We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem of Tissa, must visit!”

Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Description: Special Yala Peace Cottage Barbecue, Whole fish, Chicken, Secret barbecue sauce, Salad, Soup, Fruit Dessert. Traditional Sri Lankan Food. Rice and variety of Sri Lankan Curries. Locally Sourced Fish. Italian. Salads. Sandwiches and French Fries.
Restaurant details
Description: Special Yala Peace Cottage Barbecue, Whole fish, Chicken, Secret barbecue sauce, Salad, Soup, Fruit Dessert. Traditional Sri Lankan Food. Rice and variety of Sri Lankan Curries. Locally Sourced Fish. Italian. Salads. Sandwiches and French Fries.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

On the way to Yala peace cottage we bumped into the owner who greeted us and advised he will meet with us shortly which surprised us. Upon arrival we were met with smiling faces and Luna the Yala peace cottage pup. We met the chef and once the owner Manju had arrived he showed us around the huts and explained how he designed and built the complex. The food was slow cooked barbecued fish and chicken with a delicious soup starter. The flavour in the food was immaculate, cooked and presented very well.
The excellent reviews which initially caught our attention was very well deserved from the host to the food. We had a great night with Manju and loved that he really took care of his dogs, especially Luna a 4 month puppy, we found this quite rare in Sri Lanka.

Manju was attentive to all his guests, mingled among us all with great stories. He also makes a lovely cocktail (his specialty) and has wild peacocks living among the trees in the surrounding area. Situated between the temples you can see in the distance.
I definitely recommend people to stay or at least visit Yala peace cottage!
We found there are rumors that it is dangerous to get to with snakes lurking on the path, don't believe what you hear and give the place a try. :)

Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manju S, Owner at Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Sir & Madam.
thank you very much for your nice comment for the Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant & you have a nice time with us hope to see you aging Sri Lanka & visit my Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant aging.

best regards

owner Manju Yala Peace Cottages .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

This place is great, staffs are very welcoming and friendly, we had BBQ in the garden and sounding the garden the nature was so cool and its really matching for the name, absolutely peaceful, you can hear lots of birds and peacocks at night.food was great and absolutely worth for money, and the owner Manju was cool guy and very helpful and friendly, I recommend if any one like to go for dinner out in thissamaharana ( Yala)don’t miss this place,specially for NETURE lovers.

Thank hiran1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manju S, Owner at Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Sir.
thank you very much for your nice comment for the Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant & you have a nice time with us hope to see you aging & visit my Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant .

best regards

owner Manju Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We had great barbecue dinner at this place. The food was really good, the staff super friendly and the owner a very generous guy. The fact that often people from other places come just for dinner speaks for high standard. We really recommend this place.

Thank capron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manju S, Owner at Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Sir & Madam.
thank you very much for your nice comment for the Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant & you have a nice time with us hope to see you aging Sri Lanka visit my Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant .

best regards

owner Manju Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We found this place on trip advisor and stopped for dinner on our way to Yala National Park.
Very atmospheric place, friendly staff, authentic sea food straight from a wood fired bbq. If you like authentic Sri Lankan dinner away from the tourist trail the peace cottage is the place to go.
The owner clearly put his soul into making this place special!

Thank sophieso2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manju S, Owner at Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Sir & Madam.
thank you very much for your nice comment for Yala Peace Cottages Iam happy too your have a nice time with us & also I hope you have a nice time in Sir Lanka too & I hope to come aging Sri Lanka & visit my Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant.

best regards
owner Manju Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

A gem hidden well of the beaten track. A good walk from our hotel Kithala but well worth it. Easy tuk tuk ride which the restaurant will organise if you contact them. We arrived for lunch which was superb, fresh mullet and vegetables all freshly cooked. So impressed came back in the evening for their barbecue. Restaurant and chalets have been built by owner Manju and only opened a couple of years. He showed us around the site and explained his plans. Our one regret is that we were already booked into Kithala. As we were free the following day he organised a safari to Bundala bird sanctuary which was special. A lovely touch was that the restaurant walls are covered in comments from guests. All praise the excellent cooking and fabulous settings. If you go nowhere else VISIT

Thank JNK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manju S, Owner at Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Sir & Madam.

thank you very much for your nice comment for our Restaurant & I am happy you have a nice time with us & also I hope you have a nice time Sir Lanka too I hope to come aging Sir Lanka & visit my Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant aging.

best regards.
owner Manju Yala Peace Cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Tissamaharama, Southern Province
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
 
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
 
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
 

Been to Yala Peace Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing