We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$85
Hotels.comUS$85
PricelineUS$90
TravelocityUS$85
Orbitz.comUS$85
CheapTicketsUS$85
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
102
57
23
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
102
57
23
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street piping hot an evening meal following morning steak comfortable room great food cooked breakfast pleasant stay short break the north york moors locals bedroom pub landlord atmosphere whitby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2021 via mobile

Friendly staff, good central location, great breakfast, would recommend a stay here. Room was clean & more than adequate. Great pint of Wainwrights too!! Overall good value for money compared with current hotel prices post lockdown. Thank you

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank michaelbW421KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Called in after being very disappointed with the Royal Oak at Gillamoor and found ‘opposite service’. Very accommodating and lovely straight forward food.
Very pleasant service.
Great courtyard outside.
Friendly staff.
Recommended.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 454howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

On arrival we were shown to our room, room was immaculate, this could not be faulted, but on closer inspection the window was held open by a piece of wood, mattress appeared to have a dip in it and shower had no power , room was very purple, would of been better with a softer colour.
On leaving our room 2 fire doors were being held open by heavy objects.
Staff were fantastic and could not be faulted.
On sitting in the bar there was a male sitting across with what looked like pillow/cushions and a blanket, ( not sure if he was a staff member).
This is a quiet little village, would be good to be used as a base.
We had an evening meal at the hotel, this was basic food.

Room tip: We stayed for 2 nights but this was a very quiet village.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Missfussy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2021

Stayed 2 nights in June 2021 (on MTB tour), in the older part of the building. This meant had to deal with some low beams, but it all adds to the experience of staying in a building that is 100's of years old.
Room, bed and shower were all good - especially after a day in the saddle.
But the food is the real reason I wanted to leave a review, the home made lasagne is amazing - not one of those liquid microwave meals some places serve up!! Its so good, I had it both nights.
By all accounts, the fish, burgers and steak were all just as good; and washed down by several excellent pints of Pedigree
PS - breakfast was of a similar high standard.
Would I stay here again - absolute.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris-OnHisHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2021

Went to watch the football, had a meal and watched the game. The staff were very nice and helpful and the bar man was great. Very accommodating. Would definitely go back. Lots of atmosphere. Looked a good place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahbarber800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews