We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one word for it ... A fabulous meal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Near Sawrey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tower Bank Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Well, it seems this place is booked up early so make sure you pre-book. We just managed to gain a booking and it was a great meal (lamb for my wife and steak for me). The staff were friendly, efficient in this veruy atmospheric pub which is included in Beatrix Potter's books and sitting next to the house that she stayed. The food was great and reasonable in this quite remote area.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

We rented a cottage near by and we ate at this pub every night for a week.Food was simple but really hearty and portions were enormous. I am a real ale fan and they served Loweswater Gold which is an award winning light bitter. Service was first class and friendly,when theyvsay dogs welcome they mean it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Tower Bank for our anniversary get away and we are very glad did.

Firstly, Taylor was a star and couldn't do enough to make us feel at home.

There were only a few other guests staying when we were there but the atmosphere was very welcoming and the fire was crackling away nicely, which was much appreciated by our wet dogs. The staff were very friendly towards the dogs and kept a steady supply of treats coming!

The beer was well chosen and kept perfectly. The Loweswater Gold is delicious!

The food was brilliant, I had the lamb which was beautiful.

The room was small but cosy, though plenty of room on the floor for dog beds.

Breakfast was again spot on and well appreciated to soak up some of the ale!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AranSmithson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Last visited about 9 years ago. Booked a table here for our evening meal which was lucky as due to popularity we couldn't have just turned up.
Very friendly staff and clientele.
Beer recommended by the barman was delicious especially if you love real ale.
Had the garlic bread with cheese as a starter. Fantastic. I do like my bread and this was sourdough.
Two fish and chips
One gnocchi
One stew ( my choice)
Definitely a place to go for good beer and food but do book.


Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Found this little gem while looking for a bite stop before getting on the ferry across the lake. A group of us parked our bikes in the beer garden and sat by a warm fireplace. The barkeep was very hospitable and friendly, the food was well made and delicious! Very pleased overall and would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
2.6 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.8 km away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
913 reviews
0.1 km away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
166 reviews
0.3 km away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
148 reviews
0.1 km away
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Near Sawrey
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Bank Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Bank Arms

Address: Near Sawrey | Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower Bank Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Tower Bank Arms Hotel Sawrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing