We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
114
83
27
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
83
27
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are spacious fourth visit long drive well worth a visit owners and staff quiet location our wedding anniversary chateau furnishings france court dordogne tennis lawn coast june herd
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Checked in for a night in the "Royal" room complete with its own tower (which houses a sitting room with mini bar!) and views over the park, a great start and with a warm welcome at reception. We went down for dinner and enjoyed a pre dinner drink at our table (no bar, but probably in the summer aperitifs are probably served on the terrace). The menu (called Entre Terre et Mer - or "between the earth and the sea") contained everything we both enjoyed eating so no disappointments there and the winelist is more than adequate with a wide range of prices. Our Graves red, although not expensive, was exquisite. The sardines were colourful and also delicious; main course of very tender duck fillet in an outstanding wine sauce with a rasberry mousse to conclude (see photographs). Our waiter was (and probably is still at the time of writing !) most professional and I suspect speaks English... Back in the room, we switched off most of the radiators for the night but the thin blanket was insufficient to keep warm.... a shame that the bedlinen is as vintage as most of the decor! Please buy duvets and softer sheets before we come again! However, this certainly did not detract from our overall satisfaction - I forgot to add: the nearest resort on the coast of La Vendée is only 20 minutes' drive away and Les Sâbles d'Olonne (the largest and most popular) under an hour; before you see the ocean, spend a night here and don't forget to book a table in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michèle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Brilliant - have a bottle of wine on the terrace looking over a lovely garden then eat in the restaurant sleep in the old room with all the needs of a weary traveller and you have it-France in a nutshell .We will go back

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dr Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Beautiful surroundings, great service, shame the food doesn't quite match! Definitely haunted! An unforgettable experience, for all the right reasons! Romantic, authentic and glorious! Loved it! Fabulous staff!

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated.......
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairieMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during a three day business trip. The Chateau was superb from start to finish.

On arrival I was very impressed by the grounds and hotel itself. The building is stunning.

We were met with a very friendly welcome and were well informed about the dining times etc. For my entire stay the lady on reception was excellent.

The rooms were comfortable with great views of the grounds. The decor is far from modern but it perfectly suits the character of the building. The room had everything I needed with a good wifi connection and en suite.

I'm looking forward to my next visit already!

The restaurant is well worth a visit. The food was fantastic.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Jonlyth1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

The rooms are what you would expect from an old French Chateau. The bathroom was well appointed and the water was hot. The room was furnished with antiques and a very comfortable bed. Yes the floorboards creaked but this is an old property and is part of it's charm. The woods are full of wildlife including deer and rabbits. We wanted a romantic break with superb food and that is what we got with fantastic service thrown in. If you want modern it is not for you but I would recommend it to anyone with a heart.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews