We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and friendly atmosphere int the Highlands.”
Review of Roybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roybridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Roybridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The hotel has new owners and they do everything to make your stay comfortable.
They are going to shine up the hotel over the next couple of months.
The hotel has a nice pub and they serve really good meals. We had dinner twice and enjoyed it. For breakfast we had a tasty bowl of porridge.
The hotel is surrounded by beautiful nature and the river Roy runs next to the hotel.
We enoyed walking in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank therese m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Our family stopped in for an evening after visiting nearby Fort William. We were pleasantly surprised with the Roy Bridge Hotel and enjoyed our stay. The beds were clean and the rooms were spacious. I couldn't believe some of the negative reviews people have left in the past. For an inexpensive, slightly out of the way option, we couldn't have been happier. Oh, and the full Scottish breakfast in the morning is a can't miss. Thank you, Rebecca and Tom!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank macintoshlachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

As a university canoe club we have been visiting Roy Bridge Hotel for many years.
The staff are very accommodating to our needs as a large party.
We normally book out the whole bunkhouse for a very reasonable price.
We make good use of the fully equiped kitchen - last time cooking for 45 hungry paddlers!
When we return from a cold wet day on the rivers there is an excellent drying room for all of our kit and a cosy wood burning stove to warm up next too!
We've always been very welcomed in the hotel pub by the locals and enjoy a drink and game of pool.
The bunkhouse may not be plush gold-trimmed luxury but it is to us after a day outdoors!
We enjoy a good relationship with owners and staff and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

For a mountain biking trip to Fort William with a group of friends this location was ideal, a 10-15 minute drive away.
However the bunk barn its self needs of some serious TLC which is a shame because its got huge potential.
We often camp so I didn't think I was the pickiest person... The kitchen area is very well equipped, be prepared to disinfect anything you need to use. The log burner in the communal area is great if you enjoy sitting in a smoke filled room. The bathrooms were filthy, tiles missing, not really somewhere you'd like to use to freshen up, lack of locks was rather odd too. Thick black mould in our bedroom, stains on the walls around the bunks. Im not sure if its ever seen a cleaning product. The mattress cover was dirty. The cover over the duvet and pillow DID look like it had been cleaned. Don't count on a good nights sleep though, the paper thin walls, squeaky door hinges and loud arguments in the car park (I know this might not happen often)will be sure to keep you awake!
Basically, wipe your feet on the way out.
We've just arrived home, everything is now in a boil wash before it touches anything in the house.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I have done many reviews over the last few months. They have always been really good and I was questioning if I was being too positive... But this review proves I have been realistic.
It could have been so different.
We booked the hostel for 5 nights for our kayak club holiday.
We expected a basic but clean and functioning hostel as advertised.
We arrived 45 minutes before we were due to book in only to find that the hostel and hotel had had 58 students in prior to us.
The hostel was no where near ready. We were told that the students had broken the fire ( although it appears from reviews that the fire has been broken for some time). They had also smashed the ceramic oven hob, so we couldn't cook and the toasters couldn't be located.
The place smelt of vomit... In bedroom 7, the eating area and drying room.
It was therefore not fit for purpose. The owner was away on holiday in America.
We were offered the use of the hotel kitchen... I'm sure this must breech hygiene rules.
But that was not appropriate for us. The kitchen was in another building ( it smelt horrible and greasy too) and within our group we were coming and going at different times of the day so there was no fixed time for us needing the kitchen. We were catering for 22 people and use the cooking time as a communal time to discuss our plans.
So not only was it disgusting and smelling of vomit( other guests staying in the hotel said that they could smell vomit when using the drying room) but it no longer met our needs.
We had a choice go home ( 8 hours away in Worcester) or find another hostel.
We were lucky enough to find another hostel.
I felt very sorry for Lizzy and James who were looking after the place.. They were embarrassed.
Rebecca who owns the hostel did not get home from her holiday for another 48 hours.
We had expected her to be apologetic.
When we contacted her for a refund her attitude was totally unprofessional and shocking.
We had paid her £1250 for five nights.
She has refused to refund our money and had told us or needs were met with her offer of using the hotel kitchen and by the provision of a new cooker half way through our stay!
She is waiting to see what the insurance company are going to do.
We didn't create the damage and had to deal with the stress and inconvenience and yet we are out of pocket!
Rebecca should be the one waiting for the pay out. Our community club cannot afford this loss.
We are now having to take legal action to get our money back.
To be quite frank the hostel is really run down and is in need of a refurbishment. It looked like it needed a deep clean throughout.
There is damage and severe wear and tear throughout.
There is no evidence of pride in the place or wanting to do the best for customers.
There are nicer hostels around... That might cost £3 more but we would never go there again, nor would we recommend it.
I am saddened that it came to this, if only Rebecca had been reasonable.
The fire is a health hazard... It spews smoke into the building ( we were advised that we could use the extractor fan in the kitchen to remove it) I believe that this is a risk for carbon monoxide poisoning?
It saddens me to write such a negative review, but it is an honest one.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roybridge
2.8 km away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
338 reviews
10.1 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
965 reviews
0.3 km away
The Stronlossit Inn
The Stronlossit Inn
#3 of 4 in Roybridge
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#12 of 23 in Spean Bridge
18 reviews
0.7 km away
Homagen
Homagen
#2 of 4 in Roybridge
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roybridge Hotel

Address: Roybridge PH31 4AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Roybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roybridge
Price Range: $61 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing