We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mekong Dream
Nearby Hotels
The Last Resort(Don Det)(Great Value!)
US$5
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$11
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$16
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Little Eden(Don Det)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
17
7
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
7
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared balconydon khonhis wifebridgefrenchhammocksguesthouseownerwifi
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 29 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

After spending 2 nights in the centre of Don Det in awful rooms we decided to check out the rooms at the southside of the island.

The Mekong Dream is the dream! The family is extremely friendly and help you with everything. The shared balcony on the first floor with amazing hammocks is really inviting! They also have some animals that are really friendly and like to hang out with you!

We had a large room with a decent bathroom (hot shower!) and view of the Mekong!

You can arrange everything from bicycles to bus transport!

The old french bridge is also a great place for sunset watching! And you are also very close to Don Khon.

10/10 would recommend!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

After a tip-off from fellow travellers we searched out Mekong Dream as soon as we arrived on Dondet. Far away from the party crowd on the north of the island Mekong Dream provides a friendly, almost homestay experience.
The proprietor is laid back, generous and very friendly. Honestly? We couldn't have wished for a better stay!

Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Crispin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Mekong dream is a really cozy place located on the South side of Don Det right next to the bridge to Don Khon on the river side. You have a lot of hammocks, good pancakes and a nice owner. Only the Wifi is unstable, but you aren't on Don Det to check out cat videos ;)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Mr. Hongs Guesthouse for 2 nights. We were lucky to get room number 4 wich is the biggest one. The guesthouse is very pretty and a lot of love went into furniture and decoration. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the bed is very comfortable. The terrace is true amazing with the most beautiful views. However the highlight is Mr. Hong and his family. They are very welcoming and friendly. As soon as you sit in the restaurant you become part of the family. His wife makes the most amazing Hot Pot for dinner. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank paplmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

The room we had was not as clean as we expected it, the light buld did not work, the bathroom was tiny and was about to fall apart and we had lots of insects in our room. The door did not close well and there were some cracks in the door. Nevertheless we had an awesome stay at Mekong Dream. The hammocks invite to relax for hours with river view, the owner family is really nice and helpful and the food and drinks are also very good (try the massive bowl of rice soup or noodle soup for breakfast and the lau lao with honey and lemon in the evening).

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon0nTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews