We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Marais(Challans)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Vent d'Eden Park(Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Top Vacances(Challans)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
112
81
27
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
81
27
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfourth visitrooms are spaciouslong drivewell worth a visitowners and staffquiet locationchateauregionfurnishingsfrancecourtdordognemadametenniscoastlawnjune
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Today. Brilliant. The grounds are beautiful. The building is charming. The meal was delicious. The service was attentive and courteous. 5 ladies with differing tastes, from the set menu, incredibly good value, to the à la carte with foie gras and langoustines. The wines matched the meals. Can't praise this place enough. Nothing was too much trouble. So under-rated. It is a perfect place for an extra special occasion or for a little treat. As high a recommendation as I can make. Have to admit I'm loathe to write a review because I'm not sure I want too many people to find out about it - it's not set in a well known spot and can't be seen from the road. Love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This is our fourth visit to this elegant chateau set in pleasant parkland, complete with swimming pool and tennis court. The receptionist was friendly and very welcoming (and happy to tactfully correct my faulty French); and all of the staff were equally amiable and helpful. The room was reasonably spacious with wooden floors, antique furniture and traditional decor, which was in keeping with the old building. The bed was comfortable, with good quality linen. The bathroom was clean with pleasant toiletries. The room looked out over the vast grounds and over the restaurant terrace below. My only criticism is that smokers on the terrace filled our room with their smoke, which was unfortunate, as it meant that we had to close the window. Not sure what could be done about that.
The restaurant is first class and on a par with Michelin starred venues. We were fortunate enough to be able to eat on the terrace for all three dinners whilst we were there. Blankets are provided when there is a nip in the air. Service is efficient and friendly. The two menus offer an excellent range of seafood and meat dishes, with amuse-bouches and sweet accompaniments to the coffee. The standard of cuisine, flair and originality of food pairings and presentation were all superb. I was rather nonplussed, however, to learn that the menu given to the female diners contains no prices; this was annoying as I was the one who was paying....I guess this indicates that some people come here for an old fashioned romantic dinner in a beautiful setting.
Breakfast buffet included a range of artisan breads and viennoiserie, eggs cooked to order and very good coffee.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed here for just one night and did Not have an evening meal so cannot comment on this aspect. The chateau is in a lovely setting with beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. It appeared to have a very nice outdoor pool but again we did not use. The staff were very helpful and friendly, we were even provided with some lunch despite the kitchen being closed due to our late arrival. The female receptionist was particularly helpful and could not do enough. Our room was large and comfortable with a large bathroom, shower over the bath which could do with a little modernising. Breakfast was as expected, good continental. Nothing really wrong with our stay at all and would return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We loved this place. If it’s nightlife and an active urban scene you are looking for, this is not the place. This is a chateau built in the 16th century that has been adapted as a modern day hotel to the extent possible. No elevator, which wasn’t a problem --- and no air conditioning, but it absolutely was not needed. In mid-July we were sleeping with the windows open (our choice) under and extra blanket. It was great. Our particular room (#18) overlooked the expansive “park” where a small herd of goats grazed during the day. And at night, whether on the terrace or out the widow, the stars were more prevalent than any place we have stayed for a long time. There truly was a “sound of silence”, broken only by birds and the wind through the trees. The grounds were spacious and allowed for pleasant strolling past ponds and over mown paths --- and for those so inclined, there is a well-kept pool and tennis court.

The room was not spectacular (although very comfy and satisfying), and the shower left just a little to be desired --- but more than what we expected from a listed historic property from the 1500’s (and one that is graded 3-stars by the difficult to understand French rating system). Moreover, the owner, front desk manager and the rest of the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful --- and, even more notable, was the hotel’s restaurant. Michelin rated (worthy of a star if it doesn’t have one), the dinner we had one night was outstanding. It started with Peach Kir aperitif outside on the terrace accompanied by an amuse bouche of foie gras brulee and a crab mousse --- and continued on into the dining room (a little too cool for the outside) with a starter of salmon tartare, following by a main of locally sourced fish for me and regional duck for my wife, both accompanied by perfectly prepared sauces, vegetables and greens. The dinner ended with deserts that could only be called well-constructed and proportioned decadence. And for those who enjoy wine (as we do), the list very approachable in terms of size, and quite varied in terms of varieties and prices.

If you are reading this review, then you are possible looking for a base from which to explore the Vendee region including the ile de Noirmoutier (about a 40 minute drive away). For us, Chateau de la Verie served as an excellent base and one we could whole-heartedly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Stayed two nights here in July. Delightful lady on reception - lovely welcome. Good pool outside for a quick swim. Second floor bedroom (no lift). Very comfortable. TV - very limited programmes. Free wifi. Good bathroom. Clean. Delightful view over extensive grounds. Treated ourselves to an evening meal - cheapest 'menu' at 35 euros each, but glad we did it. Turned out to have two amuse bouches first, then delicious and beautifully presented starters. We had duck as a main course - definitely very pink and normally love pink duck and steak but this was excessively rare..., then simply divine desert creations. Cheese (extra cost) coffee and wine. A real treat with very friendly but professional service. Dutch girl looked after us well - and the young man. Felt great to be in such aristocratic surroundings.

Room Tip: Our second floor room - good. I'm sure the first floor rooms are bigger and prob more elegant.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews