We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
330
60
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
60
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beatrix potter hill top the pub beef stew loweswater gold open fire lake district warm welcome homemade chips real ale dog friendly pub peter rabbit range of beers huge portions lovely atmosphere the sticky toffee pudding cheese board
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We a family of eight with three young kids arrived as the doors opened. Initially I was slightly disappointed in the Sunday lunch choice which is limited. This was my only disappointment. The kids had scampi and chips and the adults had the Sunday roast which was beef; one of us was a vegetarian and had the roast without the beef. The roasts were excellent as was the kids scampi. Afterwards some had the sticky toffee pudding whish was super also. I sampled the Hawkeshead Bitter and the TagLag both were excellent. As we left the kids were asked to stand by the fireplace and suddenly a huge spider dropped from the cielling to much joy. An excellent pub with great food and very friendly service. Our dog was allowed in and given treats to.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank G7057TUkevinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

A very friendly welcoming pub. Food was excellent and we had a meal in the bar every night of our stay. One downside, our room was on the small side. Overall a pub which obviously served its local community, we counted at least six dogs in the bar on one evening.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed nearby and came to this pub 4 times out of6 nights. Great food, big portions so found no room for start and mains and dessert. The menu is a little limited in terms of.number of choices but that is not an issue. The stew, fish and chips and sausages recommended. I had the stew each time. The cheese board with a glass of port is hard to beat though ice cream good as well. Friendly service. Book in advance as it was always full. Dogs permitted but ensure you say so at time if booking as limited 'dog' tables.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Henryk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a mid-walk drink. Good selection of drinks and local ales served by friendly staff. Would stop off again.

Conveniently located for walkers or those just stopping in the village for Beatrix Potter.

The food looked and smelled good but can't speak for the taste.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Happened here last Autumn, going again soon and what a beautiful location. Sitting outside the pub looking onto the village with a huge homemade ham sarnie was a moment in time, especially knowing Beatrix probably sat there once or twice too, maybe not with a ham sarnie though - but who knows? The coffee was absolutely gorgeous too.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews