We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much recommended”
Review of Traveller's Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traveller's Home
Reviewed 28 December 2016

This guesthouse is good value for money and nice and quiet. You're made to feel welcome and are well looked after. Rooms are clean and spacious with choice of A/C or fan, some rooms have views onto the paddy fields. The happy, cheerful ladies in the restaurant upstairs cook up delicious meals.
We booked a safari to Bundala National Park through this guesthouse and were very happy with what we got. Our driver was a careful driver, knowledgeable and knew what to do and what no to do (as in getting too close) around animals.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizO7787OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear our guest,

Thank you for choosing Travellers home Hotel Yala Tissamaharama during your stay in Srilanka

We are very glad to know that you had an amazing staying with us. We care about our customers first, and serving customers promptly is what we value for. We appreciate taking your time out to write this warm-heated review, and it motivates us to serve you better.

Please come stay with us again, we will be waiting for your return anytime.

may this joy-full season 2017 greet you with health and Happiness from all of us
Ebert and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2016

We stayed at this place on our way to Katharagama for one night. Great place. Very quiet. Concerned and caring staff. We had a room with a Paddy Field view which was stunning, everything was clean and massive. The restaurant was pleasant with a good selection for breakfast and we had lot. Special thanks to nice lady in restaurant. We would so much like to come back!!

Room Tip: Best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasa180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear , I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the location and the view of paddy field convenient for your travels. hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, - the lady and family.
and we wish you all the best for year 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The Traveller's Home is a very reasonably priced guest home. The rooms were very clean and had good working wifi, A/C and hot showers. The staff is very friendly.
We booked our safari tour with them to Yala and were not disappointed. When you arrive at Yala there are over 50 jeeps and it was a little overwhelming, but you spread out quickly (unless they spot a leopard, in which it can cause "traffic jam"--but we were very happy to see 4 leopards, as well as mongoose, crocodiles, deer, water buffalo, wild boar, and elephants (only 2 but one was 5 ft away). I think their price is slightly higher for the tour but we were very satisfied--although disappointed with packed breakfast which was extra and would pack my own next time.
One night in Tissa is probably enough (the night prior to the safari as go from 5am to 12pm. I would leave sooner next time and head to Mirassa or Ella or Nuwara Eliya (prettier locations). We wanted seafood and ate a different restaurant than the hotel. Convenient for walking into town to bank and grocery store.
There are a lot of mosquitoes due to rice patties right next to guest home, so you will need to keep door closed to room and use A/C and fan.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Naxcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

dear guest. thanks your review we are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay.
and you see lots of animal with leopard. and i am sorry about mosquito you mention about. when get dark in the evening you will find them in south of sri lanka it not because of rice fields any way thanks you sharing you experience to T. advisor.
Travellers home hope to welcome back. i am looking forward to host you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Please don't make the same mistake I did and confuse this great stay with travellers inn who are bad!!!
The guy that runs this place is a lovely man and has rooms to suit all budgets. The lovely lady's that cook in the restaurant made us the best food we have had in Sri Lanka so far and a pot of tea to rival yorkshire tea it's really very nice. We also took the safari as was reasonably priced and had the best day ever seeing leopards elephants crocs bears all the animals on our tick list. The driver was fab too! All in all a great stay. Thanks guys and sorry I confused you with the rubbish place!!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

thanks dear guest. your explain about city taut that they mistake you as travellershome
and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. thanks for choosing us and live so good review on T.adviser. and best regards from Ebert and Kumari cook good food for you. so hope to see you again with best regards to you and your friend. Ebert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

we had an very warm welcome with an cold drink. The room was luxery with a thick matras we hadden't had before in sri lanka. The food was exellent. We had an great safari experience with an very good guide- with the focus on the lepard. Thank you for an great time

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jochem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

dear guest. you make our day with your great review and we are happy that you had a great safari and you had great time in my hotel. so we hope to see you back again soon.
and thank you again with best regards.
from travellershome team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
23 km away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
325 reviews
21.1 km away
The Yala Adventure
The Yala Adventure
#2 of 87 in Tissamaharama
124 reviews
22 km away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Hotel Tissa
Hotel Tissa
#10 of 14 in Tissamaharama
134 reviews
30.9 km away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
293 reviews
24.1 km away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Home

Address: Kachcheriyagama, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $24 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Traveller's Home 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the rice fields and palm gardens of Tissamaharama, Traveller's Home is located near the city center and Tissa Lake. It is a quiet family run business offering bungalows with attached bath and air conditioning to budget rooms with shared bath. Prices range from $10 USD to $20 USD.and a/c hot water rooms/ lake view rooms with Terese siting area room prices 30 USD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Traveller's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Home Hotel Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing