We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
490
81
13
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
490
81
13
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews africa room old england the pub sunday lunch roast beef cooked to perfection roll top bath lovely room walk in shower little touches be visiting again pudding fish and chips four poster bed comfy bed warm welcome full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for one night to celebrate our anniversary. Cannot fault anything our welcome, our room, the food and service are exceptional. So difficult to find this kind of setting where you are made to feel so welcome. Alan made our experience extra special when kindly providing a complimentary drink to celebrate our anniversary. He is clearly very passionate about his hotel with good reason. We would not hesitate to recommend The Holcombe to anyone looking for a first class establishment with personal touches and hope to return in future.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou so much for the lovely review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2021

We stayed for three nights over the bank holiday weekend at The Holcombe. We were looking for somewhere stylish and family friendly with good food and it was just that!

The service was exceptional throughout and the food exceed our high expectations. The setting is really beautiful and the new interiors really complement the green surroundings creating a calm and relaxing environment.

We can't wait to go again and keep recommending it to all our friends, it really is a gem.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarahkaimakamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Thankyou, thankyou, a very kind review and we are delighted you loved The Holcombe & we hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

We needed an overnight stop en route to Cornwall the last week in July. The Holcombe turned out to be so much more that just a bed and breakfast stopover. So comfortable, immaculately clean, superb food. We felt that our stay here had extended our holiday. Suffice to say since then we’ve had a further two visits here - each time a relaxing evening, lovely meal and a good night’s sleep. Allan and Caroline are brilliant hosts and we look forward to our next visit.
P.S. we always enjoy the Northern Soul playlists Allan!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank karonj2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Thankyou so much for the lovely review, it is also lovely to have returning guests & we hope to see you again soon.Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Amazing stay overlooking Downside Abbey. Newly and beautifully redecorated with wonderful taste and every comfort accounted for…. Caroline and Alan gave the best service and Truffle the dog pottered about happily…. all this and a smashing breakfast using locally sourced goodies

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jennifersD2321GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2021

Thankyou, thankyou, it was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2021

We booked online and from the moment we had the booking confirmed the service has been fantastic. On arrival the sun shone and Caroline showed us to our beautiful room. We ate in the restaurant and the food was exceptional all the staff were friendly helpful and made us feel completely at home. They were interested in us and happy to tell us about the place, the inn and the history. Alan and Caroline and there team have worked incredibly hard to make this an outstanding place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank joannawinterbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Gardiner, Owner at The Holcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2021

Thankyou so much for the lovely kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews