We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$62
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brook Meadow Hotel(Childer Thornton)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodcote Hotel(Ellesmere Port)
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Wirral (Two Mills) Hotel(Ledsham)(Great Value!)
US$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Cheshire Oaks(Ellesmere Port)
US$47
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
240
369
227
100
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
369
227
100
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiestwo nightssandwichswimming poolevening mealnight breakshort breakgreat value for moneybreakfast was buffet stylepark and ridenorth walestea and coffeelovely weekendfood was lovelyenjoyable staycheshire oaksboth mornings
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

After reading some reviews I was a little apprehensive, however having just spent a 4 night stay here with 29 friends I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The bed and pillows were like sleeping on clouds. The towels big, white and fluffy. Very good selection of breakfast food and always a good choice for the evening meal. The staff were all friendly and very polite at all times. The rooms were kept extremely clean. What more could you ask for. I did not use the pool but those that did said how warm it was.

Room Tip: 108 overlooked car park but very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Lovely ! - many thanks, we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

The staff at this venue were indeed very helpful at all times. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms spotlessly clean, even though they are getting very shabby looking and a big restoration job is badly needed. We went here on an excellent Travelzoo deal which was fully Inclusive for 2 nights. Including 3 meals and drinks, including Alcohol, beers, soft drinks, tea and coffee. The chef let them down as food was very slow arriving, whether or not he had help at this time, I don't know. But again the staff rescued him, and were extremely polite & helpful. Convenient location to leave your car at Hooton station a short drive away, only 80pence to leave your car their all day. Then take the train on a £4 per day saver ticket to Chester or Liverpool & places inbetween. Don't take the car, traffic & roadworks everywhere, only a 5/10 minute walk from the station into the centre of both. Chester is a beautiful old shopping centre with all the known big shops. Don't miss the beautiful Catherdral also near to the shops. Same with Liverpool, just a short 20/25 minute journey to all the sights around the Mersey, shops, restaurants, trips along the Mersey, Beatles Museum, etc.. They are at present starting to improve the hotel as it has been taken over by a new company and we were told they are going to spend some money on it.
However for the great deal we got and our 3 days there, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed our train trips out shopping & sightseeing. Would return, hoping to see a major refurbishment. But don't let it stop you going now, the place is clean and the staff are extremely pleasant and hard working.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Many thanks for your review, rooms are on the list to be refurbished following our recent bar and restaurant works

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We booked into our requested room Twin, with Walk in Shower, excellent clean tidy and very nicely decorated.View was restricted as we were on ground floor, but acceptable.
Staff were very helpful in all aspects ( especially Doreen).
The evening meal was enjoyable with a good selection from which to choose, wine was very acceptable, but did vary second night.
Staff in restaurant were helpful but not always attentive at times.
Breakfast was buffet style, adequate choices although Eggs could be ordered freshly cooked the way you requested.
This Hotel is undergoing a Massive refurbishment and some areas were not quite finished off, but once completed should make a vast difference.
Would use again for short stop overs in the future,
Many thanks for all the help we received.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend on our visit to Chester zoo. One of the worst hotels we've stopped in. The service from the staff was appalling. We had our evening meal in the restaurant and there was 2 waiters trying to serve around 40 people, a couple next to us walked out they had been waiting over an hour to get served. Very badly ran hotel, lack of leadership from top to bottom. Just an all round bad experience. Would strongly recommend stopping somewhere else !

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

I am very sorry you had such a poor experience we had been let down on the evening in question and not our usual service level please accept my apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Stayed for 1 night,to go to a wedding at another hotel.Served its purpose as the wedding was just a mile away.Took just 2 or 3 minutes in a car or 20 minute walk to the Brook Meadow hotel.Didn't realise it had a pool.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews