We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shakshuka and peanut chicken!”
Review of 4000 Island Bar

4000 Island Bar
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Don Det
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Lao owned and run by Nisa and her expat husband Sel. We served a wide variety of cuisine including some of the best indian and western food on the island. Browse through our music database or cue some songs on your own device. We like to serve up good times with plenty of cold Beerlao, domestic and international spirits. Riverside view just 10 meters from the beach landing of Don Det. We speak fluent English and can guide you with any query. If music is catching your ears on Don Det, there's a good chance it's the 4000 Island Bar. We want you to enjoy your stay in Southern Laos.
Reviewed 24 January 2020

I would definitely recommend trying here for breakfast or dinner, or both!
The shakshuka and the peanut chicken dishes are both great! Pumpkin burger is also not bad, just a bit sloppy!
Decent fruit shakes too!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2019 via mobile

We loved the deep fried spring rolls with the sweet chili sauce. I also ordered a dish called “the disaster” which was basically French fries + beans + onion, it was below average, and heated by microwave. Naan bread with butter had nothing to do with naan!
For travel tips on different destinations, check out my travel blog for budget travelers on the bio page of my Instagram account @rashport

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank rashport
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Lovely relaxed place by day, where you can chill, read, watch river life or play pool. By night it’s a great bar, with great food and great music. Even if travelling alone, I defy you not to meet people and have a good time.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank Clairejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 November 2019 via mobile

Went here for a breakfast. Friendly service, decent price and good food. Coffee could be better, but would go back. The shakshuka eggs were delicious.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank steverichhudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

Some lovely food, spicy but the next night I asked for less spice and it was perfect. Great local dishes on offer, very reasonable prices for food and drink.
Lovely vibe.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank JudyOswestryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed 4000 Island Bar also viewed

 
Don Det, Champasak Province
 

Been to 4000 Island Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.