We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$73
TripadvisorUS$73
FindHotel
Destinia.com
Etrip
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
133
131
50
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
133
131
50
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub george dragon both nights steak and stilton pie car park great food biscuits ate here full english friendly hotel market town lovely room following morning warm welcome tea and coffee lovely place menu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2021

Lovely place to stay staff very friendly , food spot on would definitely stay again, few pubs take away, local if you fancy a change. Lovely room and garden area and parking space at the back which is handy .

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharontD878CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Lovely comfortable rooms, very clean and good quality beds. Covid safe. Food was superb, good quality local produce. The service was really friendly. Dean the Manager could not be more helpful. Will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rachelles597
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Wish we had found this hotel sooner lovely atmosphere. Great food lovely room we will definitely be staying again. Well done to all the staff for making everyone so welcome. Perfect location for lots of beautiful scenery and attractions.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2020

We booked with travel zoo at this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were delighted by the hospitality and warmth of our reception.( Covid precautions were reassuringly adhered to ) room 2 was very clean and well appointed affording a wonderful couple of nights sleep. As keen walkers new to this part of Yorkshire, the area provided wonderful winter trails with stunning scenery luckily the weather being kind to us. Harty appetites were satisfied with great Breakfasts and evening meals from the Christmas menu that were substantial and delicious . The chef provided Options for me as a vegetarian that were not on the set menu which was most helpful. The choice of drinks were pleasingly plentiful in particular the Malbec my favourite! To top everything there was a Christmas market just outside the hotel much to my excitement on the morning of our departure. Overall this relaxing break was just the thing we needed after so many months of worries and restrictions. Thank you Alison the owner and Dean the manager. We would highly recommend this Hotel and intend to return for a bit more walking and hospitality!

Room tip: We were in room 2 which was a ground floor with easy access
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Stayed here in room 16. Nice friendly welcome and check-in by Fiona. Room was very nice, and the bed was extremely comfortable, with immaculately clean bedding and pillowcases, we had two nights of great sleep in a nice quiet environment. The bathroom was very well equipped and had obviously been recently refurbished, - very nice. We had a meal elsewhere the first night, but after sampling the food here at the George and Dragon, we wished we had ate here for both nights. Very nice food and fairly priced, and the breakfasts we had each morning were lovely. As the weather was a bit poor, we had couple of hours in the bar area, trying the recommended gins etc, really enjoyable afternoon, with a nice clientele in, and the warmth of the log burner just made it a very pleasant afternoon. Fiona who was behind the bar, was chatty and extremely efficient and made us feel very welcome, as though we were locals ourselves. We met the manager who had recently been appointed, and he was very friendly and accommodating. All the staff work very hard, and are all friendly. If you want a warm welcome with great food, (and gins lol), in perfectly pleasant accommodation, then this is the place for you. Upon leaving, there was an error regarding a charge of £20 for a room supplement, this was mistakenly added, and when I explained that this had been sorted with the person who took our booking, we were told that if clarified by the owner, then the £20 would not be charged to my card. Throughout my overall excellent experience here, from the warm welcome to the great food and accommodation to the heartfelt goodbye, and hoping we had a great time etc, once the owner hears of the misunderstanding regarding the £20 charge, I have full confidence this will be sorted. Anyway, George and Dragon, thanks for having us, and we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geraint F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews