the mountains... or not! You can rent a car or do what we did and get taxis (around €15 one way into Marbella) and do a tour (we went to Ronda with Monte Aventura and loved it!). We had a fan in our room which was perfect for the day and night - temp up to 25 degrees in the day and around 18/20 degrees at night. Any hotter and I suppose a/c would be better. Overall we highly recommend The Urban Villa! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheUV, Front Office Manager at The Urban Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Caroline, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at The Urban Villa. I am happy to note that you had fantastic time, enjoyed our delightful breakfasts and had a pleasant stay with us. I sincerely appreciate your positive comments. You're always welcome to return. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards from sunny Marbella!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

The staff in this B&B were wonderful throughout our stay, namely Yoanna, Byron, Tim and Mary, even Cookie the dog is friendly and welcoming. The property sits on the side of a mountain overlooking Marbella and on a clear day North Africa is visible, and on a clear night a thousand stars. Breakfast was ideal for us in this climate, and Tim's 'special' eggs were a delight. The sun shone all day everyday which was a bonus, however AC would have been a plus had it been any warmer. In the height of the season this could be an issue for some. We even enjoyed the neighbourhood dogs communicating in the distance in the evening.
On the downside which is ironic, is the journey up and down the hill to access the property. It is steep and requires confident and capable driving in a decent car. Parking at the property is limited and requires all guests to be considerate, not always the case. The deluxe urban suite which we stayed in does not have an access door from inside the property just a cord at the top of the access stairs and a curtain at the bottom. That was a security issue for us, you can lock your bedroom door but that prevents a flow of air at night where there is no AC, so is not really an option. It's like giving strangers access to your apartment just not the bedroom you are in. You just should not have that. Apart from that issue we thoroughly enjoyed what is a very relaxed and easy going environment, made extra special by Yoanna who is the weekday manager.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank reedlichtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheUV, Front Office Manager at The Urban Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear friends,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in our villa.

We sincerely value our customers' opinions because they always help us to better serving you and future customers.

There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our bed & breakfast better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve.

You two make a lovely couple!! We wish you all the best
Kind regards from The Urban Villa Team! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Amazing views over mountains and sea high above the hectic scene in Mirabella. It's like a home away from home -- but with kind and helpful staff, delicious food, and classic styling. Ronda and Granada are easy day trips, and with hiking and beaches so close by, I wish we had booked a week instead of a day.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheUV, Front Office Manager at The Urban Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing our Villa for your stay in Marbella and for taking the time to write a feedback. Our goal is to deliver high-quality hospitality to every guest on every stay, starting from your arrival until your departure. We hope, that during your next visit in Andalusia, we can welcome you once again at our The Urban Villa to prove, that we are really passionate about guest service. Best regards, The Urban Villa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Wonderful! No more to say.
This place is just perfect: a quiet b&b, close to Marbella with an astonishing view on the village and the Mediterranean.
We stayed in the King suite and the experience has been unforgettable.
Honestly, I could live there.
Many thanks to Yoana! We'll be back for sure!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheUV, Front Office Manager at The Urban Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Anen. Thank you for choosing The Urban Villa and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services. Thank you also for your mention of the hotel staff. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. It will be a pleasure to host you again in future. With best regards, The Urban Villa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojen
3.4 km away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,509 reviews
3.8 km away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
3.8 km away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
La Posada del Angel
4.7 km away
Refugio de Juanar
Refugio de Juanar
#3 of 3 in Ojen
93 reviews
5.9 km away
Ecohotel Puerto de Ojen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Villa

Address: Hacienda Los Canasteros 5 | Carretera de Ojen, 29610 Ojen, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ojen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ojen
Price Range: $97 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Urban Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Villa - Marbella's hidden secret!The Urban Villa is an abode recommended among friends... An idyllic Boutique Villa Hotel with four stunning suites above the city of Marbella. This luxury residence, or as it is called these days 'Boutique Casa' is a haven of peace and yet so close to the famous beaches, golf courses, exclusive Puerta Banus marina & the exciting Andalusian lifestyle only minutes away... Each suite is uniquely furnished with a great sense of creativity combining traditional style with an artistic modern twist, creating a cool contemporary chic atmosphere and magical ambiance. Each suit has individual special features, such as a large private Finnish sauna, Jacuzzi with amazing views, large old fireplace, huge panoramic terraces & even a romantic canopy bed under rustic old wood beams. This privileged private location with breathtaking views of the coastline, Africa and Gibraltar Rock, really make this bed and breakfast stand out from all others!Staying at The Urban Villa is as inspiring as it is comfortable! For those intrigued, we welcome you to come and discover this hidden oasis. The Urban Villa - Boutique Hotel - Marbella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Urban Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing