We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Canopi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Bintan(Bintan Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Bintan(Bintan Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
151
204
82
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
204
82
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal lagoonman made lagoonelectric scooterhawker centresafari tentwater activitiescable skioutdoor toiletgarden tentpull out bedfood stallshuge lagooncamping experienceferry terminalwake boardingbouncy castlepatio bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

The accommodation was good, staff was very friendly. Unfortunately TV channels reception was very bad. The water pot lid outside the tent was in bad shape having a lot of mold under the lid and falling apart, will suggest them to change to a plastic or rubber type. Overall, we enjoy the stay, will come back again sometimes. But this round must bring sun block lotion, the outdoor is very hot surely will get sun burn without it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevenwJ2000WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The accommodation is fantastic, great set up, unfortunately a few things were lacking (tv didn't work, fridge wasn't cold, no hot water on the last day). Most of the activities you had to pay extra for which we knew before arriving but it would have been good to have been able to buy a package deal or get a couple free or discounted with our accommodation. One of the days we were there was a Sunday and as the activities are open to the public it was very busy and I could not even get a beach chair. I was also harassed by some of the local young men which the staff tried to help with by moving them on but it made it very uncomfortable.
The cafe food was nice but it is a very limited menu, so if you have children it made it very hard to find food for him. The service was also very inconsistent as one day we could get him a milkshake (which wasn't on the menu) and the next day the staff had no idea what I was asking for. They have a hawker area but it wasn't open the whole time we were there. It was also very hot and the glare off all the water wasn't pleasant. The staff as a general rule were nice enough but could not understand most of what we asked for (in writing or in person).
We liked it, but there were too many downfalls so would not go back unfortunately. Hopefully they can fix some of these problems as the tents, activities and the bbq dinner were fantastic.

Room Tip: Lagoon view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

The Canopi was really hot with no wind. If you are a sea lover... this is not a place for u. It has nothing else to offer except for the big lagoon with the different types of activities that is chargeable. No shady trees... hence you can forget about stepping out of the canopi between 11:00am -5:30pm. We brought our parents there on a Good Friday, and the whole trip was ruined.

We booked a total of 6 rooms and stayed there for 3 days 2 nights. On our check out day, we requested to have a late checkout for JUST 1 room and had explained to the front desk that I needed the room to do dialysis for my mum before we leave. But without any hesitation and consideration I was rejected and was told that they can't give us a late check out because they were fully booked and had to clear the rooms for the next guest. IT WAS A SUNDAY AND THEY ARE FULLY BOOKED! WHO ARE THEY TRYING TO FOOL!

Its disappointing to also realized that when one of our friend went to ask for one night extension, she was told that the rooms are available! Can the management explain! SUPER BAD EXPERIENCE!

Its definitely NOT a place for old folks or family with old folks. If you are thinking of bringing your parents there as a family weekend getaway, FORGET about this place.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with west sun
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank JuJu2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

My friends & I visiting Canopi for 2N over the weekends. Its located a short 5mins ride from the ferry terminal, pick up & check in was smooth, however rooms are only available after 3pm.

So we checked out the area & took the hotel free buggy to treasure bay for the hawker stalls lunch which are only opened during weekends lunch time till 5pm only and you get local decent food & ramlee burger within 40K. Theres also a mini mart selling groceries, spa & massage place, seafood grill & bar, warehouse shop that sells branded clothing. We tried the massage & its cheaper than canopi however the massage bed and shower are not up to standard, give it 3/5. We found the mini mart & warehouse shop great as we found it useful & bought stuff.

The canopi room was great.. unique concept, choice of furniture and bed was comfy. Bathroom was outdoor, however be expected to see earthworms, lizards etc. Water pressure was good and we really liked our stay. 1 thing to note is to bring insect repellent we got bitten by mosquitos. 1 thing to improve is towel looks old & grey & floor has stains.
Bfst spread was alright has sufficient options to be u full. Ala-carte menu was avg we had the pizza & pasta but its pricey at 150 to 180k. They also served dinner bbq at 400k which we found too pricey so we gave it a missed.

The highlight of the trip was the crystal lagoon, amazing filtered seawater that is so clean..we soaked in it everyday..and watched people play water activities..lots to choose from.if you r adventurous..

Would definately return again and recommend to friends.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank brenda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We are a party of 4 families with 6 kids and a baby in tow that took the cluster safari tents for a weekend.

The Good
- Easy transfer from ferry terminal to resort, only a short 5min resort bus ride.
- On arrival, the sheer size of the crystal lagoon is quite a sight to behold.
- Lagoon water is clean, clear and salted, no unpleasant chlorine chemicals
- Plenty of water activities to choose from for both kids and adults
- Long stretches of lagoon water shallow enough to laze in and for kids to swim
- Safari tents are tastefully done up, the interior is spacious and very comfortable
- Outdoor bathroom is luxurious

The Bad
- Everything is man-made. While the resort is clean and highly manicured, it does feel very artificial. In case it's not obvious, there is NO beach.
- There is very little shelter or shaded area; in extreme hot weather, it can be unbearable and the only refuge is either in your tents or at the reception building. Similarly, if it rains, there is nothing you can do but hide in your tent.
- And If you're earlier than check-in time as some of us were, they will not let you into the room even if it's available. So we waited in the reception, staring out to the lagoon but unable to do much as the sun over head was just too hot.
- You cannot swim across the lagoon for safety reasons but that means you have to walk the perimeter of the large lagoon to get from the tents to most of the activity areas. You can either rent the electric Vespa (S$37 for 6 hours) or walk to the reception and request for a buggy ride.
- The activities are quite expensive. Most are priced at S$37 for half an hour. The 'Slip and Slide' is probably the best value at S$7 unlimited for a day. The cable ski is also not too bad at S$40 an hour, provided there is no queue.
- There is only one restaurant, it's also where breakfast is served. Food is ok but nothing to shout home about, and overpriced. We took the advice from earlier reviews and brought our own food - cup noodles, bread, snacks and even drinks!
- It is hard to get service from the tents. You're given a Whatsapp no. to communicate with the staff but wifi is unstable and response is patchy. In other words, be as self sufficient as possible. It's after all glamping :p

Overall, I would say we had a good time. The kids had the most fun and the crystal lagoon does need to be seen and experienced. My suggestion to Treasure Bay is to invest in landscaping to make the place a bit more lush, it feels really barren and lack of shade makes it impossible to be out and about. It would also help to have good F&B options, well fed guests tend to write more positive reviews ;)

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank booster26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews