We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
US$90
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$90
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
133
131
50
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
133
131
50
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub george dragon both nights steak and stilton pie car park great food biscuits ate here full english friendly hotel market town lovely room following morning warm welcome tea and coffee lovely place menu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Definitely not up to 4 star quality. Our room was top floor of an annex with no obvious fire escape route and no “in the event of a fire” info posted on the room door as in other hotels. The bed was comfy but the shower was just a hand held one, totally unsuitable and so old fashioned. We thought the ambiance of the pub was non-existent, no nice comfort chairs in the the drinking areas and one area was half given over to diners. We ate breakfast there, but just cereal, as the food came from an upstairs kitchen and the route there looked dark and dingy and not to our standards. We were so disappointed we cut out four night stay down to three nights, but had to pay for all four. When we checked out we were not advised we would have to pay for the fourth night. Not a good experience for us and we definitely would not go back. Very disappointing considering it cost us £380!!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 429susief
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

Visited on a Friday night and the staff we’re really friendly and helpful at check in. A very comfortable room with all mod cons and good supply of tea, coffee and biscuits. Breakfast the following morning was typical Yorkshire very very good and plentiful. Would highly recommend this hotel in a very nice village with great pubs.

Room tip: Outside rooms in the courtyard really good
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Finally returned to this lovely area and the George & Dragon. Once again received a warm and friendly welcome. Room clean and tidy, food was great, compliments to the chef and service excellent. Enjoyed our stay. On the list for a return.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobW1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

Stayed for our anniversary - positives first staff lovely and food great. Negatives - room not great but sold as superior suite . Bath but only handheld shower attachment and cold water as boiler broken for second time in two days. Main issue was woken by dogs at 0530hrs as people had left them in cars in hotel car park. Those cars also blocked the car park and would have been a fire hazard. Hotel staff denied any issues re parking. Felt our concerns were dismissed. Wouldn’t stay again but would recommend to eat there

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tiddlytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

First visit to Kirbymoorside. Lovely little market town. Easy parking. Friendly pub/hotel. Fresh, nicely presented food. Husband had haddock goujon bun with chunky chips & tartare sauce. I had BLT toastie and side of thick chunky hand cut chips. Excellent value. Evening menu looked good. Would return.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Freedom67092955658
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews