We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
208
251
94
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
251
94
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crystal lagoon man made lagoon electric scooter safari tent hawker centre water activities cable ski outdoor toilet garden tent pull out bed food stalls huge lagoon wake boarding ferry terminal camping experience utv ride a lagoon view room
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

The facilities are new and the lagoon is the stellar attraction. There are plenty of sea sports available such as Kayaking, cable ski.. Etc..

However, the service quality is poor and the place is severely understaffed. We booked a package that includes ATV, a vintage car ride and lagoon cruise but we only managed to complete the lagoon cruise because of the lack of equipment and staff. Furthermore, the counter staff was not the least apologetic (staff Eva) and suggested that it was our fault that our trip was too short. Thus, my advise would be, if you wish to visit the place, you should go there a day in advance to book a slot for the rides ATV or vintage car rides.

Overall I was very disappointed with the service quality and the lack of equipment. My view is that the management should review its booking systems and limit the no. of tourists visiting the place.

Stayed: June 2016
3  Thank Melvin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveGlamping, Manager at The Canopi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Melvin Y,

Thank you for taking the time to post and giving us feedback. Rest assured that I have taken your comments serious and followed them up. We had indeed challenges with the high demand we have been experiencing and some of the equipment breaking down. We are currently reviewing our systems and maintenance schedules to ensure we are better equipped to handle high demands. I have also spoken to our associate and a re-training has been conducted.

Please accept my apologies for falling short and not meeting expectations. I hope that you give us another chance and return so we can proof to you that what you experienced was an exception and not our normal standard.

With sunny regards from Bintan

Agi Arisetyawan
Canopi Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Staff are friendly and they provide decent services. It's a girls trip and we stayed 2 nights there. It is a great experience. The lagoon is very beautiful. We ordered BBQ dinner for the first night. The food was great and it was an interesting experience for us.

Room Tip: Get the lagoon view rooms!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveGlamping, Manager at The Canopi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Joyce L,

I am delighted to read that you had great time in Canopi and thank you for the post. I am glad that we have been able to deliver a great experience and looking forward you back very soon.

With sunny regards from Bintan

Agi Arisetyawan
Canopi Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Our return visit to Canopi (with friends) after last year when we came right after its opening...is mixed.

The same - tents/check in/warm smiles. Still no bedroom slippers, still no laundry line, nor mini fridge.

The improved - they have whatsapp to contact reception/concierge services for transport/help. Very pleased to see they took the feedback and made it happen. Response was usually within the 10mins too. So it's great.

The things to work at -
1. We were there on a weekday and friends wanted to try the jungle ATV, waited an hour and still didn't get it. Gave up and left.
2. Food at bora bar seems to have deteriorated. Previously the local fare and pasta was above average by bintan standards. Yet this time it's just passable, so for the same price, it's probably overpriced.
3. Drinks availability limited as we understand their alcohol supplies ran out...
4. Still no desserts /ice cream on menu!

Swimming at the lagoon is still the main draw, and glad they worked to keep it clean. Wakeboarding was still a lot of fun too.

There seems to be some insects that may have bitten my son at night as he woke up with angry swollen ear and bite on his face. Not exactly sure as I didn't see any. So repellent up even when u go to bed. Probably good idea to use the mosquito sheets for the kids in the bed.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank sgmummyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveGlamping, Manager at The Canopi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Sgmummyof2,

Thank you for your review and for the comparison – opening a resort is indeed a working progress and not all moves as fast as we would like it to. Some of your suggestions we are in the process of addressing, the mini fridge is one of them. I am pleased to let you know that our new Chef has just started and that I am certain the food will have improved upon your next return. Your comment on our associates is highly appriciates, our team doing their very best to be the perfect hosts and excel.
Thank you for visiting and we looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

With sunny regards from Bintan

Agi Arisetyawan
Canopi Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed the novelty of staying in a safari tent and being almost 10 steps only to the crystal blue lagoon. There are ample beach chairs and floats for guests' use. Everything is rather new and mostly clean.

We were lucky we had good weather throughout most of our stay. There is no shelter from tent to anywhere. On the last morning, there was a heavy downpour, we had our breakfast already and could laze in the tent, but saw some families trapped at lobby area till the rain stopped. Using the open air toilet during rain is a challenge too.

We find the activity center far from the tents. However, you can ask for a buggy from the lobby. The activities such as UTV, ATV are reasonably priced but do book hours ahead. Be prepared to get muddy in the UTVs as you will drive on mud tracks.

Water sport center is interesting but you need a good level of water confidence and energy to enjoy it. Some parts of the giant float looked damaged (handles dropped off). As some had pointed out, the gaps in between parts of the float are a hazard. We got some cuts from climbing up and down, but it was still fun.

Food at the only In-house restaurant is reasonable but limited in choice. We went out to the hawker center nearby for a lunch and had a massage in D'Bintan Spa. Also bought delicious kueh lapis in the area. For dinner, we went to a Kelong but food was not good standard. We enjoyed the speedboat ride and the watching and catching fireflies in the mangrove on the boat.

The resort is not crowded although it was full during our stay. We were told that more tents will be added and more activities planned.

Bring mosquito repellent for nights, and sunblocks for days. There are flies in the restaurant but I guess that is unavoidable.

We added extra beds but for the first night was told they ran out of blankets! And if you look closely, the extra bed is really a beach chair in disguise.

In conclusion, we find The Canopi more suitable for families with older kids who can truly enjoy the outdoor activities.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank katongmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveGlamping, Manager at The Canopi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Katongmum,

Thank you for taking the time to post and giving us detailed feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed during your stay with our resort overall. I have taken note of your comment on the extra bed and will follow up as to what went wrong as we have proper beds available. My apologies for the shortfall.
Again, thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again soon.

With sunny regards from Bintan

Agi Arisetyawan
Canopi Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

First time visited Canopy on 1/6/16. Had a 1 nite stay,awesome experience. Staffs are indeed friendly n helpful. Activities are fun n relax. Beautiful beach with clear blue water,resorts are not over packed so waiting time for activities is not long. Except breakfast choice is not much but still acceptable. Will see you guys again in Aug.
Well done! Canopies....

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Winnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveGlamping, Manager at The Canopi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Winnie K,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and giving us feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our resort overall.
And of course see you in August.

With sunny regards from Bintan

Agi Arisetyawan
Canopi Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews