We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing view and hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Viagrande, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jlspma
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing view and hosts!”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I spent my Easter holidays in this house, from the 8th-21st April. First off, the location is spectacular - among the vineyards, on a hill overlooking the fabulous Mount Etna. The owners, a lovely local couple, were very welcoming and warm, and available for any request/issue. The lady even offered us a complimentary homemade chocolate cake - which was delicious. On our first few days there we chilled in the swimming pool, overlooking Mount Etna, and the amazing gardens surrounding the house. The house has its own terrace overlooking the vineyards,and it is located very near to Viagrande city centre, with supermarkets and plenty of options for pizzerias. Hiring a car is recommended as taxis are expensive in Sicily and the main attractions - Mount Etna, and the surrounding cities, are not within walking or cycling distance. We would absolutely recommend this house to anyone and we would definitely like to return as soon as possible. Thank you to Gae and Michele.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hank610
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nicely situated with view on the Etna. Wifi poor. Lack of heating and warm water.”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Owner speaks only Italian, his son who we saw only on arrival can speak a little English.
Furnitured with old benches.
Wifi is hardly working.
The heating and warm water facilities run only from 19.00 till 20.00 hours. When we asked the son if the heating could go on, he replied that it was not cold. On the operation panel there is a paper which says do not touch. If you remove it and try the panel yourself it is possible to get some heating in the rooms on chilly evenings and some warm water for a shower, but in my opinion this should be included in the normal rental agreement.

눇Nicely situated with view on the Etna.
Nice garden, however also inhabited by a snake of half a meter which made it less relaxing to sit in the garden.
Swimming pool available, but you have to remove the dead insects yourself.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the garden
Liked least: Wifi is hardly working. Heating and warm water supply is poorly provided by the owner.
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
We were really amazed by the contents and the general tone of this review.This because, for many years, except in one case, our holiday home was always praised by our guests. We love to take care of them, and we usually do everything to make them feel at ease and let them spend a pleasant holiday.
For this reason, we appreciate any reports that enable us to further improve the hospitality.
However, we think this review is full of inaccuracies and written for the only purpose of discredit our structure.
First of all when guests have asked us to have the heaters turned on, they were immediatly satisfied. If, as they actually said, they had not tampered with the boiler touching a dial where there was clearly written they would not touch, they would have had active heating, and of course hot water available 24 hours a day.
We wonder for what strange reason guests did not report to us the malfunctions as they had been told clearly that if they were not yet satisfied of the temperature they could easily notify us, given that we live into the next house. And what is more, the second day of their stay they told us that everything was good. In fact, only after their leaving we found that the boiler had gone in stall.
As for the swimming pool, our holiday home is located in the Sicilian countryside, for this reason you can find a few bugs in the pool although it is cleaned every day.
The presence of snakes in the grass there has never been reported. But finding us in the country we can not exclude that customers have spotted a small harmless grass snake (very rare, and really harmless).
We fly over on the "old benches", and specify that it is a rustic country house and all the fornitures of the house are visible in the photos on the website that customers use to make the reservation.
Taking everything into account, we are still sorry if customers are not happy and that there has been some misunderstanding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruw F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful views- very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband had booked us to stay here and I hadn't seen any reviews or pictures. It was such a nice surprise. The place is lovely. Gorgeous views of Mount Etna and surrounding countryside, vine yards, cacti and trees. The house is very spacious and could easily sleep 6 (if not more) . As soon as I got there I was planning my return with more people. the place is very good value for money and has bucket loads of character.

The family were amazing and incredibly helpful. In knowing we had no transport Maria and Claudio came and picked us up from the bus station. They made suggestions on where to eat , good places to shop as well as get souvenirs, also suggested good places to go and see. They went out of their way by sorting us out with bikes for the two days we were there.

Cannot thank all the family enough for making our stay so special. Now we just need to figure out when we are coming back!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: no air con or fan
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janetf57
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Immaculate, peaceful hidden gem”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Located within reasonable driving distance to etna and the coast this beautiful bungalow/cottage is immaculate and comfortable. The terrace and garden with views of etna are stunning. Beds are very comfortable and the hosts welcoming and warm, whilst in the grounds of their vineyard you are very much left to your privacy. Would highly recommend if you want to come to etna. We played snowballs on Etna in 30 degrees sunshine! Great for self catering, we found it challenging to easily find somewhere to eat on a Monday evening...large supermarket within ten minutes drive. Tea, herbs olive oil and a welcoming bottle of wine available on our arrival..plus milk in fridge..very caring

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and beauty of the garden
Liked least: The neighbourhood
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you for your feedback and for the accurate description of the holiday House. It was a pleasure to meet you. We are glad that you enjoyed our services. We wish to welcome you soon!
Gae and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elix7
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Etna Views!”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a very pleasant stay here in April. The front terrace IS as idyllic as it looks in the pictures. Although we didn't require any help, the owners gave us a phone number and kept in contact through email in case we needed anything. They were very welcoming - even leaving a bottle of homemade wine and a delicious orange cake for the stay!

The house is well-equipped. They have an drip-style coffee maker as well as a moka and an electric kettle. We used the kitchen a few times over the course of the week and the washing machine as well. It was a bit too cold for the pool when we visited, but I imagine it's wonderful during summer.

The drawbacks are the same as I have found anywhere else in rural Sicily, but I should at least mention them. There is a gate you must lock/unlock when you leave. There were a lot of dogs barking at night. (I didn't mind the dogs because I had ear plugs. I'll also say that the few times I saw dogs on the road at night, they were not at all aggressive or unfriendly.) There is also a very active bird population by the house. Until this trip, I didn't realize how much cuckoo birds actually sound like cuckoo clocks!

This is a great house for relaxing or seeing east Sicily. In the immediate area, there are Etna towns, Catania, and the Riviera dei Ciclopi. Within an hour, you can visit Taormina and Siracusa. Sicilian food and wine are excellent, and Viagrande is just far away enough for the biggest tourist centers than you can avoid other tourists if that's your thing. :)

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.