We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
499
81
13
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
499
81
13
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews africa room old england the pub sunday lunch roast beef cooked to perfection roll top bath lovely room little touches a wonderful stay stayed for one night warm welcome four poster bed comfy bed night's sleep yogurt boscombe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

We needed an overnight stop en route to Cornwall the last week in July. The Holcombe turned out to be so much more that just a bed and breakfast stopover. So comfortable, immaculately clean, superb food. We felt that our stay here had extended our holiday. Suffice to say since then we’ve had a further two visits here - each time a relaxing evening, lovely meal and a good night’s sleep. Allan and Caroline are brilliant hosts and we look forward to our next visit.
P.S. we always enjoy the Northern Soul playlists Allan!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank karonj2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Thankyou so much for the lovely review, it is also lovely to have returning guests & we hope to see you again soon.Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Amazing stay overlooking Downside Abbey. Newly and beautifully redecorated with wonderful taste and every comfort accounted for…. Caroline and Alan gave the best service and Truffle the dog pottered about happily…. all this and a smashing breakfast using locally sourced goodies

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jennifersD2321GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2021

Thankyou, thankyou, it was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2021

We booked online and from the moment we had the booking confirmed the service has been fantastic. On arrival the sun shone and Caroline showed us to our beautiful room. We ate in the restaurant and the food was exceptional all the staff were friendly helpful and made us feel completely at home. They were interested in us and happy to tell us about the place, the inn and the history. Alan and Caroline and there team have worked incredibly hard to make this an outstanding place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank joannawinterbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2021

Thankyou so much for the lovely kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Where to start… The hotel itself was wonderful, the rooms beautifully decorated, the public areas were great too, the food was some of the most beautifully presented I have ever had (we made a mistake choosing a rib eye, as way to fatty for my husband), the other food was exceptional, however I would expect it to be for the price. The customer service left a little to be desired, as soon as we entered the building we were asked for full payment up front, even though we had already paid a deposit - most unusual for a hotel. The manager wasn’t able to split our bill on ordering, so we had to sit with a calculator at the end and work out who owed what, I would have expected our request to be accommodated, we couldn’t add our food to our room bill so had to pay up straight away, which was fine, but again a little unusual. The staff were attentive, but if we asked a question they had to go and check with the manager.
This hotel & restaurant could be totally amazing if the customer service were a little different, but if you find yourself nearby it is a great place to stay, just don’t be surprised that it feels a bit like they think you are going to do a runner - not particularly welcoming or comfortable.

Room tip: Good parking, great rooms, only open at present as a restaurant & hotel (bar not open to non diners/ residents)
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank coombsmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Thankyou for the lovely words about our hotel, food & rooms.
I am sorry you felt the customer service was not up to scratch as we have many fantastic reviews about our team & service. I am not sure what happened regarding your bill but we usually transfer the food directly onto your room and let you run a tab throughout your stay, we do however ask for rooms to be paid on arrival as we have had some bad experiences and I am sure at this time we cannot afford to lose any revenue from guests.
We do have quite few young staff working with us at the moment as staffing in the hospitality industry is dire at present and so we dont want them to make mistakes which is why they have to check things with us.
I do disagree about the welcoming or comfortable as if you view the reviews you will see how attentive we all our to our guests. I do hope you might come back and experience us again at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Our 3-night stay at the Holecombe Inn was excellent. The hotel is extremely well decorated and offers a high level of service. The owners and staff made us very welcome. The restaurant was superb for both breakfast and dinner with a very nice menu with beautifully prepared and presented food. The hotel garden is lovely and a great place to enjoy a drink and take in the view.
The hotel location made it a perfect base to visit Bath, Wells and the surrounding area.
We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Holecombe Inn and will return next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mjq81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2021

thankyou for the lovely review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews