We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
491
81
13
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
491
81
13
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews africa room old england the pub sunday lunch roast beef cooked to perfection roll top bath lovely room walk in shower little touches be visiting again pudding fish and chips four poster bed comfy bed warm welcome full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed in Room 8 at the top of the house for 3 nights. The king sized bed was very comfy and we slept really well. The en-suite had a separate shower and free standing bath.
The delicious food at breakfast and dinner was beautifully presented and freshly cooked using local ingredients.
The staff team were friendly and helpful, the service was fantastic and it was lovely to sit in the garden enjoying the view.
Thank you so much for a lovey relaxing stay.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LynnC705
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Thankyou for the lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, it is always so lovely to hear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

Our 2 night stay in the Roost was everything we had hoped for and more. Beautiful surroundings. Super comfortable with a perfect attention to detail. The hosts were welcoming, friendly and informative. All the staff were attentive and polite. We had dinner which exceeded expectations. The menu is packed with fresh local ingredients and put together in a way that works well and would happily compete with any Michelin dining experience. Would highly recommend and we hope to visit again soon .

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Thankyou, that is so lovely to hear & we are delighted you loved the food. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2021 via mobile

Thank you to Alan, Caroline and all the staff at The Holcombe Inn for the luxury, relaxation and delicious menu they provided for us when we stayed with them for a few days. Beautiful surroundings inside and out, vegetables fresh from the garden and lovely people. A gem in the West Country.

Room tip: Check which days the restaurant opens
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DrJMMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroline Lucas, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Thankyou so much for the lovely review, we do hope you will come back & stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021

We spent a night at The Holcombe on our way to Devon and wished we'd spent more time there now knowing that the location is so close to Bath.
We stayed in one of the garden lodges, The Roost, which was very peaceful and comfortable.
We enjoyed a sumptuous evening meal where the raspberry soufflé was the highlight. The following morning's breakfast matched the exceptional dinner standards.
We'll definitely be returning.

Room tip: The Roost was lovely. However, the rooms in the main building look well renovated.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartmL6400RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Lucas, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Thankyou very much for the lovely review and we hope to see you again soon. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2021

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the inn. We had an incredible time. Allan and Caroline were lovely and extremely welcoming. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. The food was delicious. Breakfast was varied and of amazing quality. Our favourite bit was definitely the homemade granola, yoghurt and berry compote pots which tasted lovely and fresh. The dinners were equally delicious, good quality food, cooked to a very high standard. The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank penguin11333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Thankyou for the lovely review 7 we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews