We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disgusting”
Review of Thurrock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thurrock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Aveley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I'm currently still in this hotel and I'm in my 2nd room. My 1st room was full of bugs and the 2nd room is no better. I spoke to the manager about the issues that I had but all he had to say was he wanted me out. I killed 2 bugs and 2 days later the remains are still in the bathroom. They house keeping is as bad as the managers attitude. Bad decor, small bath and mild in the bath room. No air con so the room is like a sweat box. Glad I didn't have to pay for it.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThurrockGM, General Manager at Thurrock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We genuinely appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

First thing Staff we're fine.

Room was poor, as you can see. Even found a left over salad container in the wardrobe.

Bathroom had been refurbished but water pressure was all over the place and made a horrible sound when the shower was turned on.

Bed fairly comfortable but pillows were very thin. Room very hot even though heating not on, opened windows and noise from M25 was loud and woke up every hour.

Chambermaid charged in without knocking. Not great!

Breakfast good but staff helping themselves from the buffet at 8am.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Stu0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThurrockGM, General Manager at Thurrock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Six of us booked in for one of the Murder Nights. Also decided to stay overnight.

Hotel has a large carpet and a reasonable size garden though we didn't work out how to actually get into the garden. Due to traffic our 30 minute journey took almost three hours so we didn't have time to investigate. Good size double room on the first floor, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Extremely comfy bed, found extra pillows in the wardrobe. Basic hospitality tray, with the usual horrible Nescafé. Very good shower room with a window, nice large towels and some toiletries. BUT, it was a hot day and we'd had a nightmare journey so despite showering before we left home, we wanted to shower again. No hot water. Hot water in the wash basin but the shower tap was jammed. So husband and I had cold showers. Not happy. Went down and told receptionist and she said she'd send someone up to look.

Murder takes the form of a group of actors performing in the centre of the room whilst visitors are eating. We'd been asked to pre-order and I was a little anxious as I'd organised the six of us for this evening. However, have to say the food was extremely good! Choice was fairly small. Can't remember the exact names of what we ate but I'm attaching pictures. Five of us had Melon with Prawns followed by Chicken Breast. This was really beautifully presented in respect of the vegetables. Even fussy husband who usually leaves the veg, actually ate everything. We all enjoyed the meal.

Entertainment wasn't brilliant but our expectations were different. We'd anticipated something fairly traditional, i.e. Body in the library, vicar's wife etc. What we actually got was a rather weird mediaeval mystery with some slightly oddly named characters. Costumes were truly dreadful and some stage makeup would have helped. We had the opportunity to question the cast of four, though as the murdered character delivered the story, I got a bit lost and stopped listening. However the rest of our group were paying attention and we won! See certificate! Strangely the cast took a photo of themselves with us but we weren't invited to buy a copy. We didn't want one but they didn't know that!

This is not an event to attend as just a couple. There were four people on the table next to us but the rest were large groups. You need to assemble a few friends, don't think the hotel groups strangers together at tables so just two of you could end up eating alone.

Self service coffee provided at the end. There's a bar in the dining area and you just fetch your own drinks. Husband said prices weren't too bad.

Returning to our room we found we still had no hot water in the shower but it was very late by this time so we had more cold showers in the morning. Very cross about this as we'd reported it as soon as we found out, the hotel knew we were there during the evening so we expected that if the shower couldn't be fixed, someone would have come to tell us and offer another room. Receptionist apologetic and we agreed some compensation.

Breakfast is in a rather gloomy room. Self service and a good choice. Fresh fruit, though no prunes or grapefruit, choice of cereals, juices, make your own toast. Usual hot food,,husband's only gripe was no fried eggs but there was plenty of scrambled. Hot Danish pastries and croissants. Altogether a satisfactory breakfast.

We all enjoyed our night away very much. Staff all friendly and helpful.

There is no lift but I understand there is ground floor accommodation for anyone with a mobility issue.

Do I recommend? yes.

Will I go back? We haven't decided. Enjoyed the hotel, not so impressed with the Murder part of it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThurrockGM, General Manager at Thurrock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We genuinely appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Went last Sunday for a carvery lunch. Exceptional value for money, where else can you get a 3 course meal of this quality for £17.50 (in fact we got two 3 course meals for £17.50 as they were doing a BOGOF deal).We had a choice of 4 or 5 different starters, then a choice of roast, fish or vegetarian option for the main followed by 4 or 5 choices of dessert. Food was extremely tasty and well presented, drinks were reasonably priced, staff friendly and attentive, parking is free with lots of available spaces. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank shazza10cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThurrockGM, General Manager at Thurrock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Your feedback is genuinely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Had our complete wedding here in Library and garden room. Which were freshly decorated and and put together lovely. 2 night stay good rooms and nice sleep. Food very nice and a all u can eat breakfast. We would and will return. Highly recommended. Polite staff and helpful. Easy to find too. Thanks guys and girls. X

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank pullenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThurrockGM, General Manager at Thurrock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Your feedback is genuinely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
1.3 km away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
676 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
818 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Thurrock M25
Travelodge Thurrock M25
#3 of 3 in West Thurrock
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
454 reviews
25 km away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
390 reviews
1.4 km away
Travelodge Thurrock Lakeside
Travelodge Thurrock Lakeside
#2 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley, Thurrock RM19 1YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Aveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aveley
Price Range: $71 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thurrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing