We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hogarths Hotel(Dorridge)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwings Lodge Solihull(Solihull)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
US$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Oak Hotel(Hockley Heath)
US$60
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
83
49
24
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
49
24
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfor sunday lunchthe final billfantastic weddingboutique hotelgolf societycooked to perfectionvery comfortable roombirthday mealcoffee machinewedding partystayed two nightslovely venuestaff were attentivenice stayfollowing morningshort stayplenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

My wife and i have a wonerful stay at the forest, the king size room we had was very spacious, clean & well appointed. The standard of the meal we had in the restaurant was supurb as were the staff especially Alicia who also served our first class breakfast.her warm smile and friendly manner nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ianw1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you for your review, I would clone Alicia if it was possible, she is so lovely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

On arriving at the hotel I checked into my room and went into the restaurant for dinner. I had eaten here before and was blown away the first time by the standard of food combined with the flawless service of the staff. My expectations were not disappointed. My room was lovely and spacious and impeccably clean. The breakfast was included with the room and there was a great selection of cereals and hot food. The reason behind my trip was a family get together to celebrate my birthday. We were a party of 9 with 2 little ones and the staff were so accommodating, friendly and attentive. I would whole heartedly recommend this venue for any occasion and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review, it really matters to us all and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Used to love the food here but just had awful fish and chips. The fish had been baked and the batter was tough and inedible, petit pois and oven baked chips both from the freezer. It could have come from Sainsburys next door. Service wasn't good either. Won't be going back.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashleigh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

What a terrible title and one that I firmly disagree with, I have a wonderful team of hard working, passionate chefs striving to cook our customers great food.
You have left not having enjoyed your meal but also left us feeling frustrated and disappointed as you did not give us the chance, while you were here, to rectify anything.
It is a shame that you did nor raise your concerns when we checked back during your meal to give us the opportunity to look into your complaint. You and your dining partner choose the same dish so it is difficult to understand why one one so different from the other, as I understand that she was happy with her dish. I can assure you that we do not bake our fish, it is freshly battered and deep fried to order, our hand cut chips are made from scratch on site and are also deep fried not oven baked. You are correct we do serve petit pois which do come into us frozen, we feel they offer a more consistent product than fresh peas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We had an amazing day and we would like to thank the whole team for ensuring our wishes were followed and the day ran smoothly.

The room itself was magical and the set up throughout the day was amazing. All three looks (ceremony, meal, evening party) were absolutely stunning and the room was just right for our guests and our decorations. Your placement of the cake table and flowers for the evening were spot on; thank you for your attention to detail. We are really pleased we got the dance floor and love letters. The turnaround for the rooms and drinks set up was on point.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and our guests commented on how attentive you are were. Everyone loved the food.

The only criticism for us was that the grounds were not well maintained. We did ask during our initial visit if the hedges and grass etc would be cut/pruned before the big day and we were disappointed this was not the case – and is evident to see in our outside wedding pictures.

Overall our special day was made truly amazing and would recommend the venue!

Mr & Mrs Walker

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyZ1000se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights, a Thursday and a Friday.

The staff were mostly young, enthusiastic, friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable.

Our only problem was with noise.

The hotel is in a small commuter town, and directly opposite the railway station. A previous review on this site said that there was no noise, and you would not know that the station was there. The guest who wrote that must have been allocated a room at the rear of the hotel or an ‘interior room’. We had a room at the front, and we could hear freight trains passing all night. Commuter trains started running early in the morning, and could also be heard braking and setting off.

Worse, the room was directly over the outside drinking area of the hotel, which doubles as the pub in Dorridge. This was not a problem on the Thursday night, but it certainly was on the Friday, which was a warm, dry night at the end of the working week. Until after midnight, revellers were talking in the raised voices and laughing loudly.

We do not blame the hotel for the trains or the people enjoying themselves, but we were surprised that the windows were single-glazed. Double glazing would have made the room much quieter. The thickly-lined curtains did cut out some noise, and most of the light, but the trains were noisy enough to be heard at night, and it would have taken a lot more to mute the Friday-night revelers.

Were this a budget-priced hotel, the problems would have been easier to overlook, but it is quite highly priced.

To anyone thinking of staying there I would say make sure you do not have a room at the front. If you can crack that one, you should have a comfortable stay.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank stephengeorge57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews