We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Near Sawrey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tower Bank Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Although we have visited The Tower Bank Arms many times over recent years this is the first time we have stayed at the pub. Fortunately we were given an upgrade and stayed in the Methera room which is the largest of the four rooms. The room had views overlooking the picturesque village. Bearing in mind the pub and accommodation is very dog friendly, the room was nevertheless very clean, nicely furnished and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Due to the location of the pub in the small village, parking is at a premium at the front of the premises but luckily the owner adopts a common sense approach and ensures that residents cars are accommodated. We ate in the bar area rather than the dining room due to us having a dog. As usual the log fire was blazing and the cosy atmosphere inside the pub is something very special. Having eaten in the pub before we knew what to expect. Happily standards haven't slipped one bit and our evening meal was very good, with more than generous portions and reasonably priced. The full English breakfast was also excellent and very filling. A very special thank you to all the staff who are friendly, good humoured, approachable and professional, in particular to the manager Jimmy who is a credit to the Tower Bank. We'll certainly return and hopefully the pub won't lose any of its charm.

Room Tip: Methera is a very spacious room, bigger than the other three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marriners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We a family of eight with three young kids arrived as the doors opened. Initially I was slightly disappointed in the Sunday lunch choice which is limited. This was my only disappointment. The kids had scampi and chips and the adults had the Sunday roast which was beef; one of us was a vegetarian and had the roast without the beef. The roasts were excellent as was the kids scampi. Afterwards some had the sticky toffee pudding whish was super also. I sampled the Hawkeshead Bitter and the TagLag both were excellent. As we left the kids were asked to stand by the fireplace and suddenly a huge spider dropped from the cielling to much joy. An excellent pub with great food and very friendly service. Our dog was allowed in and given treats to.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank G7057TUkevinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

A very friendly welcoming pub. Food was excellent and we had a meal in the bar every night of our stay. One downside, our room was on the small side. Overall a pub which obviously served its local community, we counted at least six dogs in the bar on one evening.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed nearby and came to this pub 4 times out of6 nights. Great food, big portions so found no room for start and mains and dessert. The menu is a little limited in terms of.number of choices but that is not an issue. The stew, fish and chips and sausages recommended. I had the stew each time. The cheese board with a glass of port is hard to beat though ice cream good as well. Friendly service. Book in advance as it was always full. Dogs permitted but ensure you say so at time if booking as limited 'dog' tables.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Henryk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a mid-walk drink. Good selection of drinks and local ales served by friendly staff. Would stop off again.

Conveniently located for walkers or those just stopping in the village for Beatrix Potter.

The food looked and smelled good but can't speak for the taste.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
2.6 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
773 reviews
0.8 km away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
944 reviews
0.1 km away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
168 reviews
0.1 km away
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Near Sawrey
108 reviews
5.2 km away
Orrest Cottage
Orrest Cottage
#47 of 107 in Windermere
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Bank Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Bank Arms

Address: Near Sawrey | Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower Bank Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Tower Bank Arms Hotel Sawrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing