We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welsh week away”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Llandybie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Red Lion is a traditional pub set in the heart of the village of Llandybie. The building itself was built in 1786 and oozes character, once you set foot inside you feel it's homely atmosphere instantly. We offer a fine selection of wines and beers, making our cozy bar the perfect place to unwind, relax and meet friends or family. Our real ales are from local breweries and have proved extremely popular with our customers. While our wine list has been chosen with great care, a selection that offers something to suit everyone's taste and budget. We serve a delicious menu, all home- cooked food which can be enjoyed in the lounge area or the more formal restaurant. We offer everything from a quick lunch to a restaurant standard meal. Booking is recommended on weekends and for larger parties to avoid disappointment. There is a beautiful beer garden which is ideal for those long summer days with the family. We have an ample car park and access for wheelchairs.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely pub the landlord is a gentleman and the staff are very friendly, the food is great 1st night of 4 of us had the Red lion burger/ 2x scampi and chips/ cod and chips very good and very generous portions, we booked again for Sunday lunch and wow it was great one of the best, we booked for the last night of are get away and has another cracking meal , good selection of real ales too , thanks again to the lovely staff at the red lion

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Derek I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Great food, friendly staff and a lovely pint! Service is always fast and friendly and the menu choices are really decent. Sunday lunches are lovely too!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank thomaspM410BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

Fabulous service staff very friendly the meal was absolutely delicious also dog friendly which is great highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Y7379ZGheatherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021

We went here on Saturday for a meal.

Upon arrival details of each person taken and phone numbers. Then taken to our table where menus provided for drinks and food. We were given time to decide what we wanted. Ordered our food very prompt and hot. The staff kept checking we were happy that we were happy with our food. We all had beautiful meals. All freshly prepared and could taste the quality. We'd all definitely recommend this pub.

All very covid safe and signs EVERYWHERE to state which way to go in and out the pub. If you live in and around here you need to visit and support local businesses in these times. They work hard to ensure everyone is safe and bookings are taken and all Covid rules are followed.

Well done all at the red lion. We definitely will be coming back down from Cardiff to visit for food.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank RhiGriff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021

Visited the Red Lion for dinner this evening. Brilliant. Food was excellent. Staff, as usual, were very friendly and helpful. All the covid rules are adhered to so no issues there. A very enjoyable time was had by us all. I recommend the Battered Cod. Fish quality was good and it was cooked to perfection, the chips were crispy and very tasty. Our party all had good meals which included lasagna, scampi and gammon.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Ammanford, Carmarthenshire
Llandybie, Ammanford
 
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
Ammanford, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.