We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawrey House Hotel(Near Sawrey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
312
59
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
59
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill topbeatrix potterthe pubbeef stewloweswater goldopen firewonderful pubwarm welcomelake districthomemade chipsdog friendly pubreal alehuge portionsnational trustcheese boardthe sticky toffee puddingbeautiful village
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We rented a cottage near by and we ate at this pub every night for a week.Food was simple but really hearty and portions were enormous. I am a real ale fan and they served Loweswater Gold which is an award winning light bitter. Service was first class and friendly,when theyvsay dogs welcome they mean it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Tower Bank for our anniversary get away and we are very glad did.

Firstly, Taylor was a star and couldn't do enough to make us feel at home.

There were only a few other guests staying when we were there but the atmosphere was very welcoming and the fire was crackling away nicely, which was much appreciated by our wet dogs. The staff were very friendly towards the dogs and kept a steady supply of treats coming!

The beer was well chosen and kept perfectly. The Loweswater Gold is delicious!

The food was brilliant, I had the lamb which was beautiful.

The room was small but cosy, though plenty of room on the floor for dog beds.

Breakfast was again spot on and well appreciated to soak up some of the ale!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AranSmithson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Last visited about 9 years ago. Booked a table here for our evening meal which was lucky as due to popularity we couldn't have just turned up.
Very friendly staff and clientele.
Beer recommended by the barman was delicious especially if you love real ale.
Had the garlic bread with cheese as a starter. Fantastic. I do like my bread and this was sourdough.
Two fish and chips
One gnocchi
One stew ( my choice)
Definitely a place to go for good beer and food but do book.


Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Found this little gem while looking for a bite stop before getting on the ferry across the lake. A group of us parked our bikes in the beer garden and sat by a warm fireplace. The barkeep was very hospitable and friendly, the food was well made and delicious! Very pleased overall and would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend stay at The Tower Bank Arms, and can honestly say we were delighted with every aspect.
From walking through the door, you are made so welcome, and feel in the company of friends.
The accommodation is in rooms above the pub, which were totally in keeping with the quaint and olde worlde pub, small- yes but totally adequate- the whole reason for visiting this stunning area is to spend time outside, so the rooms and facilities were great and sufficient.Tea and coffee making in the rooms, together with hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits and sweets. There was a hairdryer found in the wardrobe, plenty of drawer space, ensuite shower room with loo and basin, everything you need. The rooms were spotlessly clean, lovely fresh towels, the bed very comfy, and again spotless linen, - fabulous.
Breakfast was between 8.30 & 9am, and the menu was fantastic, all home cooked, local produce, nothing literally was too much trouble, with cereals, yoghurts, jams, fruits as well as a full cooked menu.
We ate in the pub on the first evening. It was faultless, the food was fresh, hot and every plate perfect. The cost was well in keeping with the standard. We are still talking about the best fish and chips ever!
We have stayed in near and far Sawrey many times. The thing which stands out at The Tower Bank Arms is the staff and people. Jimmy, thank you for your kind attention you are a star and an asset to the business, Anthony, you made our stay personal to us and perfect, your bar staff, kitchen staff , housekeeping all seem to want the same for your business, - for the customer to want and need to come back, and for us this just cannot come soon enough!
A perfect weekend in perfect surroundings in perfect accommodation, cannot wait till we can come back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank emmpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews