We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,042 results
Traveller rating
480
311
137
56
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
480
311
137
56
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mash and barrel on site swimming pool papa johns prestige caravan holiday park live lounge central heating mini golf entertainment team my son entertainment complex great caravan brilliant holiday lovely site sea view boat trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,042 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Our holiday experience at Quay West has unfortunately put us off ever booking a Haven site again. Whilst our caravan was very spacious and clean, the experience as a paying customer leaves a lot to be desired and staff attitudes are quite frankly unhelpful and unprofessional.

Kids park - the main piece of equipment on here is cordoned off as it is damaged - should really be repaired /replaced in the height of season. At night it is populated by noisy and arrogant teenagers who clearly have nothing better to do.

Lighting - the lighting around the park when it gets dark is terrible and dangerous as you can’t see 5ft in front of your eyes.

Booking activities - before we started our I had contacted Haven as I was unable to book anything. I was assured that it was either full or could be done on site. This is far from the case. Aerial adventure we only saw open on a Saturday (was fully booked on the app and also pretty pointless if you’re staying sat-sat). The live lounge booking process is horrendous - there’s no other word for it. You can book 1 slot before you go then they expect you to go to the live lounge and queue every morning at 9am to book in for that day. We tried (and large parties in front of my husband in the queue booking 10+ people meant that we were told it was full) don’t get me wrong, it’s fine if you don’t mind queuing EVERY morning for your holiday but guess what, some people have other plans in the day and can’t do this!! At least 2 sessions should be able to be booked before your stay for fairness. It’s a terrible system.

The Mash and barrel was closed for 3 days of our stay. Whilst I appreciate these things can happen especially during Covid there was no prior warning of this either before we got there or upon check in. This results in there being nowhere to sit and eat or have a drink. One member of staff suggested the pub (Cambrian) just outside the park but if that’s your only choice it’s poor service from Haven.

The staff mingling in the arcades and walking through by the small bowling alley /pool table area were regularly arguing and paying customers were subject to unprofessional behaviour.

Food outside of park - there are so many beautiful restaurants down in New Quay but this is about a 20 min walk. Blue bell, Rossini, pepperpot cafe, we’re ones we really enjoyed.

Beach - is lovely - though the walk is long and steep. You can walk to New Quay that way but don’t be caught out by the tide!!

Bins - both recycling and rubbish bins were overflowing every day - clearly as a result of people having to drink in their caravans.

Aberystwyth is about a 45 min drive for a nice walk out. Royal pier fish and chips there are out of this world!!

In summary it’s less a holiday park, in some areas feels more like a retirement park which is quite mismatched.

We enjoyed our holiday but this was down to us and NOT the holiday park.

Room tip: Not your typical Haven site. Put us off Haven sites altogether.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank finnersandellsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

Very quiet site
Wales is not Cornwall don’t think for one minute it will be the same experience! It won’t be !!!
Kids and teens very board
EVERYTHING is book in advance
Accommodation as paid for clean tidy and beautiful view we were lucky with that
Staff we have spoken to are polite and helpful
Beach is a massive long steep slippy slope away only one way down and a long way up !
Don’t get cut off with the tide ! Walk to New Quay is great on the beach just make sure you can get back ! Watch the tides Even steeper climb up multiple steps , slopes . Wooded paths to get back to haven site from New Quay if you miss the tides !
Must mention take away Lime Crab fish and chips in New Quay amazing quality chips and flat white sat on harbour wall saved the day !

Also super Nisa shop 10 minutes down the road towards Aber from haven Pizza order by phone and great quality service and price don’t pay on site prices quality and service better off site .

Haven using Covid as excuse for overcharging with limited to no activities .
If you are used to larger sites with active teens and kids don’t go to Quay West it’s too quiet appears majority owner occupied more like a retirement park site than a holiday park

Perrin sands we will be back in a flash xxx

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed for a week at Quay West in an owner's caravan. We arrived and attempted to book swimming and other activities but were told everything was fully booked all week! The receptionists were not exactly friendly or helpful. I get covid restrictions but Wales restrictions ended the day we arrived. We asked if we had to pay full price for the entertainment/activities passes despite everything being fully booked. We did manage to book the evening entertainment only because we contacted Haven head office directly. The reception at Quay West told us we couldn't as we were in an owner's caravan!! They said we had to pay full price despite nothing being available!! This was 2×£48 per adult and 2× £28 per child just to watch evening entertainment once which was apparently all we were meant to book ,even though we did book more!!

Most of the staff around the site were friendly and helpful but I found the receptionists very aloof and rude. Haven should be telling people before they arrive that no activities are available and reflecting this in the price of the holidays and passes. Also the entire time we were there the Mash&Barrel was closed due to staff isolating. This is unfortunate and maybe out of their hands. I do feel however that Haven and some of the staff find it easier to have restrictions in place even though there is no need for most of them at the moment under the current rules in Wales. The whole time we were there the aerial adventure course was closed. Even some of the playground was cordoned off as the equipment needed fixing!

All of this didn't ruin our holiday too much as our children are 11 and 15 so we spent days out at the beach and ate out but for families with younger children I think it must be more difficult. Haven should not be relying on security staff and leisure assistants to bear the brunt of customers frustrations at everything be fully booked or inexplicably restricted. The receptionists should deal with this better and also customers should be aware of all these before they commit to paying to stay on this site.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank johnchester75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Spent a week here at the beginning of August. We stayed in a Sea View Platinum 3 bedroom Caravan with Decking (Powys 89). On entering the caravan there was quite a strong wet dog smell in the main room, even though I thought it was supposed to be a pet free caravan. I bought a bottle of air freshener and sprayed the carpets and sofa which seemed to get rid of the smell. I don't know why this wasn't done by the cleaners as the smell was really obvious every time you walked in. Bit of mould on the wall in the shower cubicle and when putting the shower on, a lot of water was coming out the top of the hose rather than the shower head, but was still usable. Wish they'd make the beds a bit longer in the caravans in this day and age. If you're over 5 ft 8 your feet will be hanging over the edge, so my husband struggled to get comfortable and ended up sleeping on the sofa a few nights. Other than that the caravan was spot on, had it's own parking space and a lovely view of the sea. There was access to the beach right in front of our caravan which had been closed off but we saw lots of people just climbing the fence and going that way so that's the route we took as it saved time going the other way. It only needs a bit of repair work at the start and ends of the path so don't know why Haven don't just get it fixed and re open it. Surely they make enough profit to do this. We didn't get to book any of the activities as they were all fully booked super quick. I asked a few weeks prior how we book swim sessions. Was told the slots open at 8am on the Tuesday before our holiday. Was also told I would receive a pre arrival email with all the details we'd need. I never received any such email and I check my emails daily. I went on the app a few minutes before 8 to be ready but no swimming slots showed up. Kept checking for the next couple of hours with no joy so gave up with that. Wasn't fussed about the entertainment as that kind of thing isn't our cup of tea and wasn't fussed about the restaurants as we've eaten at mash and barrel at one of your other sites once and wasn't impressed with the food. We had days out planned for most days so it didn't bother us that we couldn't book any activities on site. We took a pair of binoculars with us and we could actually see dolphins from our caravan, it was an amazing sight to see.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Katman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Stayed here for a week in August, cost a bloody fortune for nothing to be open, restrictions are supposed to be relaxed, but not here, me restaurant open, no swimming pools on a few days, but they don’t let us know, booked for a family meal, only when I asked in the daytime where we were eating they told us sorry it’s closed this week, I wouldn’t recommend here, especially at the prices they charge, ended up coming home 2 days early as there was nothing to do, might as well be in a comfy bed and stay in

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Traffic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews