We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with unparalled Crystal Lagoon”
Review of The Canopi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Canopi
Reviewed 29 April 2017

The massive man-made Crystal Lagoon is seriously impressive and gives The Canopi an edge above its competitors. Seriously wow and breathtaking! Service was excellent, with buggy drivers bringing us to fro.

Room was beautiful and comfortable. Interesting concept with the toilets being outdoors. But we did not spend much time in the room as there are plenty of fun water and land activities to try out. On the pricier side but it's Bintan after all.

Good seafood restaurant though the main restaurant was less than stellar (overcooked steaks). But they do serve an excellent breakfast with huge variety. We were celebrating a friend's birthday and were given a complimentary cake, which really made everyone happy.

Had a lot of fun even though it was just a 2D1N stay. Perfect and peaceful retreat as it wasn't crowded during my visit too.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twiinklex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017

The accommodation was good, staff was very friendly. Unfortunately TV channels reception was very bad. The water pot lid outside the tent was in bad shape having a lot of mold under the lid and falling apart, will suggest them to change to a plastic or rubber type. Overall, we enjoy the stay, will come back again sometimes. But this round must bring sun block lotion, the outdoor is very hot surely will get sun burn without it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevenwJ2000WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The accommodation is fantastic, great set up, unfortunately a few things were lacking (tv didn't work, fridge wasn't cold, no hot water on the last day). Most of the activities you had to pay extra for which we knew before arriving but it would have been good to have been able to buy a package deal or get a couple free or discounted with our accommodation. One of the days we were there was a Sunday and as the activities are open to the public it was very busy and I could not even get a beach chair. I was also harassed by some of the local young men which the staff tried to help with by moving them on but it made it very uncomfortable.
The cafe food was nice but it is a very limited menu, so if you have children it made it very hard to find food for him. The service was also very inconsistent as one day we could get him a milkshake (which wasn't on the menu) and the next day the staff had no idea what I was asking for. They have a hawker area but it wasn't open the whole time we were there. It was also very hot and the glare off all the water wasn't pleasant. The staff as a general rule were nice enough but could not understand most of what we asked for (in writing or in person).
We liked it, but there were too many downfalls so would not go back unfortunately. Hopefully they can fix some of these problems as the tents, activities and the bbq dinner were fantastic.

Room Tip: Lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

The Canopi was really hot with no wind. If you are a sea lover... this is not a place for u. It has nothing else to offer except for the big lagoon with the different types of activities that is chargeable. No shady trees... hence you can forget about stepping out of the canopi between 11:00am -5:30pm. We brought our parents there on a Good Friday, and the whole trip was ruined.

We booked a total of 6 rooms and stayed there for 3 days 2 nights. On our check out day, we requested to have a late checkout for JUST 1 room and had explained to the front desk that I needed the room to do dialysis for my mum before we leave. But without any hesitation and consideration I was rejected and was told that they can't give us a late check out because they were fully booked and had to clear the rooms for the next guest. IT WAS A SUNDAY AND THEY ARE FULLY BOOKED! WHO ARE THEY TRYING TO FOOL!

Its disappointing to also realized that when one of our friend went to ask for one night extension, she was told that the rooms are available! Can the management explain! SUPER BAD EXPERIENCE!

Its definitely NOT a place for old folks or family with old folks. If you are thinking of bringing your parents there as a family weekend getaway, FORGET about this place.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with west sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank JuJu2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

My friends & I visiting Canopi for 2N over the weekends. Its located a short 5mins ride from the ferry terminal, pick up & check in was smooth, however rooms are only available after 3pm.

So we checked out the area & took the hotel free buggy to treasure bay for the hawker stalls lunch which are only opened during weekends lunch time till 5pm only and you get local decent food & ramlee burger within 40K. Theres also a mini mart selling groceries, spa & massage place, seafood grill & bar, warehouse shop that sells branded clothing. We tried the massage & its cheaper than canopi however the massage bed and shower are not up to standard, give it 3/5. We found the mini mart & warehouse shop great as we found it useful & bought stuff.

The canopi room was great.. unique concept, choice of furniture and bed was comfy. Bathroom was outdoor, however be expected to see earthworms, lizards etc. Water pressure was good and we really liked our stay. 1 thing to note is to bring insect repellent we got bitten by mosquitos. 1 thing to improve is towel looks old & grey & floor has stains.
Bfst spread was alright has sufficient options to be u full. Ala-carte menu was avg we had the pizza & pasta but its pricey at 150 to 180k. They also served dinner bbq at 400k which we found too pricey so we gave it a missed.

The highlight of the trip was the crystal lagoon, amazing filtered seawater that is so clean..we soaked in it everyday..and watched people play water activities..lots to choose from.if you r adventurous..

Would definately return again and recommend to friends.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank brenda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
2.9 km away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,650 reviews
2.5 km away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,622 reviews
3.2 km away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
185 reviews
37.2 km away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
596 reviews
3.4 km away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canopi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canopi

Address: Jl. Raya Haji Km 1, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lagoi
Price Range: $150 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Canopi 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the World of Glamping - Glamorous Camping. Nestled between a lush mangrove forest at the backyard and a mega Crystal Lagoon at the doorstep ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Canopi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canopi Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing