We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Inn(Thaxted)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
145
157
63
53
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
157
63
53
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publovely villagecar parkmain buildingflight pathexcellent breakfastreal alenight staycomfortable bedfull englishstansted airporttwin roomcooked breakfastshort breaksaffron waldengood nights sleepyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Swan laid on a buffet after a recent memorial at the church opposite, and coped very well and efficiently with about 200 people: morris dancers included! There was enough room to move about and get to the savouries, sweets, tea and coffee and the bar, and to sit inside or outside at the front or back. A nice atmosphere too.

Room Tip: I didn't stay the night.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank frances110545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Frances

Thank you for your extremely positive review. We strive at all times to provide a great
customer experience for all our guests and it is rewarding to get such recognition .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Swan is one of the Old English Inns chain and it was very much as expected - of a certain standard, clean and comfortable, without being outstanding. On quite a busy corner with the church opposite and on the flight path into Stansted and only single-glazed: at first we thought it might be a bit noisy but we actually slept pretty well, quite peaceful at night - church clock does strike the hour, but we hardly noticed it. just a lot of traffic at school/work finishing times. Small car park, lucky to get the last available space both days. Recently refurbished room, adequate without being huge, good en-suite with state-of-the-art double-headed shower, could do with a few instructions as to the controls but we more or less worked it out. Minimal toiletries and tea/coffee etc provided, but apparently further supplies are available from reception. Above average chain-pub food in the busy downstairs bar, served all day - not much choice of eating places otherwise in the village especially early in the week. Excellent sea bass and scallop risotto. Breakfast from 7 till 10, again, it does the job. Fair price for the area, worth a try, handy for Stansted with a bus running to and from the airport which stops outside.

Room Tip: Nice view from room at the front overlooking the church but there is a certain amount of passing traffic - not much at night though.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael

Thank you for your honest and pragmatic review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
and look forward to you visiting again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

I have family who live in thaxted and organised a night stay... we had three rooms which have been recently refurbed lovely views and clean... car park is very small but there is a public car park 5 mins away which was free!! There was 17 of us in total we had a side room to our selves which was great there was also a morris dancing event too... so was very busy... we had pre ordered our food which was great, service was brilliant Chris and his staff looked after us a big thankyou and food was excellent... would highly recommend we will be back thanks again Andrea and family

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank m0rrisa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi Andrea

Thank you for your fantastic review and positive comments. Your family were a pleasure to serve
and we look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Full of workers having a pre-home drink which makes the place rather loud. Went in for a meal after a day out and wished we hadn't. Service was acceptable but my wife's risotto was not creamy as described seemingly straight from a microwave and dry. Pan fried Scallops were only cooked on one side. My hunters chicken was fairly small and a bit dry. Wife went to ladies toilets with one door lock broken and another unable to get toilet roll from dispenser - it was not her day. After commenting about the meal we were given complimentary desserts. Waited a while to get someone to pay for the meal and then went to leave to find someone had parked so badly we couldn't get out. Try calling out car details in a busy bar and not get some unhelpful comments from the drinkers. Turns out it was one of the kitchen staff who had blocked us in - not impressed. Won't be going back there again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Humps400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for you valued feedback. You probably picked the most hectic time of day and week to visit The Swan at 5pm on a Friday because without fail it does regularly get busy with locals finishing work for the week and numerous contractors celebrating the arrival of a well earned weekend. I will raise your comments about the need for extra cream in the risotto and the quality of scampi with the kitchen manager. The toilet lock is awaiting repair centrally and unfortunately the restricted size of our car park does mean that on occasion we to need to shuffle vehicles to enable everyone to park. There is a FREE municipal car park 100 meters past ours if parking on site is not possible. I hope you will reconsider your decision not to re-visit and try any other day when I am confident you will have a far better experience.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were completely satisfied with our recent 10 day stay at The Swan. From the warm welcome by Lisa, the high quality of the food, to the excellent service by every single employee, we were made to feel special and comfortable 100% of the time.

Special thanks to Abbie, Joan, Hannah and Gabby for doing such a wonderful job caring for our every dining need! Accolades to Manager Chris Heap for setting such a high standard. When it came time to depart we felt as if we were saying goodbye to family! Thanks also to all who helped make my wife’s surprise birthday such a success.

We will return!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear David

Thank you for your amazing review and comments. It was an absolute pleasure to have you both stay at The Swan Hotel
and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews