We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
158
151
63
20
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
151
63
20
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater meadowsthe riverthe publovely locationtop floorbeer gardenlow beamsbeautiful old buildingnarrow stairslovely walkidyllic settingtoiletries providedthird floorsalisbury cathedralminute walkunder new managementeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We arrived on a really busy Bank holiday Saturday so unfortunately there was no where to park the car so we had to abandon it up the road. We did have a very early start at 4.30am so finding no where to park after completing a Sky Dive down the road wasn't great. A nice greeting welcome though and they did offer to take our bags. We did have a deluxe double, not sure what was deluxe about it really?? The was a massive hole in the wall and no plaster, it was really small and the shower was broken, so you had to hold the shower to have one!!! Great location to walk into the city. If you wanted a quiet pub then do not choose here. The room was very hot so opened the window. The locals weren't very pleasant with their language coming from the front and obviously you had the natural noise from the stream (which wasn't a problem). They weren't flexible at breakfast and it seemed a big problem to order a cappuccino and latte event though we said we would pay. Breakfast did have a bowl of fruit, one cereal to choose from, and a menu to choose from. We both ordered poached eggs, more like hard boiled. The best thing was the brown bread! When paying the bill extra money of food we didn't have was added. They stated they couldn't credit it back as none know the code to do so! They wouldn't pay cash either.....said would refund back on card later!!! We are still waiting 10 days later! It's not good enough

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay.
I sincerely apologise that the bathroom wall had been damaged prior to your visit! We have this repair imminently booked in and I will ensure the issue with the shower is picked up and rectified quickly so that this doesn't impact another guests stay.

I'm glad you were greeted nicely on entering the hotel!
I have left you a private message to try and resolve some the other points raised within your review. I cannot see how firstly, the admin error had not been rectified prior to you leaving us, but more so, how this has been left unresolved for you.

Your review does not reflect the standards of what we expect to deliver to our guests.

John Hume operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Have just stayed for 3 nights. We stayed in room 3 which was interesting to say the least. The room was a little tired and the plasterwork in the bathroom needed some serious attention. Wondered about the coffee pods as they need a machine? Room 3 is above the bar and extremely noisy, if you want to know other people's drinking habits and who is fed up at work this may be for you.
Perhaps the major dissapoitment was the lovely view there isn't one from this room. You can see the flat roof of the bar and the roof of the garden bar and sun umbrellas.
The staff were all very pleasent if a little scatty.
The setting is lovely and it's position near Salisbury is excellent so with a little more attention to detail our score would be higher.

Room Tip: Room 3 is above the bar so noisy and no view.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Pamela B,

Thanks for the review!
It's great to hear the staff were very pleasant throughout the duration of your three day stay with us.
My apologies with regards to your bathroom paintwork. We have a rolling plan which has already begun to give the bathrooms which required it, the touch up, to bring them up to the standard we expect.
We're sorry you never got the view most of our rooms present. Our bedrooms are divided over three floors in the newer (15th Century) building, located above the pub. We are always happy to work with our guests to make sure they have the room they would prefer, though it's much easier to achieve this when the guest books direct with us, rather than through a third party site.
We're an extremely popular venue, especially when the sun shines. If you wished to return, I would recommend a room on the second or third floor which should help to alleviate any noise issues you experienced this time.

Best Regards,
John and the team at the Old Mill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Fantastic stay at The Old Mill, the manager his wife and son along with the staff were all very helpful.

The food and rooms were excellent.

The location is perfect for seeing all that the area has to offer and just a short distance to Stonehenge.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jules_kix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Jules_kix,

Thanks for the review.
I'm glad the team were all very helpful throughout your stay.
It's great to hear the Old Mill was the location for you and you enjoyed the accommodation and food so much,

We hope you choose us again should you return to Salisbury,

John & the team at the Old Mill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Our problem on arrival was parking in the very small and crowded car park.

The room that we were allocated was on the third floor but was perfectly adequate.

With the lovely weather, we were able to sit outside for drinks and an evening meal by the river.

It was very hot overnight but a fan had been provided.

The one real negative was breakfast. Much DIY was involved and our cooked breakfast took in excess of 30 minutes to arrive.

Once found, the location is exceptional.

PS Watch out for the low beams and doorways!

Room Tip: A lower floor
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Gavin,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Old Mill.
I'm glad to hear your room was well equipped for this lovely weather we've been experiencing, and this meant you were able to enjoy our riverside garden too.
We are always looking for ways to improve our offer, so we will review the recent changes to the Breakfast buffet offer again, although we do not expect anyone to wait so long for their cooked option. I'll pass this feedback onto our newly appointed Head Chef, I'm certain he will ensure this one of blip, stays that way!

We hope you choose us again if you return to Salisbury,

John & The team at the Old Mill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Theold mill is indeed situated in a very charming location, close to the water. The city is only a 15 minute walk away. It is an historic building, so the comfort is not always up to todays standards, but it is charming. Very friendly staff and good cooked breakfast. Very quit location, you can just hear the water going underneath the mill building.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if you like the sound of the waters
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dany T,

We are glad you found the Old Mill to be charming, with friendly staff.
It's great to hear the breakfast was served to your liking.
We love the 'natural water feature' where the river Nadder runs through our restaurant prior to turning into the Avon just in front of the pub,

We hope you choose the Old Mill again for a future stay,


The team at the Old Mill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews