We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Marais(Challans)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Marche(Beauvoir-Sur-Mer)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Top Vacances(Challans)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
108
77
27
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
77
27
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are spaciousfourth visitlong drivewell worth a visitowners and staffquiet locationchateauregionfurnishingsfrancecourtdordognetenniscoastlawnherd
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed in early September 2017 and a number of improvements have been made since our last visit. One thing cannot be improved upon - the staff led by Nienke, who has a great command of the English language. The rooms are spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable. The grounds are extensive and there is a nice outdoor swimming pool and tennis court. The food we had was superb and there is always a good choice. It is on the outskirts of the delightful town of Challans and the coast with its lovely sandy beaches is only a short drive away. If you need a rest after a long drive, it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views over the surrounding countryside and are graded appropriately.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateaudelaVerie, Responsable réception at Chateau de la Verie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Good morning and many thanks for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
It is true we are in the middle of nature even if the seashore is just at 20 minutes from the castle.
See you next time with pleasure.
Best regards.
Solène

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Our fourth visit on our motorbike to this perfectly located wonderfully authentic chateau.
The floor boards creak, the sheep graze on the lawn, it's shabby in the nicest possible way.
The service is perfect, the food exquisite, the rooms quite and comfortable. We arrived in time for Sunday lunch, which was delicious.
It is in my view very good value, and the ideal stop over if you are traveling north or south down the western side of France as we sometimes do.
Its the first place in France that we put straight into our route plan for our journey! Praise indeed . .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HPNer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateaudelaVerie, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Verie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review!!
it was good to have you as our guests again.
See you next time
Kind regards,
Nienke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to Chateau Verie in the past 9 months. We needed to come back to confirm just how good it really was. We were greeted by Madame who showed us to our room in the east wing overlooking the pool, tennis court & gardens. The room was tastefully decorated & furnished in period style with a stunning impact. A 6ft bed, chaise- longue & applicable furnishings. Large ensuite with bath/shower & best of all good mirrors to shave in.
The restaurant, in period style, was spaciously laid out, the food just wonderful & a good selection of wines. So good we booked Sunday lunch the next day.
I can truthfully say our stay was again as good as before. The owners & staff were always friendly, with a good sense of humour. No language barriers is a bonus. What is there not to like.
We will certainly recommend & return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateaudelaVerie, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Verie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Mister and madame Cruse and friend
Thank you so much for your excellent review on the hotel and its restaurant.
It was very nice to have you as our guests.
I hope to welcome you next time.
Kind regards NIenke Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Yet another fabulous meal in this quaint and very French restaurant. We have eaten here a number of times and have never been disappointed. The staff are courteous, highly professional and efficient. The food is superb, always delicious and so cleverly presented. The whole experience is just perfect, worth every cent; we will be returning.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank chrisndi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateaudelaVerie, Responsable réception at Chateau de la Verie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Thank you so much! We always welcome you with pleasure. See you soon. Solène

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We had a lovely stay, a warm welcome, the room was exactly as seen on the website and the whole experience fantastic. We were only travelling through so only had one night but would highly recommend as a 'Chateau' stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews