We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
496
81
13
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
496
81
13
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews africa room old england the pub sunday lunch roast beef cooked to perfection roll top bath lovely room little touches a wonderful stay stayed for one night warm welcome four poster bed comfy bed night's sleep yogurt boscombe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2021

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the inn. We had an incredible time. Allan and Caroline were lovely and extremely welcoming. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. The food was delicious. Breakfast was varied and of amazing quality. Our favourite bit was definitely the homemade granola, yoghurt and berry compote pots which tasted lovely and fresh. The dinners were equally delicious, good quality food, cooked to a very high standard. The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank penguin11333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Thankyou for the lovely review 7 we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021

We have just returned from the most amazing weekend at the Holcombe inn. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The restaurant and food is absolutely amazing and the staff can’t do enough to help you. I would highly recommend a trip here if you are wanting somewhere with top quality food, lovely clean spacious rooms and super friendly staff. We took a trip into Bath for dinner one evening and it was so easy to get to and from in around 20 minutes but nice to be staying just out of the city. The surrounding views and countryside are amazing, we took a long walk through the fields nearby and finished off with a drink in their beautiful gardens. 10/10 stay for us and we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KatieP79797
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Thankyou, that's great to hear & we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2021

We stayed in this inn for just one night. It was a very enjoyable stay. We were allocated a Hunter's room, which was very adequate for 2 of us. Quite big bathroom with bath and shower, comfortable bed, very good complimentary hot beverages. It was very quiet at night, so we had a very good night's sleep.
On the day of our arrival we had lunch in their restaurant, it was one of the best lunches we ever had in a pub. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic as well. Ales are kept in very good condition, Otter was really good.
I wish more Inns were like Holcombe, where you can get good quality locally sourced food, good service and comfortable rooms. Thank you for having us and keep doing what you are doing. It works really well !!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Thankyou so much for the great review, we work hard to make sure its a great place to come and unwind. hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021

The Holcombe Inn is charming and offers amazing views all around. The hosts, Allan and Caroline made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and were attentive throughout our stay. The food was out of this world.. the flavours and presentation were second to none. The smallest details did not go unnoticed. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere in the evening and appeared to be popular with the locals too. The breakfast was wonderful and offered a vast choice... I opted for homemade grenola with the creamiest yoghurt and a homemade fruit compote, then the lightest scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, finishing off with croissant and home made jam. WOW - a truly wonderful stay!

Room tip: All rooms are excellent and individually decorated
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13,233
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Lucas, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Thankyou so much for the wonderful review, very kind words. We hope to see you again soon
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

We stayed for one night on Sat 5th June. Arriving at 6pm we were welcomed my ‘John’ a lovely smiling barman. From that moment on our stay was fabulous. The hotel has been through what looks like a very expensive and classy renovation. The whole building is beautifully and classically decorated. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant, and we’re glad we did. The food was excellent and certainly worthy of 2 rosettes, the service was attentive and just right. The room was beautiful (3) and fitted out with high class fittings. I’d highly recommend anyone to stop by or make a detour. The owners are lovely, welcoming people..oh, I forgot the breakfast..AMAZING! I’m a huge foodie and rate food on appearance and quality, and for me, the breakfast has it all…the best ingredients, especially the incredible black pudding, and all cooked to perfection… thanks to the owners and staff, keep up your incredible standards!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MickyTFelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Lucas, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2021

Thankyou so much for the fantastic review, we loved having you to stay & we hope to see you again in the near future & we are trying to continuously improve our standards.
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews