We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
497
81
13
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
497
81
13
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews africa room old england the pub sunday lunch roast beef cooked to perfection roll top bath lovely room little touches a wonderful stay stayed for one night warm welcome four poster bed comfy bed night's sleep yogurt boscombe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Where to start… The hotel itself was wonderful, the rooms beautifully decorated, the public areas were great too, the food was some of the most beautifully presented I have ever had (we made a mistake choosing a rib eye, as way to fatty for my husband), the other food was exceptional, however I would expect it to be for the price. The customer service left a little to be desired, as soon as we entered the building we were asked for full payment up front, even though we had already paid a deposit - most unusual for a hotel. The manager wasn’t able to split our bill on ordering, so we had to sit with a calculator at the end and work out who owed what, I would have expected our request to be accommodated, we couldn’t add our food to our room bill so had to pay up straight away, which was fine, but again a little unusual. The staff were attentive, but if we asked a question they had to go and check with the manager.
This hotel & restaurant could be totally amazing if the customer service were a little different, but if you find yourself nearby it is a great place to stay, just don’t be surprised that it feels a bit like they think you are going to do a runner - not particularly welcoming or comfortable.

Room tip: Good parking, great rooms, only open at present as a restaurant & hotel (bar not open to non diners/ residents)
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank coombsmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Thankyou for the lovely words about our hotel, food & rooms.
I am sorry you felt the customer service was not up to scratch as we have many fantastic reviews about our team & service. I am not sure what happened regarding your bill but we usually transfer the food directly onto your room and let you run a tab throughout your stay, we do however ask for rooms to be paid on arrival as we have had some bad experiences and I am sure at this time we cannot afford to lose any revenue from guests.
We do have quite few young staff working with us at the moment as staffing in the hospitality industry is dire at present and so we dont want them to make mistakes which is why they have to check things with us.
I do disagree about the welcoming or comfortable as if you view the reviews you will see how attentive we all our to our guests. I do hope you might come back and experience us again at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Our 3-night stay at the Holecombe Inn was excellent. The hotel is extremely well decorated and offers a high level of service. The owners and staff made us very welcome. The restaurant was superb for both breakfast and dinner with a very nice menu with beautifully prepared and presented food. The hotel garden is lovely and a great place to enjoy a drink and take in the view.
The hotel location made it a perfect base to visit Bath, Wells and the surrounding area.
We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Holecombe Inn and will return next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mjq81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2021

thankyou for the lovely review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2021

We stayed here for a special occasion preferring the more relaxed approach to luxury, quality and service and was not disappointed for sure.

Firstly the check in, this was easy and straightforward with the room being ready earlier than anticipated with Caroline and Alan relaxed and informative at check in, both attentive and happy to help.

Our room was “The Roost” situated within the garden with raised beds of produce, aptly named no doubt because of the white fantail cote sited on your lawn (visited by white fantails especially in the morning) with a very nice patio set to which we sat with a bottle of fizz .

The room was privately situated, very clean, bright and airy, furnished well with an excellent quality bed and bedding, we slept very well both nights.

Though not for everyone the breakfast was preordered the night before, personally We have no issue with this and found the choice excellent with breakfast on both mornings excellent indeed, the service and politeness was second to none.

As the Inn is quite remote (exactly what we wanted) we booked the restaurant both nights of our stay and found the quality and choice from the menu superb with a well thought out balanced offering where Alan and his team team can pride themselves on the delivery of excellent presented quality food.

Now for the front of house, this again is exemplary, all staff are well informed, extremely polite, well presented and friendly so well done Caroline!

A special mention must be made for John the barman, a friendly local chap who we understand has worked at the Inn for 25yrs, nothing too much and always happy to serve with a smile and chat, a true professional with 60 pairs of shoes, Interesting colours though John!!

Finally, we would highly recommend a stay at The Holcombe, lovely views, superb food and service, in fact everything else you need for a relaxed break, try it you will not be disappointed.

We will be back without a doubt.

Well done Alan and Caroline!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLE-FAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2021

We stopped here for one night because of the great reviews.
We stayed in the roost and booked an evening meal
The roost is a cosy garden building and has everything you need for a pleasant nights sleep.
Tea/coffee/chocolate and cookies ,lovely toiletries and a small garden with a dove cote
Loads of free parking.
We had a 3 course evening meal and the food is amazing including the breakfast.
Friendly efficient staff who made our stay that extra bit special
Thanks so much to everyone at the Holcombe

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2021

thanks very much for the great review and we do hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

We were blown away by this place. We went there for dinner on Saturday while away for the weekend. Location is beautiful surrounded by fields, it has a cute ‘kitchen garden’ where they grow their veg from, and the decor was clean, stylish but cosy and relaxed. All the staff are friendly and attentive. The food itself was amazing, fresh ingredients, light but filling if that makes sense! Really wonderful flavours of well put together food. We’ll definitely be back- especially since we learned they had rooms you can stay in too!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sidvicious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2021

thankyou, that's a great review and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews