We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$122
View deal
Expedia.comUS$153
PricelineUS$154
Hotels.comUS$153
Hotel WebsiteUS$136
TravelocityUS$153
ZenHotels.comUS$144
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
225
310
122
36
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
310
122
36
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal nirwana group water sports seafood restaurant private beach ceiling fan short break sea breeze chalet resort bintan waves jellyfish activities shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2022 via mobile

We came here 25 years ago and returned to find the rooms, bathrooms and surroundings very pleasantly upgraded. Staff were very accommodating to our last-minute change in dates (the ferry was full and Klook cancelled my ferry booking without calling me), much appreciated! Despite the last minute change in dates, we could check in early and could get our king size bed.

The room had air con that we could control (vs centrally controlled), and a ceiling fan which we preferred. It must be the design of the chalets, the high ceiling, air insulation at the roof and / or the thatched roofs. The room never felt hot even though we did not turn on the air con. It was not due to the sea breeze, as we kept our front door closed. We were very impressed with the eco-friendly design.

There is internal shuttle service between the resorts under Nirwana group every 30 mins. And 2-way bus transfer from the ferry terminal is included even if you booked through a 3rd party site. However, at our time of visit (end Sept to early Oct 2022), shuttle services to Lagoi Plaza have been stopped. We wanted to see the 500 Lohan temple but this was closed for renovation. I thought of trying the Jetovator but this was also unavailable at Nirwana and Treasure Bay. Bicycles for rental are at about 100,000 RP per hour and they were not to be used beyond Nirwana area. So you really have no choice but to either sign up with the hotel's tours or hire their taxis, which were not cheap. Table tennis was chargable at about 50,000RP for 30 mins.

Nonetheless, we were quite happy to relax and chill within the Nirwana resorts most of the time. No qualms about returning for a quick and short break to enjoy the sea view, sea breeze and beautiful beaches, which were kept pristine due to diligent cleaning by the staff.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank g0_f0r_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

A lovely resort experience. Beachfront chalet was comfortable and had everything we needed. Although all the restaurants were not open, we enjoyed the Spice and Kelong restaurants. My favourite part was the calypso floating bar. Staff really do try to be helpful and serve with a smile.
Be aware of Jellyfish in the sea though. We spotted a a few.

Room tip: Weekend seemed a lot busier than midweek.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NR1482
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 July 2022

We decided to visit after the news of Bintan opening up earlier in the year and it was a great decision.

Keep in mind we visited at the end of March, just a few weeks after Bintan reopened so there was minimal activities available. The spa was closed, only two or three restaurants were open and the activities that were available closed early at around 4pm if I recall.

The process of getting to Bintan remained unchanged, asides from an ART swab on arrival at the time and we were brought to our room to stay until our results were out. However after 3 hours we have no news and called the reception who assisted to chase and follow up with the lab and we finally got our results.

After that point, our trip was really peaceful and relaxing. I think there was no more than 2 other groups on our first day and we had the beach all to ourselves which was amazing.

On our second day we spotted another family and at dinner on the second night there were a handful of other groups at the seafood restaurant too compared to no one else on our first night.

The lack of people didn't bother us as it was very quiet and peaceful.

The food throughout our stay was fantastic, we also ordered room service a number of times and everything we ordered was always super tasty, hearty and quite a large portion. We even ordered room service once in the middle of the night and although it took an hour, the food was fantastic and worth the wait.

During the stay we ate twice at Kelong and visited the Bar twice too, the food and drinks across the board were fantastic, so fresh and delicious despite it being so quiet with few guests.

We do look forward to returning later in the year, hopefully when more parts of the resort are open to so we can enjoy more of the facilities.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackmentos94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 February 2020

This was my second time at Mayang Sari and will definitely be back. Great place to get away from everything for a couple of days or more. The chalets are spacious, well kept and very clean and bed was very comfortable. The beach location and view is awesome. Beach was very clean and water crystal clear.

Staff were very well trained, friendly and service was great!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonneyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NirwanaGardens, Public Relations Manager at Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Dear yvonneyeo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that your time with us was enjoyable and you found our accommodation conveniently located beside the beach. We are truly happy that you enjoyed the beauty of our resort and we hope you give us the pleasure to create more wonderful memories in the near future at Nirwana Gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020 via mobile

We came back to Mayang Sari, a resort we liked a lot 15 years ago! The place, spirit and food have not changed much; the bungalows have been upgraded and are now really spacious and modern inside.
The staff is really kind and did its best to make our stay enjoyable.
It is a pity that the oil spill / tar spoiled the beach especially at high tide, but thanks to the big swimming pool at Nirwana resort we had a great vacation anyway.
The Spa is very nice and the massages are professional, while quite expensive.
One thing to improve is the lobby, which is old fashioned and would deserve to have plants and flowers to feel welcomed.
Overall, our stay reached our expectations.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 299philippem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NirwanaGardens, Public Relations Manager at Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear 299philippem,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our location, food and vibes. We strive to provide an environment of a relaxing getaway, and I am heartened to hear that we have successfully created that positive experience for you. Do stay with us again whenever you come to Bintan, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews